Skip to main content

Environmental Law and Sustainability: Agriculture and Food Safety

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Federal Statutes
   Cases
   Regulations

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal
   Interdisciplinary

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   News and Analysis
   Student Resources

Arizona Environmental Law
   Arizona Statutes
   Agencies and Regulations
   Arizona Cases

Energy and Public Utilities
   Texts and Treatises
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   News and Analysis

Natural Resources and Public Land Management
   Texts and Treatises
   Federal Regulation
   Arizona Regulation
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Land Use and Urban Planning
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Agriculture and Food Safety
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Law and Regulations
   Federal Law and Regulations
   Interdisciplinary Databases

   Legal Research Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals

   News and Web Resources

Water Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   International Law
   Laws of Other Countries
   News and Web Resources

Animal Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Cases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Analysis
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Student Resources

International and Foreign Environmental Law
   Texts and Treatises
   International and Foreign Laws
   United States Organizations
   Regional Organizations
   International Organizations

   
Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Blogs

NEWS AND WEB RESOURCES

The Ag & Food Law Blog
The federally funded National Agricultural Law Center tracks daily court rulings, legislative actions, and regulations in agriculture and food law, with commentary on ongoing ag-related issues.

Agricultural Law and Taxation Blog
News and commentary on legal developments from Washburn law Professor Roger A. McEowen.

American Agricultural Law Association: Blogs
This professional organization gathers blogs discussing agricultural law, from law schools and universities and law firms.

Arizona Farm Bureau
An agriculture industry group with news and a blog from the food producers’ perspective.

Association of Arizona Food Banks
News and information on the state’s food banks along with data on hunger and food insecurity.

Bureau of Reclamation: Colorado River Basin Drought Contingency Plans
Developments in the legal effort to preserve the Colorado River’s flow, which drives much of Arizona’s agriculture.

Drought in Arizona
This government website monitors the intensity of drought nationwide, including a historical look at drought conditions and links to resources.

FarmProgress
Features market data, legal news, and trends in the agriculture business, with Western U.S. data concentrated in the Western FarmPress page.

Food Empowerment Project
This food justice organization includes commentary on social justice issues concerning food, including veganism, food deserts and urban hunger.

U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit: Arizona Agriculture
Advising farmers on strategies for coping with the severe drought exacerbated by climate change plaguing the Western U.S. Also includes general information on the effects of drought.

World Resources Institute: Agriculture
This blog from an international research organization includes in-depth coverage of agriculture issues arising in particular countries as well as worldwide trends.

TEXTS AND TREATISES

Agricultural Law (Robert P. Achenbach, Jr., 2019) (Lexis Advance password required)
This treatise introduces the policies governing farming and food production, along with its interplay with areas of the law including torts, environmental law, estate and business planning, labor law, and tax.

Agricultural Law in a Nutshell (Roger A. McEowen, 2017)
Overviewing the many areas of law involved in farming, including contracts, secured transactions, property law, water law, and environmental law. Also available on West Academic (login required).

Food Regulation: Law, Science, Policy, and Practice (Neal D. Fortin, 2016)
An overview of legal regimes governing food safety, labeling, and advertising.

A Guide to U.S. Food Laws and Regulations (Patricia A. Curtis, 2013)
Examining the constitutional and governmental bases for U.S. food safety laws, the development of food safety law over the decades, major food safety laws, labeling, environmental law, biotechnology, and animal welfare.

A Handbook of Food Crime: Immoral and Illegal Practices in the Food Industry and What to Do About Them (Allison Gray & Ronald Hinch, 2018)
Focusing on offenses leading to economic and physical harms involving safety and health, such as food adulteration and misrepresentation, as well as hazardous or socially undesirable agricultural and food trade.

Hygiene in Food Processing: Principles and Practice (John Holah et. al, 2013)
Examining the risk from microbes and other contaminants, and discussing safe food production, processing, and handling practices.

International Law and Agroecological Husbandry: Building Legal Foundations for a New Agriculture (John W. Head, 2017)
Arguing that international agricultural practices are unsustainable and suggesting wider implementation of a more nature-friendly approach to improve food security and environmental health.

Marijuana Law in a Nutshell (Mark K. Osbeck, 2017)
Provides and overview of federal law and conflicting local laws regarding this long-banned cash crop. Also available on West Academic (login required).

