Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Education and the Law

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The Ross-Blakley Law Library is currently only available for remote services, due to Arizona State University's response to COVID-19.

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9:00am-4pm Monday-Friday by phone or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Make an Appointment with a Librarian Service for Law Students (currently Zoom only)
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

CURRENT AWARENESS

ABA Journal - Education
Articles and news stories related to education from the ABA Journal. 

Chronicle of Higher Education (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
A daily newspaper reporting on issues that affect higher education. Includes reports on research, hirings, news stories and employment opportunities in academia. Annual special reports include salary reports, admissions, accreditation reports and technology.

Education Law Prof Blog
Part of the Law Professor Blog Network, the Education Law Prof Blog is edited by Derek W. Black, a Professor of Law at University of South Carolina School of Law.

Education Week
Education Week is a premier source of news, information, and analysis on American precollegiate education.

National School Boards Association Legal Clips 
Legal Clips is a free e-mail alert service from the National School Boards Association Office of General Counsel. It covers issue that impact K-12 schools and is written for school law attorneys, legal scholars, law students, school administrators, and education scholars.

Special Education Law Bulletin (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw's Special Education Law Bulletin is a monthly newsletter that provides information on new developments related to special education law including mainstreaming concerns, classroom management, private schools and special programs, tuition reimbursement, individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) compliance, Individualized Education Programs (IEPs), and discipline issues.

DATABASES

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
A multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Content may fluctuate at the publishers’ discretion.

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
A fulltext database that covers topics such as teaching methods, literacy standards, adult and continuing education, classroom management, school administration and evaluation methods of both students and teachers. Content includes academic journals, trade publications, and magazines.

ERIC (US Department of Education) (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and is the premier U.S. database of education literature. It  includes journal and ERIC Document citations with abstracts as well as full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. The collection includes articles from journal and non-journal education literature.

Google Scholar  
Allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library - Education Law Journals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
HeinOnline provides full-text image-based PDF access to thirteen education law journals published in the U.S. and internationally.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences XII Collection (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
This collection extends coverage in the social sciences, focusing on education, law, and political science disciplines as well as include journals from the American Bar Association, Brill, Lynn Reiner, and Springer.

Lexis Education Law Practice Center (Lexis password required)
The Education Law Practice Center on Lexis provides access to resources specific to education law including cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, and news.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is a good source for scholarly articles that have yet to be published and working papers. Many articles and papers are available for full-text download.

West's Education Law Reporter (Westlaw password required)
The West Education Law Reporter, available only on Westlaw, covers selected state and federal education cases from 1982 to date. The publication includes summaries of grants, awards and regulations from the U.S. Department of Education, as well as articles authored by education experts. Cases published in this product series are enhanced with headnotes, Key Numbers, and synopses.

TREATISES

ASU has a number of online and print resources related to education law. Below is a short list of relevant title from the ASU Library collection. You can search for additional resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Educational law and legislation -- United States and Special education -- Law and legislation -- United States. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell (Kern Alexander and M. David Alexander, 2018)
This title, available digitally through the Law Library's West Academic subscription, offers concise coverage of the prevailing law as it governs the operation of America’s public schools.

Special Education Law in a Nutshell (Ruth Colker, 2018)
This compact resource provides an overview of legal topics relating to special education services for students in K-12 education. Topics addressed include the historical background of special education law, Section 504, IEPs, IDEA, and due process hearings. The book also provides sample forms, evaluations, and IEPs. This title is also available digitally through the Law Library's West Academic subscription.

Encyclopedia of Education Law (Charles J. Russo, 2008)
The Encyclopedia of Education Law, available as an ASU e-book, is a compilation of entries from experts in education law. The entries provide detailed examinations of topics including educational equity, school governance, and the rights of students and teachers. It also provides information on key educational law cases, with case summaries and topical overviews.

WEB RESOURCES

CRS Reports - Education Policy
EveryCRSReport.com provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports that are specific to education. CRS reports are authoritative, objective, and nonpartisan reports prepared for members of Congress. 

National Conference of State Legislatures - Education
The National Conference of State Legislatures' Education Program tracks state legislative action on K-12 education, college and career readiness, higher education and adult learning. The NCSL gathers and conducts research on education topics important to states, highlights education policy news, and disseminates information on best practices relating to state and federal education issues.