Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.
Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.
Below are a few e-books in the ASU Libraries collection related to psychology. You can search for other resources in the ASU Library catalog by using the subject headings: Psychology, Law – Psychological aspects, and Forensic psychology. Note that on the left side of the screen you can limit to “full text online” or “law library” (for our print treatises).
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (2013)
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law (2008)
The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law, available as an ASU e-book, is a two-volume set that contains entries which address the intersection of psychology and law.
Psychology and Law: Bridging the Gap (David V. Canter and Rita Zukauskiene, 2016)
This title provides chapters from a variety of experts including lawyers, psychologists, sociologists, and criminologists that explore, and attempt to build bridges between, the practice of law and the profession of psychology.
The Psychology of Law: Human Behavior, Legal Institutions, and Law (2015)
This book examines how the realities of legal practice, especially within litigation, should shape how researchers approach their work within law and psychology, in order to develop research that has positive impact in law and policy.
The Psychology of Tort Law (Jennifer K. Robbennolt and Valerie P. Hans, 2016)
This volume explores how psychology impacts all facets of tort law, from guiding the behaviors of plaintiffs and defendants, to influencing the judge and jurors..
ASU Psychology Databases
This list from ASU Libraries provides links to and descriptions of subscription databases and resources available to ASU community members that contain psychology-related content.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides access to major journals in criminology and related disciplines, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Coverage is 1968 to present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.
PsycArticles
This database contains full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation and the Canadian Psychological Association. Coverage is 1894 to present.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes journal articles and books in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is 1887 to present.
PubMed
PubMed is a resource from the National Institutes of Health that offers access to biomedical literature, life science journals, and books.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes journal articles related to theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Coverage is 1963 to present.
American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association is a scientific and professional organization representing psychology.
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health website offers up-to-date information on psychological disorders and issues within the field.
Psycport Psychology Newswire
News about scientific research and analysis of issues involving the brain, emotions, and mental health from the American Psychological Association, the leading U.S. psychological professional organization.
ScienceDaily Psychology News
Information on psychological studies and analysis about matters concerning the mind and the brain curated on ScienceDaily each day from press materials.
Westlaw – Mental Health News Daily (Westlaw password required)
Featuring psychological research reports.