Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International and Foreign Law

United Nations Resources

United Nations Home Page
Some of the useful features of the U.N. web site include a chart of the United Nations System, an A to Z Site Index, a page for the UN’s activities in International Law, and a page for the United Nations human rights system.

United Nations Digital Library‚Äč
The United Nations Digital Library has UN documents, speeches, voting records, and more.

United Nations General Assembly
The General Assembly is the main deliberative body of the UN. The General Assembly’s webpage provides information on the Assembly’s actions, meetings, and main committees. It also offers access to UN news items and UN documents, such as session agendas, resolutions, the UN Journal, and draft proposals.

International Court of Justice
The court’s website has the full text of decisions, pleadings, and other documents in contentious cases and for advisory opinions, including pending cases. It also has decisions and other documents from the Permanent Court of International Justice.

International Law Commission
The International Law Commission was established by the United Nations General Assembly in 1947. Their web site has texts, instruments, and reports adopted by the ILC, along with commentaries, and publications of the ILC, including the Yearbook of the International Law Commission and the Analytical Guide to the Work of the International Law Commission.

Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)
The official repository of United Nations documents. Includes resolutions of the principal organs 1946-present and other documents such as meeting records and reports 1993-present, and some General Assembly and Security Council documents back to the 1980s.

U.N. News  
The News Centre provides news and current events as reported by the United Nations News Service.

United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law
This resource has an historical archives section that has the text of conventions and other documents arranged by subject; a lecture series by international law scholars; and a research library of links to documents of interest of people researching international law.

United Nations Diplomatic Conferences 
This United Nations website provides access to the official records of twelve UN diplomatic conferences held to adopt international treaties.

CALI Lessons - U.N. and ICJ

The Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law subscribes to the CALI Library of Lessons tutorials. CALI tutorials, written by law faculty and librarians from American law schools, are reviewed and revised on a regular basis. The lessons are designed to help you become accustomed to taking multiple-choice examinations and provide feedback to your answers. To access the law school's subscription to CALI, please see our CALI section at the bottom of our Study Materials page. Below is a list of CALI lessons specific on international law topics.

Finding International Court of Justice Opinions
This lesson introduces the International Court of Justice, one of the principal organs of the United Nations. It describes how to access the Court's decisions both in print and online, and directs you to print and online digests of the Court's decisions.

United Nations Research
This lesson will show you the basic tools for finding United Nations materials. It first gives an overview of how the United Nations is organized. It includes descriptions of each of the principal organs of the U.N. and an overview of the United Nations document numbering system. It then shows several online tools for United Nations research: the U.N.'s website; the U.N. Documentation Centre; Official Document System; AccessUN; and UNBISNet. It ends with an introduction to a few websites for very current information about the United Nations.

Legal Databases

HeinOnline’s United Nations Law Collection (available on campus and remotely with ASURITE)
This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.