Skip to main content

Environmental Law and Sustainability: Energy and Public Utilities

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Federal Statutes
   Cases
   Regulations

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal
   Interdisciplinary

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   News and Analysis
   Student Resources

Arizona Environmental Law
   Arizona Statutes
   Agencies and Regulations
   Arizona Cases

Energy and Public Utilities
   Texts and Treatises
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   News and Analysis

Natural Resources and Public Land Management
   Texts and Treatises
   Federal Regulation
   Arizona Regulation
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Land Use and Urban Planning
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Agriculture and Food Safety
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Law and Regulations
   Federal Law and Regulations
   Interdisciplinary Databases

   Legal Research Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals

   News and Web Resources

Water Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   International Law
   Laws of Other Countries
   News and Web Resources

Animal Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Cases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Analysis
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Student Resources

International and Foreign Environmental Law
   Texts and Treatises
   International and Foreign Laws
   United States Organizations
   Regional Organizations
   International Organizations

   
Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Blogs

WEB RESOURCES AND BLOGS

Arizona: U.S. Energy Information Administration
Statistical tracking of the state's energy profile, broken down by industry, along with information such as U.S. rankings on energy spending and carbon dioxide emissions. The main page includes nationwide data.

Arizona Corporation Commission: Utilities Division
Includes information on the electricity industry, including sites of state plants and state regulations governing energy production, distribution, and use.

Arizona Revised Statutes: Title 30 – Power
These statutes govern power generation, distribution, and sale in the sate.

Code of Federal Regulations
The codified federal rules pertaining to energy production, pricing, and other management.

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
The government agency regulating the energy market provides legal resources such as court cases, statutes and regulations; market assessments; and information about particular energy industries.

Federal Register: Energy Department
Provides rulemaking-related documents and other files related to federal energy regulation, along with a list of all Energy Department subunits.

Lexis Practical Guidance (Lexis password required)
Provides detailed practice notes, along with standard forms and clauses, and checklists to guide transactional lawyers and litigators.

TEXTS AND TREATISES

You can search for online and print treatises ASU catalog by using subject headings such as Energy & Utilities Law and Energy Policies. You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

Ending Dirty Energy Policy: Prelude to Climate Change (Joseph P. Tomain, 2011)
Proposes ending government regulation of energy policy in favor of more dynamic approach that can more effectively implement cleaner resources and mitigate climate change.

Energy Justice: U.S. and International Perspectives (Raya Selter, ed. 2018)
Analyzing policies for sustainable energy infrastructure that will minimize the problems of environmental justice, or the disproportionate impact energy infrastructure placement has had on low-income populations, and improve energy accessibility.

Energy Law (Alexandra B. Klass & Hannah J. Wiseman, 2020) (West Academic login required)
Summarizing the legal regimes surrounding energy facility siting, energy material extraction, environmental protection, and energy financing and markets.

Energy Law in a Nutshell (Joseph P. Tomain, 2017) (West Academic login required)
An introduction to energy law and policy, with a summary of energy law administration and issues surrounding the most important energy production media, including oil, nuclear, and renewable strategies.

The Law and Economics of a Sustainable Energy Trade Agreement (Gary C. Hufbauer et. al eds., 2016)
International frameworks and competing national and sub-national energy policies are leaving the critical task of clean energy transition underserved, but a series of articles proposes ways to improve the situation.

The Law of Clean Energy: Efficiency and Renewables (Michael B. Gerrard, ed. 2011)
Examining renewable energy strategies and the policy concerns they produce. Also exploring the potential for energy savings in a variety of industries, the laws regulating placement of renewable energy facilities, and the finances of clean energy.

Nuclear Energy, Regulation, Risk and the Environment (Abdullah Al Faruque, 2019)
An international perspective on nuclear energy, its potential to mitigate climate change, and how regulation worldwide aims to mitigate the risk of catastrophic accidents such as Chernobyl or Fukushima.

Oil and Gas Law in a Nutshell (John S. Lowe, 2019)
Summarizing the legal regimes surrounding transfers of oil and gas production rights along with taxation and contractual issues. Also available on West Academic.

Oil and Gas Law and Taxation (Owen L. Anderson et. al, 2017) (West Academic login required)
Presenting the property law and taxation issues surrounding oil and gas extraction and power generation.

Our Energy Future: Resources, Alternatives, and the Environment (Christian Ngo & Joseph Natowitz, 2016)
A comprehensive look at the various energy-production media and strategy for effective power generation that minimizes environmental harms.

Renewable Energy Law (Troy A. Rule, 2017)
ASU Law Professor wrote the book on the legal regimes governing and promoting energy strategies such as wind, geothermal, and solar, covering related legal issues such as property law and tax incentives.

Wind Energy Essentials (Andrew Swift & Richard P. Walker, 2015)
An overview of the science of wind energy, energy policy, and the challenges wind energy presents, including impacts on the environment, wildlife, and the electric grid.

NEWS AND ANALYSIS

Accenture Utilities Blog
A technology firm’s compilation of commentary on utilities regulation and energy advances.

Bloomberg Law News (Bloomberg password required)
Provides information organized by multiple energy-related topics.

Energy Bar Association
A group for energy attorneys, other professionals, and law students that aims to promote effective energy policies. 

Law 360 (available on campus or through ASURITE)
Energy market and legal developments from the U.S. and around the world.

LexBlog: Energy
Commentary on energy policy and technology developments in the U.S. and worldwide.

Lexis: Energy & Utilities Law; Legal News (Lexis password required)
A searchable database of emerging issues and developments in the fields of energy and public utilities law.

LexisNexis Legal NewsRoom: Energy
A compilation of news and commentary on energy law and energy markets from several blogs.

Westlaw Energy News (Westlaw password required)
Features the most recent energy stories of the day, along with a searchable database of further developments.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Cheetah: Energy & Natural Resources (available on campus or through ASURITE) 
Gathers industry and legal news, statutes, regulatory materials, and treatises on energy, along with a searchable database.

Environment Complete (available on campus or through ASURITE)
A searchable database of articles from the U.S. and around the world on the environmental impact of energy law and policy, including examinations of environmental justice and energy-access issues.

GreenFILE (available on campus or through ASURITE)
Gathers academic journal articles on a variety of “green” energy topics, such as renewables and energy storage.

International Nuclear Information System
Data and analysis on nuclear energy and related energy topics.

Office of Science and Technical Information
The U.S. Department of Energy provides a searchable database of data, technical reports, and commentary on the energy market and law.

UNData
Provides raw data on topics such as energy costs and production levels.

LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS

Relevant journals may be found in HeinOnline’s “Oil and Gas” collection and its “Environmental/Conservation Law” collection (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).

Energy Law Journal
This publication from the Energy Bar Association includes commentary on all aspects of energy law and policy in the U.S. and abroad, from markets to regulations to environmental policy concerns.

George Washington Journal of Energy and Environmental Law
The Washington, D.C.-area law school’s journal features commentary on improving environmental and energy governance.

ONE J: Oil and Gas, Natural Resources, and Energy Journal
This journal from the University of Oklahoma College of Law concerns energy production, distribution, use, transactions, regulations, and litigation.

Solar Energy
A Phoenix-based journal dedicated to the latest in solar power technology. Click on “View journal contents (Browzine coverage)” for access on campus or through ASURITE.