Skip to main content

Environmental Law and Sustainability: Animal Law

Gathering resources on federal and state environmental statutes and regulations, as well as policy issues involving management of environmental quality, natural resource use, and related topics.

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Federal Statutes
   Cases
   Regulations

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal
   Interdisciplinary

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   News and Analysis
   Student Resources

Arizona Environmental Law
   Arizona Statutes
   Agencies and Regulations
   Arizona Cases

Energy and Public Utilities
   Texts and Treatises
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   News and Analysis

Natural Resources and Public Land Management
   Texts and Treatises
   Federal Regulation
   Arizona Regulation
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Land Use and Urban Planning
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Agriculture and Food Safety
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Law and Regulations
   Federal Law and Regulations
   Interdisciplinary Databases

   Legal Research Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals

   News and Web Resources

Water Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   International Law
   Laws of Other Countries
   News and Web Resources

Animal Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Cases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Analysis
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Student Resources

 

NEWS AND ANALYSIS

Bloomberg
Updates on animal crimes, legislation, and other legal developments.

Endangered Species Law & Policy
Updates on protected species and the federal agencies overseeing them from a law firm recognized for its endangered-species practice.

Lexis 360
Updates on court cases, legislation, and other legal developments involving animals.

Westlaw News (Westlaw password required)
Provides the latest animal legal news, with a searchable archive.

TEXTS AND TREATISES

Animal Law and Dog Behavior (David Favre & Peter L. Borchelt, 1999)
Providing an overview of animal behavior as it relates to law, including the reasons for dog bites, pack behavior, provocation, and propensity for aggression.

Animal Law in a Nutshell (Pamela D. Frasch, Katherine M. Hessler & Sonia S. Waisman, 2016)
An efficient introduction to issues concerning animal law, from the definition of which animals deserve protection to the elements of particular crimes and torts involving animals, along with contract issues, farms, animal research, hunting, and international agreements.Also available on  West Academic (login required).

Animal Law: Welfare, Interests, and Rights (David Favre, 2008)
An in-depth approach to issues related to animal welfare, such as animal ownership, veterinary medicine, anti-cruelty laws, and farm conditions.

Careers in Animal Law (Yolanda Eisenstein, 2011)
Suggesting pathways to involve animals in professional legal practice in areas such as contracts, criminal law, and personal injury, as well as careers outside the legal profession.

Litigating Animal Law Disputes: A Complete Guide for Lawyers (Joan Schaffner & Julie Fershtman, eds., 2009)
Overviewing theories of liability and defenses for various legal issues involving animals, such as torts and contract disputes, and pointing toward strategies for attorneys.

Wildlife Law: A Primer (Eric T. Freyfogle & Dale Goble, 2009)
Summarizing issues such as animals’ state ownership, the law governing wildlife on private and federal lands, state game laws, the Endangered Species Act, and biodiversity.

LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS

HeinOnline offers several additional scholarly journals dedicated to animal law (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).

Animal Law
Published by Northwestern School of Law, this title features scholarly materials on topics such as the law governing animal activities, veterinary medicine, wildlife, and plant-based diets.

Journal of Animal & Environmental Law
Examining the laws protecting animals as well as the laws protecting people from animals, this journal from the Louis Brandeis School of Law also examines the intersections between animal rights and environmental policy concerns such as deforestation.

Journal of Animal and Natural Resource Law
This journal from Michigan State University College of Law examines the impact of natural resources law on animal populations along with protections for pets, farm animals, and wildlife.

Journal of International Wildlife Law and Policy
Examines cross-border animal legal issues, such as migratory species and movement of animals in the stream of commerce.

WEB RESOURCES AND BLOGS

Animal Blawg
News and views on animal law and policy, founded by Pace Law School professors and a student.

Animal Law Resource Center
Collecting statutes from the federal government, states, and the District of Columbia concerning animals.

Animal Legal Defense Fund News
News on animal law and related topics, such as agriculture, from an organization seeking to increase animal welfare protections.

Equine Law Blog
A law blog by lawyers specializing in horses and the horse industry.

Humane Society Legislative Fund
An organization dedicated to lobbying for animal protection laws provides news updates on those efforts.

Michigan State University Animal Legal & Historical Center
Archive of statutes, cases, and secondary sources concerning animal law.

STUDENT RESOURCES

Student Animal Legal Defense Fund
An organization of ASU Law students and faculty dedicated to increasing animal protections through the legal system and advancing the study of animal law, featuring plant-based lunch at meetings. Featured speakers include attorneys dealing with animal cruelty issues, torts, and agriculture.

ARIZONA RESOURCES

Animal Law Section: State Bar of Arizona
A statewide group seeking to promote the study of animal law in a variety of areas, from pet stores to probate.

Animal Legal & Historical Center
Provides summaries to Arizona statutes and ballot initiatives governing animals.

Animal Welfare Legislation
A timeline of state legal protections for animals from an organization focused on strengthening such protections.

Arizona Department of Agriculture
Provides information on regulatory efforts including food production and pest control in the state.

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Regulating intersections between animal welfare and environmental protection, such as concentrated animal feeding operations.

FEDERAL RESOURCES

Animal Welfare Act
The United States Department of Agriculture provides this overview of the 1966 statute, which remains the only federal law to concern animal treatment in activities such as research. This page includes links to the full text, the legislative and regulatory history, and related government documents.

Animal Welfare Information Center
The USDA provides an overview of other animal protection statutes, with links to congressional discussions and regulatory efforts concerning animals.

Animal Welfare Litigation Program
The Department of Justice enforces federal statutes through its Environmental Crimes Section and Wildlife and Marine Resources Section.

Animals and Animal Products
Title 9 of the Code of Federal Regulations, the codified regulations federal agencies promulgate, concerns animals and animal products.

Endangered Species Act
This federal statute prevents “taking,” or further threatening, animals and plants that are included on a list of threatened and endangered species and their habitats.

Federal Register
Includes an extensive list of topics or federal regulatory oversight, including several involving animals, such as animal welfare and animal foods.

CASES

Lexis Advance (Lexis password required)
An outline view of legal topics relating to animals in a variety of practice areas, from criminal law to torts.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
A searchable database highlighting the most recent judicial developments in animal law.