Environmental Law and Sustainability

ASU Library One Search
To see a complete list of materials available in the library related to environmental law and sustainability, search the catalog for SUBJECT:  Pollution Control or SUBJECT:  Law -- Administrative Law -- Environmental Law.

Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law (Michael Faure ed., 2021)
The Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law is a landmark reference work, providing definitive and comprehensive coverage of this dynamic field. The Encyclopedia is organized into 12 volumes around top-level subjects – such as water, energy and climate change – that reflect some of the most pressing issues facing us today. Each volume probes the key elements of law, the essential concepts, and the latest research through concise, structured entries written by international experts. Each entry includes an extensive bibliography as a starting point for further reading. The mix of authoritative commentary and insightful discussion will make this an essential tool for research and teaching, as well as a valuable resource for professionals and policymakers.

Environmental Law and Policy (James E. Salzman & Barton H. Thompson, Jr., 2019)
This eBook, from West Academic, discusses the regulation and enforcement of environmental standards in the U.S., with detailed breakdowns of air, water, and solid waste management, as well as environmental impact assessments for land developments.

Environmental Law in a Nutshell (Daniel A. Farber, 2019)
This title, also available as an eBook, from West Academic, tracks the most recent changes in this dynamic field. Highlights concerns about federalism, pollution control, hazardous-substance management, and preservation of natural spaces.

Examples and Explanations:  Environmental Law (Steven Ferrey, 2022)
This title, also available as an eBook, from Aspen Learning Library, provides summaries of environmental policy challenges and regulatory strategies, along with the signature practice questions to keep students prepared for discussions and exams.

Fifty Years at the US Environmental Protection Agency:  Progress, Retrenchment, and Opportunities (A. James Barnes et al. eds., 2021)
In conjunction with the 50th anniversary of the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, this book brings together leading scholars and EPA veterans to provide a comprehensive assessment of the agency's key decisions and actions in the various areas of its responsibility. Themes across all chapters include the role of rulemaking, negotiation/compromise, partisan polarization, judicial impacts, relations with the White House and Congress, public opinion, interest group pressures, environmental enforcement, environmental justice, risk assessment, and interagency conflict.

Handbook of Advanced Approaches Towards Pollution Prevention and Control (Chaudhery Mustansar Hussain & Rehab O. Abdel Rahman eds., 2021)
Volume 1 concerns technical aspects of assessment and prevention of environmental damage, including innovative technologies. Volume 2 addresses legal methods to improve natural resource extraction around the world.

Handbook of U.S. Environmental Policy (David M. Konisky ed., 2020)
This collection examines the government entities that regulate the environment, including discussions of the president, Congress, the EPA, federalism, and local decision making, and delving into the presentation of information to the public. It examines climate change policy in depth.

Indigenous Environmental Justice (Karen Jarratt-Snider & Marianne O. Nielsen eds., 2020)
This anthology introduces the field of indigenous environmental justice, which concerns fairness (or lack thereof) in environmental decisionmaking involving indigenous people, including disproportionate burdens of environmentally harmful activities. The authors provide perspectives on topics including environmental racism and constraints on religious freedom, as well as the responses of indigenous people to promote fairness.

Law of Wetlands Regulation (William L. Want, 2020)
Describing the history of wetland regulation, including the division of authority between state and federal governments, jurisdictional issues, environmental permits, enforcement of environmental rules, and defenses.

Lessons in Environmental Justice (Michael Mascarenhas ed., 2021)
This collection introduces the civil and human rights side of environmental law, detailing the disparate impacts of polluting activities on vulnerable communities, introducing legal and activist attempts to foster fairness, and looking to future challenges.

NEPA Law and Litigation (Daniel R. Mandelker, 2022)
Discusses compliance with the procedural National Environmental Policy Act, including citizens' suits, environmental impact statements, and the litigation process.

Public Natural Resources Law (George Cameron Coggins & Robert L. Glicksman, 2023)
Explains the systems underlying natural resources regulation in publicly owned lands, including allocation of federal authority, liability issues, interactions with environmental statutes, and preservation issues.

Racial Ecologies (LeiLani Nishime & Kim D. Hester Williams eds., 2018)
An anthology of scholarly work within frameworks such as indigenous people and critical race theory examining the disparate impact of environmental degradation on communities of color.

Rethinking Environmental Law (Jan G. Laitos, 2021)
The author presents the problems with old models presuming separation of humanity and nature and its devastating impacts, and proposes new models recognizing the interconnectedness of humans and the environment and providing positive legal rights to the social-ecological system.

Social Sustainability, Past and Future (Sander Ernst van der Leeuw, 2019)
A comprehensive examination of the development of society and the consequences for the environment, and a look ahead at the looming risks of social and environmental crises.

State Environmental Law (Daniel P. Selmi & Kenneth A. Manaster, 2019)
Discusses state-based issues such as nuisance, federal constraints on state power, typical state laws and rules, state-federal cooperation, environmental impact assessments, litigation, and emerging problems.

Understanding Environmental Law (Kevin A. Reilly and Philip Weinberg, 2023)
This title provides a foundational understanding of environmental law to those who are unfamiliar with the topic. It covers the constitutional basis for environmental law, federal and state regulatory authority, pivotal case law, and relevant agency operations.

Who Really Makes Environmental Policy? (Sara R. Rinfret ed., 2021)
Congress has mostly delegated its task of environmental policymaking to the experts at administrative agencies, and this anthology explores the issues associated with that scheme, including whether environmental rulemaking is effectively off the public record, rule finalization, how states govern environmental issues and interact with the EPA, and the future of environmental policy.

HeinOnline's Environmental/Conservation Law Journal Library
This database gathers dozens of academic law journals focused on environmental law, energy, natural resources, and related fields.

Arizona Journal of Environmental Law & Policy
This University of Arizona publication emphasizes issues relevant to the Western U.S., such as tribal law, water law, and mining.

Columbia Journal of Environmental Law
A nationally-oriented journal focusing heavily on the law, litigation, and science of climate change.

Environmental Law
The high-ranking environmental law school at Lewis & Clark produces this journal featuring leading academic voices.

Harvard Environmental Law Review
A wide-ranging, nationally focused journal featuring many of the nation's most respected environmental law scholars.

Stanford Environmental Law Journal
Analyzing the effectiveness of legal regimes in the courtroom and their wider implications for nature.

Yale Journal on Regulation
Focused more generally on administrative law, which plays an important role in the regulation of the environment through the EPA.

ASU Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
This program at Arizona State University combines the expertise of the Global Institute of Sustainability and the Institute for the Future of Innovation in Society. It includes programs focused on promoting biodiversity and conservation, business practices and economics, climate change and adaptation, energy, environmental humanities, food systems, future and systems thinking, international development, materials and technology, policy and governance, social and behavioral change, urbanization, and water quality, use and supply.

ASU Library Sustainability Research Guide
Provides interdisciplinary information on environmental and sustainability science and policy, including video resources, eBooks, and academic research papers.

ASU Water and Environmental Technology Center
This center focuses on scientific research ensuring water quality, gathering research projects and publications on topics including water use, groundwater recharge, contaminants, and energy production.