Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Law and Sustainability

Interdisciplinary Databases

Interdisciplinary and scientific databases concerning biology and life sciences may provide relevant information for scholarship concerning biodiversity law and policy. A full listing of life science databases to which Arizona State University subscribes is available at this link.

Academic Search Premiere (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
This multidisciplinary database includes scholarly and popular articles in topics related to biodiversity, including general science and the humanities.

CAB Abstracts Archive (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Historical materials concerning topics such as forestry and natural resource conservation. 

Environment Complete (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Scholarly commentary on topics including natural resource management and life sciences.

Google Scholar 
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

GreenFILE (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
GreenFILE is a full-text database that provides access to scholarly, government and general-interest titles about sustainability and human impact on the environment. 

Invasive Species Compendium (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
This topic gathers scientific information on Invasive species, which pose a threat to biodiversity.  

JSTOR Sustainability Collection (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
A database of scholarly research on topics including climate change, conservation, environmental law, land use planning, natural resources, and urban development.

Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
International expert materials on the role of life in nature and the economy.

ProQuest (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
This interdisciplinary database includes scholarly works on environmental science and policy as well as popular media and news articles.

Science Direct (available on campus or remotely through ASURITE)
Collects research publications on life sciences including biology, agricultural science, and environmental science

Texts and Treatises

Modern Public Land Law in a Nutshell (Robert L. Glicksman, 2019)
Discusses the authority different levels of government, from the state legislatures to the federal judiciary, exercise over public land. Analyzes the legal regimes governing water, minerals, grazing land, timberland, and wildlife. Also available on West Academic (login required).

Sustainability and the Rights of Nature: An Introduction (Cameron La Follette & Chris Maser, 2017)
Discussing the emerging concept of the natural world’s legal rights to prevent overdevelopment and addressing challenges for incorporating such rights into present legal systems.

Wildlife as Property Owners (Karen Bradshaw, 2020)
Professor Karen Bradshaw advocates for including animals in the legal system of property ownership to address biodiversity loss and sustainability problems.

Wildlife Law and the Empowerment of the Poor (United Nations, 2010)
Examining the social implications of wildlife management policy, including the rights to use wildlife for sustenance and economic benefit.

Wildlife Law: A Primer (Eric T. Freyfogle & Dale Goble, 2020)
Summarizing issues such as animals’ state ownership, the law governing wildlife on private and federal lands, state game laws, the Endangered Species Act, and biodiversity.

HeinOnline offers several additional scholarly journals dedicated to conservation and animal law (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).

Animal Law
Published by Northwestern School of Law, this title features scholarly materials on general animal law topics such as managing infrastructure to protect endangered species.

Arizona Journal of Environmental Law and Policy
This journal from the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law explores the impacts of environmental degradation on biodiversity and social wellbeing.

Columbia Journal of Environmental Law
Recent topics in this journal from Columbia Law School include the effectiveness of the Endangered Species Act and improving programs that enable developers to offset their harm to biodiversity by making other improvements.

Ecology Law Quarterly
This publication from the University of Berkeley School of Law includes critiques of legal efforts to protect biodiversity.

Harvard Environmental Law Review
This highly respected publication examines the impact of efforts to preserve public lands and to manage threatened wildlife populations.

Journal of Animal and Natural Resource Law
This journal from Michigan State University College of Law examines the impact of natural resources law on animal populations such as migratory birds, and efforts to reintroduce animals to ecosystems.

Journal of International Wildlife Law & Policy
Dedicated to international and foreign legal regimes governing wildlife and their habitat.

Pace Environmental Law Review
This journal from a top-ranked environmental law school includes critiques of legal regimes' impact on biodiversity and efforts to preserve endangered species and habitat.

Virginia Environmental Law Journal 
This publication from the University of Virginia includes discussions of extinction and efforts to preserve individual species.

Washington Journal of Environmental Law and Policy
This journal from the University of Washington School of Law includes recent articles on endangered fish and promotion of biodiversity in national forests.

Government Regulations

Arizona Administrative Code: Title 12
Regulates wildlife as well as water and energy natural resources, as well as some subsurface resources.

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Includes information on the environmental aspects on natural resource extraction and protection.

Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management
Provides news, as well as information on state forest management and wildfire suppression. 

Arizona Game and Fish Department
Manages hunting and fishing rights as well as wildlife preservation and outdoor recreation programs.

Arizona Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
Provides rules and regulations for energy-resource exploration as well as permits, forms, and information on meetings and existing oil wells.

Arizona Revised Statutes: Title 37 – Public Lands
These statutes govern use of public lands and urban development in Arizona.

Arizona State Land Department
More than 40 percent of Arizona’s land is government owned. The Arizona State Land Department oversees a portion of that in state trust to be distributed for purposes the state constitution indicates. Includes information on permits and pricing plans for various land uses and development activities. 

Code of Federal Regulations
Title 50
 of these executive provisions regulates wildlife and fisheries.

Fed Center: Natural Resources
Provides information on conservation of natural resources and compliance with rules and regulations for federal facilities in managing resources including animal habitats.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Regulating ocean use, including fisheries regulations and permitting. Also assesses the damage to natural resources from events such as oil spills.

U.S. Bureau of Land Management: Arizona
Arizona contains more than 12 million acres of public land that the bureau manages. Its website includes information on recreation permits and prohibited activities.

U.S. Department of Agriculture: Natural Resource Conservation Service
Programs such as landscape planning and financial assistance for farmers’ sustainability efforts help protect plants, wildlife, soil, air, and other natural resources.

United States Code
Title 16 of the United States Code concerns conservation of wildlife and their habitats, as well as provisions to protect natural resources that they need. It includes the Endangered Species Act.