Skip to main content

Environmental Law and Sustainability: Natural Resources and Public Land Management

Gathering resources on federal and state environmental statutes and regulations, as well as policy issues involving management of environmental quality, natural resource use, and related topics.

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Federal Statutes
   Cases
   Regulations

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal
   Interdisciplinary

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   News and Analysis
   Student Resources

Arizona Environmental Law
   Arizona Statutes
   Agencies and Regulations
   Arizona Cases

Energy and Public Utilities
   Texts and Treatises
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   News and Analysis

Natural Resources and Public Land Management
   Texts and Treatises
   Federal Regulation
   Arizona Regulation
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Land Use and Urban Planning
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Agriculture and Food Safety
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Law and Regulations
   Federal Law and Regulations
   Interdisciplinary Databases

   Legal Research Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals

   News and Web Resources

Water Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   International Law
   Laws of Other Countries
   News and Web Resources

Animal Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Cases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Analysis
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Student Resources

 

LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS

HeinOnline includes dozens of journals dedicated to natural resources law and related fields (available on campus ore remotely with ASURITE).

Colorado Natural Resources, Energy & Environment Law Review
Commentary on natural resources issues including public lands and tribal treaty rights from the University of Colorado Law School.

Journal of Animal and Natural Resources Law
Focusing on animal welfare and related natural resources legal issues, from the Michigan State University College of Law.

Journal of Energy & Natural Resources Law
The International Bar Association’s journal explores the tensions between serving demand for consumer electricity while preserving natural resources and the environment.

Journal of International Wildlife Law & Policy
This journal published by the Taylor & Francis Group examines the legal regimes that threaten or protect transboundary wildlife, resources, and habitats.

Natural Resources & Environment
The American bar Association journal provides updates and commentary on contemporary natural resources law.

Natural Resources Journal
This journal from the University of New Mexico School of Law includes commentary on natural resources such as habitats and the legal regimes affecting them, including property, environmental, and transboundary regulation.

TEXTS AND TREATISES

You can search for online and print treatises ASU catalog by using subject headings such as Natural Resources and Mines and Mineral Resources. You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

Conservation and Recreation in Protected Areas: A Comparative Legal Analysis of Environmental Conflict Resolution in the United States and China (Yun Ma, 2016)
Presents a summary of the legal framework of U.S. and China public land policy and makes recommendations on how to balance the needs of recreation and conservation in protected areas.

Corporate Social Responsibility and Natural Resource Conflict (Kylie McKenna, 2015)
Discussing the desire for businesses to consider the consequences of their activities on society and the environment, particularly tied to natural resources, whose scarcity can be a source of conflict and poverty.

Governing Extractive Industries: Politics, History, Ideas (Anthony Bebbington et. al, 2018)
Discussing the politics and tensions surrounding industries such as mining and oil pumping, such as the resource curse, or the tendency for resource-rich countries to be less developed, from an international perspective.

Modern Public Land Law in a Nutshell (Robert L. Glicksman, 2019)
Discusses the authority different levels of government, from the state legislatures to the federal judiciary, exercise over public land. Analyzes the legal regimes governing water, minerals, grazing land, timberland, and wildlife. Also available on West Academic (login required).

Public Natural Resources Law (George C. Coggins & Robert L. Glicksman, 2019)
This multivolume treatise offers a comprehensive look at public natural resources law, including constitutional frameworks, issues arising under tort and contract law, and federal land, mineral, and water resource development. Also available on Westlaw (password required).

Sustainability and the Rights of Nature: An Introduction (Cameron La Follette & Chris Maser, 2017)
Discussing the emerging concept of the natural world’s legal rights to prevent overdevelopment and addressing challenges for incorporating such rights into present legal systems.

Wildfire Policy: Law and Economics Perspectives (Dean Lueck & Karen M. Bradshaw eds., 2011)
ASU Law Professor Karen M. Bradshaw contributed to this compilation of property, natural resource, and environmental law commentaries, discussing extralegal norms in wildfire suppression efforts and encouraging cooperation among public and private stakeholders.

