Seminar Topical Research Guides

Law & Science Research Guide, Ross-Blakley Law Library
The Ross-Blakley Law Library’s Law & Science Research Guide brings together many medical, scientific, and legal resources that ASU provides for its students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals, as well as authoritative websites.  Sources can be both browsed and searched.

Lexis (Lexis password required)
Lexis’ practice-specific pages compile both primary law and secondary resources related to a single topic in one place.

• Healthcare Law
• Life Sciences/Pharmaceutical
• Louisell & Williams, Medical Malpractice (current): This treatise provides a comprehensive look at medical malpractice law and litigation techniques.
• Attorney's Textbook of Medicine (3rd Edition): This Matthew Bender publication describes the nature of injuries and disorders, including diagnosis, treatment options, and prognosis.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw's Practitioner Insights pages provide a single access point for information, news, and expert analysis on specific topics.

• Practitioner Insights for Health
• Practitioner Insights for Medical Litigation
• 50 State Surveys for Health Care Law – surveys of health-related legislation across the 50 states.
• Health Law-Jury Verdicts & Settlements – jury verdict/settlement information in health law cases.

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

• Bloomberg BNA - Legal Malpractice Litigation is a treatise that provides practitioners with a comprehensive analysis of the issues they are likely to encounter in this area of law, whether bringing or defending a claim.
• Bloomberg BNA’s Health Law Reporter provides information on new cases, legislation, regulations, and more related to health law issues.
• BNA Health IT Law & Industry Report is an excellent sources of news and commentary. It combines news, case law, legal analysis, primary sources, and practice tools in a specific area of law in one site. 
• Bloomberg Law has a number of In Focus Centers that might be relevant to medical litigation research.  For example: Opioid Litigation, HIPPA, and many others.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

Medline (ProQuest)
Medline is the premier bibliography in biomedicine and life sciences.  It is compiled by The National Library of Medicine and contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.

PubMed Central
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. It provides a full-text collection of biomedical, medicine, health, biotechnology related online journals.

Science Direct
Science Direct is an index to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality, part of the Department of Health and Human Services, works to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, and equitable. Resources on the agency’s website includes subject-specific information, research, and data, as well as access to the specific resources listed below:

• Advances in Patient Safety: From Research to Implementation (2005) – a four-volume set, available online that covers new patient safety findings, investigative approaches, process analyses, and practical tools for preventing medical errors and harm.
• National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports – annual reports measuring healthcare quality.
• National Guideline Clearinghouse – a clearinghouse of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics is the principle health statistics agency in the U.S. Much of their statistical information can be found on their web site.

New York Times: Medical Malpractice
This New York Times page provides news about medical malpractice, including commentary and archival articles, published in The New York Times. ASU affiliates can set up a free account for full access to the New York Times online.