The ASU Library has a number of online and print books on emerging technologies. You can search for relevant titles in the ASU Library catalog by using subject headings such as artificial intelligence and autonomous vehicles. You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.
Artificial Intelligence
Regulation of Artificial Intelligence in Selected Jurisdictions (Global Legal Research Directorate, 2019)
This report examines the emerging regulatory and policy landscape surrounding artificial intelligence (AI) in jurisdictions around the world and in the European Union (EU). In addition, a survey of international organizations describes the approach that United Nations (UN) agencies and regional organizations have taken towards AI.
Identity, Institutions and Governance in an AI World: Transhuman Relations (Peter Bloom, 2020).
Looking toward the future of A.I., this book looks to creating a governing framework that emphasizes infusing programming with values of social justice and protecting the rights of all forms of consciousness.
The Law of Artificial Intelligence and Smart Machines: Understanding A.I. and the Legal Impact (ABA Section of Business Law, 2019).
This book covers numerous forms of artificial intelligence, from machine learning to autonomous vehicles, in various industries, and analyzes the future of governance in both the U.S. and internationally.
Artificial Intelligence for a Better Future: An Ecosystem Perspective on the Ethics of AI and Emerging Digital Technologies (Bernd Stahl, 2021).
This book looks at the potential benefits offered by AI, and proposes practical measures to create an ethical framework.
When Machines Can Be Judge, Jury, and Executioner: Justice in the Age of Artificial Intelligence (Katherine B Forrest, 2021).
Written by a former federal judge who lectures widely and frequently on AI and the justice system, this book is the first comprehensive presentation of the theoretical framework of AI tools in the criminal justice system and lethal autonomous weapons utilized in decision-making. The book then provides a comprehensive explanation as to why, tracing the evolution of the debate regarding racial and other biases embedded in such tools.
Autonomous Vehicles
Autonomous Vehicles and the Law: Technology, Algorithms and Ethics (Hannh YeeFen Lim, 2018).
This book provides an accessible explanation of how autonomous vehicles function, suggesting appropriate regulatory responses to the existing and emerging technology.
The Autonomous Vehicle Governance Ecosystem: A Guide for Decision-Makers (Safe Drive Initiative, 2021).
This white paper from the World Economic Forum highlights the various alliances, coalitions, standards bodies and partnerships, and their activities in the autonomous vehicle industry.
Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)
Lexis (Lexis password required)
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service conducts research for Congress on a broad range of issues. Their reports are arranged by subject area here. Examples of relevant CRS reports include: Issues in Autonomous Vehicle Testing and Deployment (April 2021) and Defense Primer: Emerging Technologies (Dec. 2021).
National Nanotechnology Initiative
The National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) is a U.S. Government research and development (R&D) initiative that enhances interagency coordination of nanotechnology research and development (R&D), supports a shared infrastructure, enables leveraging of resources while avoiding duplication, and establishes shared goals, priorities, and strategies that complement agency-specific missions and activities.
Congressional Hearings
Hearings from House and Senate committees are available on the following web sites:
National Conference of State Legislatures – Autonomous Vehicles State Bill Tracking Database
This up-to-date database provides real-time information on autonomous vehicle bills introduced in the 50 states and the District of Columbia, subdivided by topics such as insurance, licensing, privacy of collected vehicle data, and vehicle testing.
National Conference of State Legislatures – Legislation Related to Artificial Intelligence
This list covers key legislation related to AI issues generally.
The AI Index Report by the Stanford Institute for Human-Centered Intelligence
This annual report compiles and distills data related to artificial intelligence with the mission of providing unbiased, vetted data regarding the field of AI.
Global Alliance for Genomics & Health
The Global Alliance for Genomics and Health (GA4GH) is a policy-framing and technical standards-setting organization, seeking to enable responsible genomic data sharing within a human rights framework.
Biotechnology Innovation Organization
The BIO is the world’s largest advocacy association related to biotechnology. Their website provides policy resources, news updates, and industry analysis reports.
Autoware Foundation
A non-profit organization devoted to supporting open-source projects with the goal of self-driving mobility.
The Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International
A non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of unmanned systems and robots. Their website provides industry news and reports.
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development - Emerging Technologies
An international group which works with governments and policy makers to establish evidence-based international standards. Their website includes reports, recorded sessions, and statistics.
World Economic Forum - Emerging Technologies
An international non-governmental group based in Switzerland which aims to improve the world by shaping global, regional, and industry agendas. Their website includes news, reports, and statistics.
Technology & Marketing Law Blog
The blog of Eric Goldman, Associate Dean for Research and Professor of Law at Santa Clara University School of Law and co-director of the school’s High Tech Law Institute.
Berkeley Tech Law Journal Blog
The official blog of the Berkeley Technology Law Journal.
New Media and Tech Law Blog
Edited by partners at Proskauer Rose LLP.
Artificial Intelligence Technology and the Law Blog
A blog by attorney Brian Higgins that examines the regulation of AI in the U.S. and internationally, and tracks advances in the technology.
Google Scholar
Search for articles from a variety of academic sources touching on all aspects of privacy and data security law.
Science Direct
An index to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.