Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International and Foreign Law

General Resources

Kluwer Arbitration (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Kluwer Arbitration is the leading online resource for researching international commercial arbitration. It has treatises, journals, treaties, national legislation, international and national court and arbitral body decisions, and arbitration rules.

Westlaw Practical Law – International Arbitration (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw's Practical Law Center has commentary on international arbitration arranged by topic and by country, with accompanying forms and checklists.

Bloomberg Law’s Getting the Deal Through – Arbitration (Bloomberg Law password required)
This Bloomberg Law treatise includes guides to arbitration in nearly 50 different countries.

Arbitral Rules and Awards

International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Rules of Arbitration
The International Chamber of Commerce provides online access to its most current ICC Rules of Arbitration. The rules define and regulate the management of cases submitted to our International Court of Arbitration.

London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) Rules
The London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) is one of the world’s leading international institutions for commercial dispute resolution. LCIA Arbitration Rules are available on this LCIA website.

Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) Rules of Procedure
The Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) was established by the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes, concluded at The Hague in 1899 during the first Hague Peace Conference. The PCA Rules of Procedure are available on the organization's website.

UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules
The United Nations Commission on International Trade Law provides access to its arbitration rules, including conventions, model laws, and explanatory texts, on its website.

Kluwer Arbitration (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) 
Kluwer Arbitration provides access to practical tools and a wide variety of content resources, including arbitral awards, related to international arbitration.

Westlaw International Arbitration Awards (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw provides access to arbitral awards from a number of different sources, including the International Centre for Dispute Resolution, NAFTA, Permanent Court of Arbitration, World Intellectual Property Organization, WTO & GATT, and the United States. The awards are searchable. 

UNILEX
UNILEX has abstracts of arbitral awards and court decisions dealing with the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts and the CISG. When available, it links to the full text of the decision.

Investment Treaty Arbitration
This website from the University of Victoria has the full text of investment cases, decisions, awards, investment treaties, and other investment-related materials.

Primary Sources

New York Convention Guide
This website has the text of the 1958 Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, its drafting history, rules, and cases.

UNCITRAL's Convention on International Sale of Goods and Related Transactions
This international instrument provides standards for contract formation and the obligations of the parties to a transaction.

UNCITRAL’s Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration
This United Nations Commission On International Trade Law (UNICTRAL) website has the text of the model law and its travaux preparatoires.

UNCITRAL's New York Convention
This United Nations convention provides legislative standards for the recognition of foreign and nondomestic arbitration awards.

Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)
CLOUT, hosted by the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, has abstracts of court decisions and arbitral awards relating to the UNCITRAL conventions and model laws, including CISG, the New York Convention, and the Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration.

Pace Law School’s CISG Database
The Pace Law School's CISG database has abstracts of court decisions dealing with the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (COSG) and often links to the full text of decisions.

UNILEX
UNILEX provides abstracts of arbitral awards and court decisions dealing with the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts and the CISG. When available, it links to the full text of the decision.

World Legal Information Institute
The World Legal Information Institute provides a searchable database of national legislation and decisions from national and international courts and tribunals. 

Westlaw International Commercial Arbitration Cases (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw's international commercial arbitration database has court decisions from the U.S., U.K., Australia, and Canada that deal with international arbitration.

Secondary Sources

Foundational Texts

Commentary on the UN Convention on the International Sale of Goods (Ingebord Schwenzer & Peter Schlechtriem, eds., 2016) 
This is a leading commentary on the CISG.          

International Commercial Arbitration, 3rd ed. (Gary B. Born, 2021)
This authoritative three-volume treatise comprehensively covers all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process. Volume 1 covers arbitration agreements, volume 2 arbitral procedures, and volume 3 arbitral awards. Available on Kluwer Arbitration. The Law Library also has the two-volume 2nd edition (2009) in print.

International Commercial Arbitration: A Comparative Introduction (Franco Ferrari & Friedrich Rosenfeld, 2021)
This book explains arbitration in the commercial and international contexts, including the scope of recognition to be expected for international arbitrations and arbitral procedures. It details parties’ rights to be heard, the presentation of evidence, and the legal doctrines governing arbitral awards and judicial review of arbitrations. It also explains the New York Convention on the recognition and enforcement of international arbitral awards.

