Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Federalism

RESEARCH GUIDES

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

United States Supreme Court Research Guide
This Ross-Blakley Law Library research guide is designed to assist students in locating materials on the United States Supreme Court and its decisions. It describes resources for Court opinions, orders, briefs, oral arguments, dockets, petitions for certiorari, and news. 

Constitutional Law and History Research Guide
This Georgetown Law Library research guide covers the judicial interpretation of the U.S. Constitution, historical sources for research into the creation of the U.S. and state constitutions, and provides a list of the leading treatises, reference sources, and law reviews on the Constitution and constitutional law.

TEXTS AND TREATISES

Federalism and the Making of America (David Brian Robertson, 2012)
The division of power between the nation and states has been at the heart of the greatest conflicts in American history, such as whether states may leave the Union and the advancement of civil rights, and continues to profoundly affect Americans' daily lives.

Federalism and the Tug of War Within (Erin Ryan, 2011)
Examining the checks and balances of divided national and state government authority and the consequences for government responses to national emergencies and other problems requiring collaboration, as well as the shifting values of federalism over time.

Federalism: Political Identity and Tragic Compromise (Malcolm M. Feeley & Edward L. Rubin, 2009)
Exploring the ambiguities and shifting understanding of the concept of federalism.

Governors, Grants, and Elections: Fiscal Federalism in the American States (Sean Nicholson-Crotty, 2015)
Examines the political maneuvering for federal grants that help governors maintain and expand their authority in the states.

DATABASES

HeinOnline
Provides PDF full text of law reviews and journals; historical volumes of federal documents like the Federal Register; classic legal texts from the 17th through early 20th centuries; U.S. treaties; Supreme Court cases as they appear in U.S. Reports; and Attorney General opinions. The law reviews and journals include pre-1980 legal-periodical scholarship not available on LexisNexis or Westlaw.

PAIS
PAIS is an index to articles, government and nongovernmental reports, and other resources dealing with law, government, and related social science disciplines. Coverage is from 1972 to the present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

NEWS AND ANALYSIS

Bloomberg/BNA resources (Bloomberg login required)
There are a number of Bloomberg/BNA resources which have content related to constitutional law and federalism, including U.S. Law Week: Supreme Court Today. All BNA Law Reports can be searched on Bloomberg Law.

Constitutional Law Prof Blog
This blog is edited by two law professors.  The blog contains commentary on current issues related to Constitutional Law. 

SCOTUSblog
The SCOTUSblog covers all aspects of the Supreme Court and provides both commentary and resources related to the Court including opinions, briefs, select petitions for certiorari, and news coverage of every merits case before the Court.

United States Politics and Government – NY Times
This topical page from The New York Times collects news articles about the U.S. government and politics from the Times. ASU students can create a free online New York Times account via this link.