Narratives of Hunger in International Law: Feeding the World in Times of Climate Change (Anne Saab, 2009)
Exploring the shortcomings of international law in adjusting to climate change and food demand worldwide.

A Practical Guide to FDA’s Food and Drug Law and Regulation (Kenneth R. Pina & Wayne L. Pines, 2017)
Includes chapters on the philosophical foundations of the FDA, as well as regulations of food, food additives, and dietary supplements.

Private Food Law: Governing Food Chains Through Contract Law, Self-Regulation, Private Standards, Audits, and Certification Schemes (Bernd van der Meulen, 2011)
An overview of worldwide private (non-governmental) food regulatory efforts.

ARIZONA LAW AND REGULATIONS

Arizona Administrative Code: Title 3 – Agriculture
These regulations govern agricultural activities such as handling of animals and food products.

Arizona Department of Agriculture
Provides information about farming practices including news, educational resources about pesticide use; animal inspections and veterinary medicine; legally protected plant species; and the Food Safety Modernization Act. The Boards & Councils page lists organizations dedicated to issues such as employment relations.

Arizona Department of Economic Security
Details the requirements for Nutrition Assistance eligibility, emergency food assistance, mass hunger relief, the state senior food program, and disaster aid.

Arizona Department of Health Services
The Food Safety and Environmental Services page compiles resources such as food safety regulations, equipment sanitizing standards, and instructions on reporting foodborne illnesses.

Arizona Revised Statutes: Title 3 – Agriculture
These statutes set up the legal framework for agricultural governance and operation in Arizona.

Arizona Revised Statutes: Title 36 – Public Health and Safety
Chapter 8 of this title governs general food safety practices, and chapter 15 governs mobile food vendors in Arizona.

FEDERAL LAW AND REGULATIONS

Code of Federal Regulations
The CFR includes codified regulations concerning agriculture, animals and animal products, and food and drugs.

Environmental Protection Agency agricultural regulations
Statutes and regulations governing the production of plant and animal food sources, including pesticides, air and water pollution, and concentrated animal feeding operations.

Federal Register
The Daily Journal of the United States Government tracks the latest developments from agencies including the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which includes the Food and Drug Administration.

Food and Drug Administration
Regulates food safety, including information on recalls and emergencies; animal healthcare and feed; drugs; vaccines; medical devices; and tobacco products.

USDA agricultural regulations
Includes the USDA’s policy plan, links to court decisions, rulemaking, and statutes related to food standards, marketing, packaging, and food safety.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

AGRICOLA (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
This database gathers agricultural literature from 1502 to the present. 

Biological Sciences (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Subjects in this database include biotechnology and genetics as it relates to agricultural plants and animals.

CAB Abstracts Archive (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
This database focuses on life sciences, including farming, forestry, and animal health.

Environment Complete (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Includes domestic and international titles concerning agriculture from the 1940s to the present.

Plant Science (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Incorporates farmed animals and plants into its focus on biotechnology, botany, ecology, and veterinary science.

UNdata: A World of Information
Includes charts and data from around the world on topics including nutrition and agriculture.

World Development Report
Includes agriculture and food production in yearly reports on economic and social conditions around the world.

LEGAL RESEARCH DATABASES

Bloomberg Law: Agricultural Law (Bloomberg Law password required)
Legal precedent and secondary sources with breakdowns of materials pertinent to particular industries, such as crop production, dairy, and breeding & husbandry.

Lexis Advance: Food and Agriculture (Lexis Advance password required)
Gathering cases, statutes, administrative materials, and secondary resources on food production, preparation, and use.

LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS

All journals are available on HeinOnline, available on campus or remotely through ASURITE.

Drake Journal of Agricultural Law
Includes scholarship on topics such as sustainable farming, food waste, and food safety.

European Food and Feed Law Review
Commentary on developments in foreign food safety and agricultural law.

Food and Drug Law Journal
This journal from the nonprofit Food and Drug Law Institute features commentary on the intersections of food production and public health.

Journal of Food Law and Policy
This University of Arkansas Law School journal concerns governance of food production and marketing, including tensions with the First Amendment, environmental regulation, and corporate governance.

Kentucky Journal of Equine, Agriculture, & Natural Resources Law
This journal from the University of Kentucky College of Law includes commentary on the intersections of agriculture, human use of animals, and natural resources.