Wildlife Law: A Primer (Eric T. Freyfogle & Dale Goble, 2009)
Summarizing issues such as animals’ state ownership, the law governing wildlife on private and federal lands, state game laws, the Endangered Species Act, and biodiversity.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

CAB Abstracts Archive (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Historical materials concerning topics such as forestry and natural resource conservation. 

Environment Complete (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Scholarly commentary on topics including natural resource management and life sciences.

Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
International expert materials on the role of life in nature and the economy.

WEB RESOURCES AND BLOGS

Bloomberg Law News
Gathers updates in a variety of topics, from general natural resource to specific areas such as mining and mineral rights.

International Institute for Environment and Development
Commentary on international aspects of topics related to natural resources management, such as forestry, wildlife, and mining, from an organization committed to fostering a “more sustainable world.”

Natural Resources Conservation Service
USDA discussions of topics including grazing land, soil, forestry, and water resources.

Natural Resource Governance Institute
Blog discussing extractive industries and other natural resource issues from an organization encouraging countries to develop their resources.

World Wildlife Fund
The organization dedicated to preservation of nature and wildlife presents commentary on issues such as forestry, sustainable commodities, and food sources.

FEDERAL REGULATION

Code of Federal Regulations
Title 36 includes federal regulations concerning the National Park Service, the U.S. Forest Service, monuments, historic preservation, and monuments. Title 30 concerns mineral resources, and Title 43 regulates public lands. Title 50 regulates wildlife and fisheries.

Fed Center: Natural Resources
Provides information on conservation of natural resources and compliance with rules and regulations for federal facilities in managing resources such as wetlands and animal habitats.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Regulating ocean use, including fisheries regulations and permitting. Also assesses the damage to natural resources from events such as oil spills.

U.S. Bureau of Land Management: Arizona
Arizona contains more than 12 million acres of public land that the bureau manages. Its website includes information on recreation permits and prohibited activities.

U.S. Department of Agriculture: Natural Resource Conservation Service
Programs such as landscape planning and financial assistance for farmers’ sustainability efforts help protect soil, plants, wildlife, air, and other natural resources.

U.S. Department of the Interior: Office of Natural Resources Revenue
Manages natural resources offshore and on Indian lands and provides assistance to Indian tribes to help develop energy and other natural resources. This page presents national and state data in graphical forms.

U.S. Forest Service: Laws and Regulations
Title 16 of the United States Code concerns topics related to management of natural resources and land, including protection of timber, restoration, and international forestry. The Forest Service includes a page on ongoing litigation and appeals to review environmental decisions.

United States Code
Title 16 of the United States Code concerns parks, historic sites, and resource preservation. Title 30 concerns minerals and mining, and Title 43 concerns management of public lands.

ARIZONA REGULATION

Arizona Administrative Code: Title 11
Regulates mining in Arizona, including reclamation of historical mining sites, through the Office of State Mine Inspector.

Arizona Administrative Code: Title 12
Regulates mainly surface resources, but also includes some mineral resources, including oil and gas. Also concerns wildlife as well as water, and energy resources.

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Includes information on the environmental aspects on natural resource extraction and protection.

Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management
Provides news, as well as information on state forest management and wildfire suppression. Also oversees fire safety compliance in buildings.

Arizona Game and Fish Department
Manages hunting and fishing rights as well as wildlife preservation and outdoor recreation programs.

Arizona Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
Provides rules and regulations for energy-resource exploration as well as permits, forms, and information on meetings and existing oil wells.

Arizona Revised Statutes: Title 37 – Public Lands
These statutes govern use of public lands and urban development in Arizona.

Arizona State Land Department
More than 40 percent of Arizona’s land is government owned. The Arizona State Land Department oversees a portion of that in state trust to be distributed for purposes the state constitution indicates. Includes information on permits and pricing plans for various land uses and development activities. Also includes a Natural Resources Division to monitor and coordinate grazing, protect wildlife and cultural resources, mitigating development projects, managing trespassing, and contributing to water management.

Arizona State Mine Inspector
Provides public notice of mining-related rulemaking as well as information concerning mine safety, the nature of the duty to inspect mines, and documents related to mining and land reclamation projects.