Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Philosophy of Crime & Punishment

TREATISES

Below is a short list of treatises in the Law Library collection related to the philosophy of crime and punishment. You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Punishment – Philosophy, Criminal law – Philosophy, and Punishment.

The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Criminal Law (2011)
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Criminal Law compiles the work of multiple authors writing on philosophical issues in criminal law and criminal law theory.

The Philosophy of Punishment and the History of Political Thought (2011)
This treatise explores the work of nine major philosophical thinkers and traditions regarding the question of punitive justice.

Inferno: An Anatomy of American Punishment (2014)
Inferno, available as an e-book, draws on court records and works of philosophy, literature, and history to examine the place of punishment in the United States.

Understanding Restorative Justice (2014)
Using case studies, the book offers a fresh angle on a topic that is of growing interest both in the US and internationally. It is a comprehensive introduction for those new to restorative justice and also great as a best-practice guide for people familiar with subject.

Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (2nd ed 2014)
This small book, published by Oxford University Press, covers a range of topics from Natural Law to Critical Legal Theory at a high level to give the user a basic, foundational knowledge of these principles.

JOURNALS

Criminal Law and Philosophy (2007-present)
Criminal Law and Philosophy publishes articles from a range of philosophical schools and approaches that address topics including crime, criminalization, the criminal process, and punishment and sentencing.

Journal of Ethics & Social Philosophy – available in HeinOnline (2005-present) and on LexisAdvance (2005-present) (logins required)
The Journal of Ethics & Social Philosophy is a publication of the USC School of Law and offers scholarly content on all issues related to moral, political, and legal philosophy.

Law and Philosophy (1982-present)
Law and Philosophy is an international journal that publishes articles in any of the major legal traditions (common law, civil law, and socialist) that exhibit a philosophical reflection on the law.

Philosophy Today (2000-present) (Bloomberg login required)
Philosophy Today is an international journal that offers interdisciplinary articles focused on the intersection of philosophy, political theory, comparative literature, and cultural studies.

DATABASES

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts indexes journal articles dealing with criminal justice and related disciplines and contains the full text of selected resources.  Coverage is from 1968 to the present. 

Humanities Full Text
This database provides the full text of articles published in a wide variety of academic fields including history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, philosophy, and religion. Coverage is from 1984 to the present.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a full-text database of over 1,000 academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage varies by title.

Philosopher’s Index
Philosophers Index is a bibliography of scholarly research in philosophy and related fields including ethics, logic, and religion.  Coverage is from 1940 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes journal articles and books in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes journal articles related to theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science.  Coverage is from 1963 to the present.