Introductory Texts

International Commercial Arbitration in a Nutshell (George A. Bermann, 2020)
This compact guide to international commercial arbitration is available in print in the Law Library and online on West Academic.

International Sales Law – CISG in a Nutshell (Franco Ferrari, 2018)
This compact guide to international sales law is available in print in the Law Library and online on West Academic.

Understanding International Arbitration (Tony Cole and Pietro Ortolani, 2020)
This title provides an introduction to the primacy concepts of arbitration, using case reference as examples.

The Complete but Unofficial Guide to the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot, 5th ed. (Markus Altenkirch, et al, 2019)
This title provides practical advice for students participating in the Vis International Arbitration Moot competition, with tips on how to maximize the experience.

The Danubia Files: Award Writing Lessons from the VIS Moot (Louise Barrington, et al, 2013)
This title provides guidance on the drafting of the arbitration award in the Vis Moot competition setting.

Successfully Competing in U.S. Moot Court Competitions (Larry L. Teply, 2014)
The compact book includes advice designed to help students prepare for team selection competitions as well as compete in U.S. moot court competitions. It is available as an ebook on West Academic.

The Art of Advocacy: Briefs, Motions, and Writing Strategies of America’s Best Lawyers (Noah A. Messing, 2013)
This book contains more than 150 examples of advocacy to show lawyers how to write winning briefs and motions.

The Art of Advocacy in International Arbitration, 2nd ed. (Doak Bishop and Edward G. Kehoe, eds., 2010)
Written by some leading practitioners, this work provides insight into practitioners’ approach, style, and techniques for effective international arbitration.

The Art of Argument: A Guide to Mooting (Christopher Kee, 2006)
This is a guide to developing, defending, and presenting a compelling moot court argument.

The Guide to Advocacy (Stephen Jagusch et al., eds., 2018) 
This work provides guidance on how to persuade arbitrators to rule in your favor.

International Commercial Arbitration Advocacy: A Practitioner's Guide for American Lawyers (H. Roderic Heard, 2010) 
This work provides practical advice for American litigators on advocacy in international arbitration.

Pre-Suasion: A Revolutionary Way to Influence and Persuade (Robert B. Cialdini, Simon & Schuster, 2016)
This work covers the science of persuasion. The title is also available as an e-book.

Compendium of International Commercial Arbitration Forms: Letters, Procedural Instructions, Briefs and Other Documents (Sigvard Jarvin and Corinne Nguyen, 2017)
This is a collection of documents used in institutional and ad hoc international commercial arbitration. The documents are taken from actual cases, under different arbitral rules, and in different countries. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The Freshfields Guide to Arbitration Clauses in International Contracts, 3rd ed. (Jan Paulsson, et al., 2010)
This work shows practitioners how to draft provisions in international contracts relating to arbitration.  It includes appendices of sample clauses. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration and Forum Selection Agreements: Drafting and Enforcing, 6th ed. (Gary Born, 2021)
This is a primer on the fundaments of drafting and enforcing international arbitration agreements. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Commercial Arbitration: Different Forms and Their Features (Guiditta Cordero-Moss, 2013)
This book highlights specific features of arbitration clauses. The title is also available as an e-book

Arbitration in Malaysia: A Commentary on the Malaysian Arbitration Act (Thayananthan Baskaran, 2019)
his is a commentary on the Malaysian Arbitration Act 2005. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Arbitration in Russia (A.G. Kotelnikov, et al., 2019)
This work covers Russian law on domestic and international arbitration. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Choice of Venue in International Arbitration (Michael Ostrove, et al., eds., 2014)
This work provides an overview of the legal systems and arbitration regimes in 20 countries. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards and Judgments in New York (Andreas A. Frischknecht, et al, 2018)
This work shows practitioners how to navigate the enforcement of awards in New York. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

