Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: National Security Law

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blaklley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources.

Librarians are available 9:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

DATABASES AND RESEARCH PORTALS

Digital National Security Archive (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
The Digital National Security Archive database provides primary source material related to twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations. The digitized documents are made available in over 40 topic-based collections.

Defense Technical Information Center
The Defense Technical Information Center, from the Department of Defense (DoD), is a searchable database for the full-text of DoD research publications. The database includes technical reports, dissertations, and Congressional testimony.

Foreign Intelligence Law Collection - Georgetown University Law Library
The Foreign Intelligence Law Collection at Georgetown University is a searchable digital repository of foreign intelligence-related statutory and regulatory instruments, legislative histories, publicly available and declassified opinions and orders issued by the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISC) and Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court of Review (FISCR); reports, correspondence, and an annotated bibliography of secondary sources related to foreign intelligence law.

Global Terrorism Database 
This open source database provides information on terrorism events from 1970 forward. Published by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) at the University of Maryland.

Homeland Security Digital Library 
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. 

Military & Government Collection (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

National Security Archive  
George Washington University - Gelman Library in Washington, D.C. houses the National Security Archive, a repository for declassified documents obtained from the U.S. government through Freedom of Information Act requests.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc

U.S. Department of Defense Archives
This archived Department of Defense (DoD) webpage provides access to speeches, press release, articles, contracts, and other DoD publications dating back to the mid-1990s.

U.S. Department of State Country Reports on Terrorism
The State Department provides Congress with an annual report on terrorism for all countries that meet guidelines set by law. The full-text of these reports are available on State Department's website.

CURRENT AWARENESS

Bloomberg Homeland Security Briefing (Bloomberg Law password required)
The Homeland Security Briefing is published each business day on Bloomberg Law; it provides information on significant federal and state actions related to security and anti-terrorist policies.

Bloomberg Privacy & Security Law Report (Bloomberg Law password required)
The Privacy and Security Law Report on Bloomberg Law is published weekly; it offers coverage of legal, regulatory, legislative, and judicial news in the privacy and security fields.

Just Security
The Just Security blog is based at the Reiss Center on Law and Security at New York University School of Law. It publishes articles and commentary from a variety fo contributors on national security topics.

Lawfare
The Lawfare blog was started in 2010 by academics Benjamin WittesRobert Chesney, and Jack Goldsmith. Content on the blog focuses on "that nebulous zone in which actions taken or contemplated to protect the nation interact with the nation’s laws and legal institutions."

National Security Law Brief - American University 
The National Security Law Brief is a student-run publication from the American University Washington College of Law. The online component of the publication offers articles and insight on "the legal dimensions of United States national security law and policy."

JOURNALS & LAW REVIEWS

Harvard National Security Journal
The Harvard National Security Journal is a student-edited online journal dedicated to improving scholarship and discourse in the field of national security. It is available through HeinOnline (2010- current), Lexis (2010-current), and Westlaw (2010-current).

Journal of Law & Cyberwarfare
The Journal of Law & Cyber Warfare is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles authored by business, legal, and military professionals concerning the legal issues businesses and governments arising out of cyber attacks or acts of cyber war. It is available through Westlaw (2012-current).

National Security Law Brief
The National Security Law Brief is a student-run publication from the American University Washington College of Law. The Brief publishes articles on "the legal dimensions of United States national security law and policy." It is available through HeinOnline (2010-current).

National Security Law Journal
The National Security Law Journal is published by the Antonin Scalia Law School at George Mason University. It publishes articles on national security law, including topics relating to foreign affairs, intelligence, and national defense. The journal is available through HeinOnline (2013-current), Lexis (2013-current), and Westlaw (2013-current).

TREATISES

There are a number of treatises in the Law Library collection related to administrative law. You can search for relevant books in the library catalog by using the subject headings National security -- Law and legislation -- United States and  United States -- Foreign relations -- Law and legislation.

Guide to Homeland Security (2019)
This two-volume treatise provides coverage of acts and regulations related to homeland security. The title is available on Westlaw as an ebook (Westlaw password required).

National Security Investigations and Prosecutions (David Kris and J. Douglas Wilson, 2019)
National Security Investigations and Prosecutions presents the law governing, and related to, national security investigations (NSIs). These investigations are conducted by the United States government to acquire information about foreign threats to the national security. This title is available on Westlaw as an ebook (Westlaw password required).

National Security Law (John Norton Moore, 2005)
This treatise collects work from a number of national security scholars and practitioners on topics including law and the cyber domain, the control of terrorism assets, lawfare, detention, and the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act.