Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides

Books

Note: These books are currently unavailable at ASU Libraries and are recommendations from Professor Beety. They may be available through Interlibrary Loan ("ILL") if you would like to borrow them.

The Feminist War on Crime: The Unexpected Role of Women's Liberation in Mass Incarceration by Aya Gruber
Deploying vivid cases and unflinching analysis, The Feminist War on Crime documents the failure of the state to combat sexual and domestic violence through law and punishment.

Rectify: The Power of Restorative Justice After Wrongful Conviction by Lara Bazelon
In Rectify, a former Innocence Project director and journalist Lara Bazelon puts a face to the growing number of men and women exonerated from crimes that kept them behind bars for years—sometimes decades—and that devastate not only the exonerees but also their families, the crime victims who mistakenly identified them as perpetrators, the jurors who convicted them, and the prosecutors who realized too late that they helped convict an innocent person.

Smoke but No Fire: Convicting the Innocent of Crimes that Never Happened by Jessica S. Henry
This monograph tells the heartbreaking stories of innocent people convicted of crimes that simply never happened.

Getting Started

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

Web Resources

Arizona Justice Project
Sandra Day O'Connor's Arizona Justice Project was established in 1998 and became the fifth organization in the United States created to help inmates overturn wrongful convictions.

American Academy of Forensic Science
This professional organization promotes scientific disciplines that seek to determine facts, including the circumstances and perpetrators of crimes.

CRS Reports - Crime Policy
EveryCRSReport.com provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports that are specific to criminal justice. CRS reports are authoritative, objective, and nonpartisan reports prepared for members of Congress. 

The Death Penalty Information Center
The Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment.

The Innocence Project
The Innocence Project, founded in 1992 by Peter Neufeld and Barry Scheck at Cardozo School of Law, exonerates the wrongly convicted through DNA testing and reforms the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.

Journal of Forensic Science
This interdisciplinary journal published by the American Academy of Forensic Sciences is dedicated to scientific disciplines concerning fact-finding. Among other things, forensic science contribute to crime investigation strategies, which sometimes have led to questionable convictions

The National Registry of Exonerations
This Registry created by the University of Michigan Law School & Michigan State University College of Law collects, analyzes, and disseminates information about all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States, from 1989 to the present. They publish exonerees stories and provide accessible, searchable online statistical data about their cases. The registry also conducts empirical studies of the process of exoneration and of factors that lead to the underlying wrongful convictions.

Northwestern Center for Wrongful Convictions
Since its founding following the 1998 National Conference on Wrongful Convictions and the Death Penalty, the Center has been instrumental in the exonerations of 23 innocent men and women in Illinois.

Police Quarterly
This publication from Sage Journals concerns empirical studies related to police work, with an emphasis on public policy. More publications concerning the law and science of police work and criminology may be found in HeinOnline’s Criminal Law and Procedure and Criminology subject indexes.

Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text of journals related to criminal justice and criminology. Subjects covered include: corrections, prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences, investigation, substance abuse, addiction, probation, and parole.

Google Scholar  
Allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources.

HeinOnline - Criminal Justice Law Reviews and Journals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
HeinOnline provides full-text, image-based PDF access to 78 law reviews and journals that publish content specific to criminal justice.

Lexis - Criminal Law and Procedure Practice Area (Lexis password required)
This Lexis page compiles resources specific to criminal law and criminal procedure including cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, and news. 

National Criminal Justice Reference Service   
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering reports, journals, statistics and other information on subjects relating to criminology, criminal justice, substance abuse, corrections, policy, crime victims, and program development worldwide.

Westlaw - Criminal Law Practice Area (Westlaw password required)
This Westlaw page provides access to a variety of materials specific to criminal law, including cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, and news. 

Current Awareness

Bloomberg Law - White Collar and Criminal Law News (Bloomberg Law password required)
This news service from Bloomberg Law provides news and analysis related to criminal law.

CrimProf Blog
This blog, part of the Law Professor Blog Network, is edited by Kevin Cole, a criminal law and procedure professor at the University of San Diego School of Law.

Prison Legal News
Prison Legal News is an independent 56-page monthly magazine that provides a cutting edge review and analysis of prisoner rights, court rulings and news about prison issues. PLN provides information that enables prisoners and other concerned individuals and organizations to seek the protection and enforcement of prisoner's rights at the grassroots level.

Wrongful Convictions Podcast
Wrongful Convictions is a series of podcasts dedicated to social justice and inspiring human stories. They cover "junk science" used in court, recent cases where people have been exonerated, and interviews with attorneys practicing in this field.  It can also be found on iTunes and in most podcasting apps.

Treatises

ASU has a number of online and print resources related to criminal sentencing. Below is a short list of relevant title from the ASU Library collection and from online resources available to Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students and faculty. You can search for additional resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Criminal procedure -- United StatesJudicial error -- United States. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.