Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Law and Sustainability: Arizona Environmental Law

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Federal Statutes
   Cases
   Regulations

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal
   Interdisciplinary

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   News and Analysis
   Student Resources

Arizona Environmental Law
   Arizona Statutes
   Agencies and Regulations
   Arizona Cases

Energy and Public Utilities
   Texts and Treatises
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   News and Analysis

Natural Resources and Public Land Management
   Texts and Treatises
   Federal Regulation
   Arizona Regulation
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Land Use and Urban Planning
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Agriculture and Food Safety
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Law and Regulations
   Federal Law and Regulations
   Interdisciplinary Databases

   Legal Research Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals

   News and Web Resources

Water Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   International Law
   Laws of Other Countries
   News and Web Resources

Animal Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Cases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Analysis
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Student Resources

International and Foreign Environmental Law
   Texts and Treatises
   International and Foreign Laws
   United States Organizations
   Regional Organizations
   International Organizations

   
Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Blogs

ARIZONA STATUTES

A.R.S. Title 45 – Waters
Concerns the state Department of Water Resources, rights to use ground and surface water, tribal rights, water storage, exports, weather and flood control, energy, and water conservation.

A.R.S. Title 49 – The Environment
Empowers the state Department of Environmental Quality, establishes processes to regulate water quality, air quality, waste management, hazardous wastes, and environmental infrastructure.

AGENCIES AND RULEMAKING

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Arizona (federal)
Discusses Arizona-specific information, such as localized environmental data, news, ongoing cleanup work, and contact information.

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
The ADEQ website includes information on environmental permits that various businesses will require, as well as overviews of programs to regulate air and water quality and waste management.

Arizona Department of Public Health
Includes information on toxins such as lead and pesticides, as well as extreme weather, land reuse, and food safety.

Arizona Game and Fish Department
Presents data on endangered species and  advisories to limit consumption of fish tainted by polluted waters.

ADEQ Rulemaking
Compiles proposals for Arizona environmental rules being proposed and finalized rules.

ARIZONA CASES

For information on accessing Arizona judicial opinions and other court resources, see our Arizona Law library guide.