Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Privacy, Big Data and Emerging Technologies

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT RESOURCES

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service conducts research for Congress on a broad range of issues. Their reports are arranged by subject area here. Examples of relevant CRS reports include: Cybersecurity: Selected Issues for the 115th Congress (March 2018) and Cross-Border Data Sharing under the CLOUD Act (April 2018).

NSA Report: Liberty and Security in a Changing World / The President’s Review Group on Intelligence and Communications Technologies (2014)
Analysis and recommendations for balancing the necessities of national security against privacy and civil liberties for U.S. citizens and foreign nationals.

Congressional Hearings
Hearings from House and Senate committees are available on the following web sites:

ASK A LAW LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-2pm on Friday by phone or by email.

Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (COL) Students

TREATISES

The ASU Library has a number of online and print books on the topic of privacy, big data, and emerging technologies.  You can search for relevant titles in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as Electronic surveillance; Data protection; and Privacy, right of.  You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

The Data Arms Race: Reimagining Data Transparency, Ethics, and Regulations by Gary Marchant, et al. (2019)
This paper from ASU's Barret Honors College explores the current climate relating to data security and data privacy. 

Big Data of Complex Networks by Matthias Dehmer (2017)
Big Data of Complex Networks presents and explains the methods from the study of big data that can be used in analyzing massive structural data sets, including both very large networks and sets of graphs.

Big Data War: How to Survive Global Big Data Competition by Patrick H. Park (2016)
This ProQuest ebook explains in detail on how companies can survive and win the global big data competition, based on actual cases of companies.

Big Data Technologies and Applications by Borivoje Furht (2016)
The objective of this ProQuest ebook is to introduce the basic concepts of big data computing and then to describe the total solution of big data problems using HPCC, an open-source computing platform.

Big Data Analytics in Genomics by Ka-Chun Wong (2016)
This ProQuest ebook explores the emerging intersection between big data analytics and genomics. Recent sequencing technologies have enabled high-throughput sequencing data generation for genomics resulting in several international projects which have led to massive genomic data accumulation at an unprecedented pace.

LEGAL RESEARCH DATABASES

Bloomberg Law – Privacy & Data Security Practice Center (Bloomberg Law password required.)
Featuring primary law, practical guidance, legal analysis, and litigation resources.

Bloomberg Law – Privacy & Data Security News (Bloomberg Law password required.)
Developments on data and privacy protection at businesses and institutions nationwide, with analysis and links to key topics and regional news from around the world.

Bloomberg Law – Tech & Telecom Law News (Bloomberg Law password required.)
This Bloomberg resource covers privacy, social media, telecommunications, and wireless communications news and regulation. 

Lexis - Computer Law: A Guide to Cyberlaw and Data Privacy Law (Lexis password required.)
A Matthew Bender treatise that provides coverage of US and international privacy and data protection, electronic discovery, electronic evidence, and US and international software protection.

Lexis – Law360 – Cybersecurity & Privacy News (Lexis password required.)
Cybersecurity news from around the nation with expert analysis and opinion pieces.

Lexis – Data Privacy & Cyberlaw Practice Center  (Lexis password required.)
Featuring primary law, forms for practitioners, and news & analysis.

Westlaw Data Privacy Center (Westlaw password required.)
Featuring primary law, commentaries, tips for practitioners, and news & analysis.

WEB RESOURCES

Directory of Privacy Law Blogs
Maintained by the ABA Journal, these blogs touch on issues including national security, social media, blogging, and copyright.

Federal Trade Commission’s Privacy and Security
Information divided by the following topics: children’s privacy, consumer privacy, credit reporting, data security, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Red Flags Rule, and the U.S.-E.U. Safe Harbor Framework.

Google Scholar
Search for articles from a variety of academic sources touching on all aspects of privacy and data security law.

National Conference of State Legislatures – Privacy and Security
Includes databases of state cybersecurity legislation and social media privacy laws.

Science Direct
An index to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Health Information Privacy page
Information about the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act and the Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act.

U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Privacy and Civil Liberties
Information about the Privacy Act of 1974 and the E-Government Act of 2002.