Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Global Approaches to Immigration and Citizenship

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blaklley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources.

Librarians are available 9:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

CURRENT AWARENESS

Bender’s Immigration Bulletin
This resource, available on Lexis Advance, is a twice-monthly newsletter that contains analysis and primary materials.

Immigration Prof Blog
Part of the Law Professor Blog Network, this is a blog written by professors who teach in the field of immigration law.

ASU Law Library’s International Law Guide
From our international law guide, you can find resources by subject, such as foreign law, European Union, United Nations, treaties, etc.

TREATISES

You can search for books and other library resources related to global immigration and citizenship through the online library catalog by keyword searching or using subject headings such as Emigration and immigration.  Note that on the left side of the catalog screen you can limit your search results to “full text online” or “law library” (for our print treatises.)

AILA's Global Immigration Guide: A Country-by-Country Survey (Scott M. Boren, 2005)
This print American Immigration Lawyers Association publication provides information on immigration laws for 40 foreign countries.

DATABASES

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)  (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
CIAO is a searchable database of working papers on international topics from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.  Coverage is from 1991 to the present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline, available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes legal journals published worldwide, with a focus on international, comparative, and foreign law journals.  Coverage is from 1985 to the present. This is not a full-text database - articles are searchable by subject heading and words in the title. To obtain an article not available in full-text format from this database, contact the law library.

International & Non-U.S. Law Journals (HeinOnline, available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This HeinOnline database contains approximately 200 law journals published outside of the United States. The articles are full-text and searchable.

Lexis Advance Immigration Resources
This Lexis Advance page compiles a wide variety of immigration-related primary law and secondary sources.

PAIS International (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
PAIS is an index to articles, government and nongovernmental reports, and other resources dealing with international relations, law, government, and related social science disciplines. Coverage is from 1972 to the present.

Westlaw Practitioner Insights for Immigration
This Westlaw page compiles a wide variety of immigration-related primary law and secondary sources.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This database indexes international publications in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy, from 1975 to the present.

FOREIGN AND INTERNATIONAL LAW SOURCES

EISIL (Electronic Information System for International Law)
This web site, maintained by the American Society of International Law, is a free resource that provides links to treaties and other documents, organized by subject.

Europa – European Union Law
Europa is the official website of the European Union. The law website provides access to EU decisions, treaties, regulations, legislation, and court cases.

Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This subscription site is an excellent source of information about the laws and legal systems of more than 170 countries.

GlobaLex 
The Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law hosts GlobaLex. It has guides to the legal systems of more than 100 countries.

Library of Congress Comprehensive Index of Legal Reports - Immigration, Nationality, and Citizenship
This Library of Congress (LOC) webpage provides access to LOC reports produced for members of Congress on international immigration and citizenship issues.  The reports detail foreign laws on specific topics including citizenship based on birth in country, family reunification laws, and refugee laws.

Making Of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970 (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This collection consists of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe.