Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides

Getting Started

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

Legal Databases

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)
The Bloomberg Law Employment Law Center has a wealth of information including news, legal analysis, practitioner tools, federal and state statutes, regulations, and more.  

Lexis (Lexis password required)
Labor and Employment Practice Center
The Lexis Labor and Employment Practice Center provides easy access to federal and state employment law cases, arbitration awards, statutes, regulations, and secondary sources, such as the treatise Larson on Employment Discrimination.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw’s employment law resources include Practitioner Insights for Employment,  federal and state cases, statutes, and regulations, agency decisions,  secondary sources, and 50 State Statutory and Regulatory Surveys.

Federal Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the primary federal entity responsible for measuring working conditions and other labor-related topics in the United States. A wealth of statistics is available on their web site.

Federal Equal Employment Opportunity Laws, Cases, and Resources
This website from the Law Librarian’s Society of Washington, D.C. links directly to a broad variety of employment discrimination resources including federal statutes, federal agency resources, CRS reports, and recent court opinions.

HeinOnline’s Federal Legislative History
Legislative history of the Americans with Disabilities Act and other legislation is available in HeinOnline's Federal Legislative History library. The easiest way to locate legislative history on HeinOnline is by Popular Name.

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
The EEOC enforces federal employment discrimination laws.

  • EEOC Newsroom
    The EEOC Newsroom offers information and materials on the Commission’s actions, procedures, and programs, as well as on the federal statutes the Commission enforces, related research, data, and statistics.
  • EEOC Laws and Guidance
    The EEOC Law and Guidance webpage offers access to federal employment laws and regulations, as well as to the EEOC Compliance Manual and EEOC Enforcement Guidance.

Current Awareness

Directory of Employment Law blogs
This directory includes 270 blogs dealing with employment law.

Workplace Prof Blog
Part of the Law Professor Blog Network, the Workplace Law Prof Blog is edited by five law professors and contains content on all aspects of employment law.

WorkDay Blog
This Wolters Kluwer blog is edited by nine practicing attorneys and provides news and analysis on employment law issues.

Treatises

ASU has a number of online and print treatises on the topic of employment discrimination. You can search for them in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as Discrimination in employment and Sex discrimination in employment.  You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

The Declining Importance of Race and Gender in the Labor Market: The Role of Employment Discrimination Policies (June E. O'Neill & Dave M. O'Neill, 2012)
Analyzing the progress of employment and civil rights law in combatting discrimination and wage disparities among workers in different racial and gender categories.

Websites

Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
This project, by the University of Michigan Law School, brings together documents from important civil rights cases, organized by category such as disability rights and equal employment.

National Conference of State Legislatures 
The NCSL Labor and Employment Law page has federal and state bills and other legislative information on topics such as disability employment and discrimination.