Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Victims in Criminal Procedure

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

ASK A LAW LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-2pm on Friday by phone or by email.

Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (COL) Students

WEB RESOURCES

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.  There are several pages that could be helpful to research:

Center for Disease Control (CDC)
The Center for Disease Control (CDC) has a Violence Prevention section that covers many types of victims, including providing prevention techniques and reports: Child abuse, Elder abuse, Intimate partner violence, sexual violence, and youth violence.

CRS Reports - Crime Policy
EveryCRSReport.com provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports that are specific to criminal justice. CRS reports are authoritative, objective, and nonpartisan reports prepared for members of Congress. 

Legal Services: Crime Victims Law Project at VSC
Advocates for survivors of crimes including sexual assault, and provides legal assistance to people seeking services such as protection from abuse orders, divorces, and child support.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. It is located at the University of Michigan and is sponsored by the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention of the United States Department of Justice.

National Resource Center on Domestic Violence
National Resource Center on Domestic Violence (formerly the Violence Against Women Center) produces content related the prevention of domestic violence: Research and Statistics, Publications, and Policy & Systems Advocacy.

National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)
This organization is dedicated to preventing sex crimes and assisting survivors and their advocates.

NCVLI Home - National Crime Victim Law Institute
Includes resources for crime victims, including educational materials on victims’ rights and a list of attorneys specializing in victims’ issues.

Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) - Arizona Department of Public Safety
In 1984, the Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) established the Crime Victims Fund in the US Treasury and authorized the fund to receive deposits of fines and penalties levied against criminals convicted of federal crimes. This fund provides the source of funding for carrying out all of the activities authorized by VOCA for the award of crime victim compensation and crime victim assistance funds to the states.

Victim Rights Law Center
Includes resources to help crime survivors find safety and stability, and toolkits to guide legal practitioners in representing crime survivors. 

TREATISES

ASU has a number of online and print resources related to criminal law and procedure. Below is a short list of relevant title from the ASU Library collection and from online resources available to Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students and faculty. You can search for additional resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Criminal procedure -- United States. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the Law Library.

Criminal Procedure (Wayne R. LaFave, Jerold H. Israel, Nancy J. King, and Orin S. Kerr, 2015)
Criminal Procedure is a seven-volume treatise that provides step-by-step guidance through the typical state court criminal justice system. This series explores criminal procedure from pre-arrest to pretrial, trial, post-conviction, and appellate proceedings. Also available in Westlaw (Westlaw password required).

Criminal Law (Wayne R. LaFave, 2010)
Substantive Criminal Law is a single volume that analyzes criminal law by interpreting case law and statutory law via the Model Penal Code. The text focuses on the ways that specific crimes and general principles of criminal law are defined by state statutes and interpreted by the courts. Also available in Westlaw (Westlaw password required).

Wharton's Criminal Procedure (Nancy Hollander, Barbara E. Bergman, Melissa Stephenson, 2007)
Wharton's Criminal Procedure is a five-volume treatise that traces statutory and judicial changes, as well as modifications, in common law. Subjects include criminal and juvenile court, venue, arrest, extradition, preliminary hearings, search and seizure, and grand juries. 

DATABASES

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text of journals related to criminal justice and criminology. Subjects covered include: corrections, prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences, investigation, substance abuse, addiction, probation, and parole.

Google Scholar  
Allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources.

HeinOnline - Criminal Justice Law Reviews and Journals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
HeinOnline provides full-text, image-based PDF access to 78 law reviews and journals that publish content specific to criminal justice.

Lexis - Criminal Law and Procedure Practice Area (Lexis password required)
This Lexis page compiles resources specific to criminal law and criminal procedure including cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, and news. 

National Criminal Justice Reference Service   
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering reports, journals, statistics and other information on subjects relating to criminology, criminal justice, substance abuse, corrections, policy, crime victims, and program development worldwide.

Westlaw - Criminal Law Practice Area (Westlaw password required)
This Westlaw page provides access to a variety of materials specific to criminal law, including cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, and news. 

CURRENT AWARENESS

Bloomberg Law - White Collar and Criminal Law News (Bloomberg Law password required)
This news service from Bloomberg Law provides news and analysis related to criminal law. 

CrimProf Blog
This blog, part of the Law Professor Blog Network, is edited by Kevin Cole, a criminal law and procedure professor at the University of San Diego School of Law.

Lexis Criminal Law & Procedure Legal News (Lexis password required)
Lexis has a Legal News topical section for Criminal Law & Procedure that covers a wide range of reputable sources.  If you have specific terms you are looking for this can be an effective way to stay in-the-know.