Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Law and Sustainability: Databases and Indexes

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Federal Statutes
   Cases
   Regulations

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal
   Interdisciplinary

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   News and Analysis
   Student Resources

Arizona Environmental Law
   Arizona Statutes
   Agencies and Regulations
   Arizona Cases

Energy and Public Utilities
   Texts and Treatises
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   News and Analysis

Natural Resources and Public Land Management
   Texts and Treatises
   Federal Regulation
   Arizona Regulation
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Land Use and Urban Planning
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Law Reviews and Journals
   Web Resources and Blogs

Agriculture and Food Safety
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Law and Regulations
   Federal Law and Regulations
   Interdisciplinary Databases

   Legal Research Databases
   Law Reviews and Journals

   News and Web Resources

Water Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Interdisciplinary Databases
   International Law
   Laws of Other Countries
   News and Web Resources

Animal Law
   Texts and Treatises
   Arizona Resources
   Federal Resources
   Cases
   Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Analysis
   Web Resources and Blogs
   Student Resources

International and Foreign Environmental Law
   Texts and Treatises
   International and Foreign Laws
   United States Organizations
   Regional Organizations
   International Organizations

   
Law Reviews and Journals
   News and Blogs

LEGAL

Environmental Law Reporter: News and Analysis (available via Lexis or Westlaw; passwords required)
News and analysis on emerging and developing .environmental law issues. 

Lexis Practice Advisor: Energy & Utilities (Lexis password required)
Focusing primarily on water and electricity, with practice notes, forms, clauses, and checklists, along with legal news on topics including energy resources, sustainability, and environmental impact.

Westlaw: Practical Law (Westlaw password required)
Providing notes for practitioners, forms, clauses, and checklists on a variety of legal topics including environmental permitting and conservation.

INTERDISCIPLINARY

Legal research databases (password required for access):

ASU also subscribes to many interdisciplinary databases that contain content related to environmental sustainability.  Below is a select list of databases. You can search for additional resources through the following database subject lists: Sustainability & Environment and Sciences.

ABI/INFORM
Periodicals, dissertations, reports, and data focusing on business include topics related to the environment and energy.

Agricola
Agricola provides access to journal articles and books in the agricultural literature.

Bloomberg Law Environment & Energy Insights (Bloomberg Law password required)
Bloomberg gathers opinions, predictions and advice on hot environmental topics.

Climate Attribution Database
This resource from the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law at Columbia University gathers scientific information on the effects of greenhouse gases, including global mean temperature, extreme weather, and ecosystem changes. It also identifies the sectors, activities, and entities contributing to climate change.

Environment Complete
Environment Complete contains scholarly content in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

GeoRef
Searchable database features includes uncommon documents including books, dissertations, conference documents, and maps.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a full-text database that provides access to scholarly, government and general-interest titles about sustainability and human impact on the environment. 

Index to Current Urban Documents
Links to municipal documents and web-based materials from throughout the United States include reports on local and regional topics including the environment, energy, and natural resources.

JSTOR Sustainability Collection
A database of scholarly research on topics including climate change, conservation, environmental law, land use planning, natural resources, and urban development.

Lexis Energy & Utilities Practice Center
Lexis collects case law, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, news, and legal forms on legal topics concerning and related to energy and the environment.

OECD Library
The OECD Library offers access to studies, periodicals, and statistical annuals produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology
Oxford Bibliographies features scholarship on ecological science and related topics such as environmental justice.

PAIS Index
The PAIS Index collects conventional documents such as books and articles along with uncommon materials such as poems, recipes, fiction, and images in English and other languages.

Science Direct
Collects research publications on life sciences including biology, agricultural science, and environmental science.

Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that contains articles from over eight thousand journals in the sciences and humanities.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database features articles and other media concerning politics internationally, including non-English publications.