ICCA Reports no. 5: Compendium of Chinese Commercial Arbitration Laws (ICCA, 2019)
This is a compendium of Chinese statutes and court decisions relating to arbitration, translated into English. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration: Comparative and Swiss Perspectives, 3rd ed. (Daniel Girsberger and Nathalie Voser, 2016)
This discussion of international arbitration focuses on how it is practiced in Switzerland. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration in Brazil: An Introductory Practitioner’s Guide (Till Backsmann, 2016)
This is an introduction to the particularities of international arbitration as practiced in Brazil. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration in Korea (Joongi Kim, 2017)
This work presents 150 Korean judicial decisions on issues of international arbitration. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration in Sweden: A Practitioner’s Guide, 2nd ed. (Ulf Franke, et al, eds., 2021)
This is a guide to arbitration in Sweden. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration in the United States (Laurence Shore, ed., 2017)
This is a comprehensive analysis of international arbitration law and practice in the United States. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Commercial Arbitration in New York (James H. Carter and John Fellas, eds., 2010)
This work covers the distinctive aspects of international arbitration in New York. Available as an e-book.

International Commercial Arbitration in Spain (Miguel Gomez Jene, 2019)
This work focuses on the legal system of arbitration in Spain. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards in Brazil: A Practitioner’s Guide (Leonardo de Campos Melo, 2015)
This is a guide to requests for the recognition and enforcement of foreign arbitral awards in Brazil. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Recognition and Enforcement of International Commercial Arbitral Awards in Latin America: Law, Practice and Leading Cases (Omar E. Garcia-Bolivar and Hernando Otero, eds., 2015)
This is a country-by-country review of the law, practice, and leading cases on the recognition and enforcement of international commercial arbitral awards in Latin American countries country. ​​​​​​​Available as an e-book

Selected Issues in International Arbitration: The Italian Perspective (Ferdinando Emanuele and Milo Molfa, 2014)
This is an overview of arbitration in Italy. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The Spanish Arbitration Act: A Commentary (Carlos J. Gonzalez-Bueno Catalan de Ocon et al., 2016)
This work is an article-by-article commentary on the Spanish Arbitration Act. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Agreed Sums Payable upon Breach of an Obligation: Rethinking Penalty and Liquidated Damages Clauses (Pascal Hachem,  2011)
This work presents a comparative analysis of the ways different countries deal with agreed sums payable upon breach of an obligation.

Arbitrability: International and Comparative Perspectives (Loukas A. Mistelis and Stavros L. Brekoulakis, 2009)
This book contains observations on arbitrability and its substantive rules, organized by type of dispute. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Arbitrators as Lawmakers (Dolores Bentolila, 2017)
This work analyzes how arbitrators make the rules that guide, constrain, and define the process of international arbitration. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Challenge and Disqualification of Arbitrators in International Arbitration (Karen Daele, 2012)
This work is an in-depth analysis of the rules, guidelines, and standards for challenging and disqualifying an arbitrator. It discusses issues arising in case law in the U.S., France, England, Sweden, and Switzerland. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Complex Arbitrations: Multi-party, Multi-contract, Multi-issue – A Comparative Study (Bernard Hanotiau, 2020)
This book provides an analysis of the issues arising from multi-party, multi-contract arbitrations. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Confidentiality in International Commercial Arbitration (Ileana M. Smeureanu, 2012)
This work assesses breaches of confidentiality in international commercial arbitration and the rules for protecting and sanctioning these breaches. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Cross-Examination in International Arbitration: Nine Basic Principles (Kaj Hober and Howard S. Sussman, 2014)
This book presents a basic understanding of how to best present a cross-examination in an international arbitration. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Due Process as a Limit to Discretion in International Commercial Arbitration (Franco Ferraro, et al, 2020)
This is a comprehensive study of due process as a limit to arbitral discretion, showing how due process applies in 19 countries. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Ethics in International Arbitration (Catherine A. Rogers, 2014)
This work analyzes issues relating to the ethics and professional conduct of arbitrators, lawyers, and expert witnesses in international arbitration.

Evidence in International Arbitration: The Italian Perspective and Beyond (Ferdinando Emanuele, et al, 2016)
This work goes beyond the Italian perspective by investigating how evidentiary matters are handled internationally. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Explaining Why You Lost: Reasoning in Arbitration (Antonio Crivellaro and Melida Hodgson, eds., 2020)
This work addresses reasoning in international commercial and investment awards. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Forum Shopping in the International Commercial Arbitration Context (Franco Ferrari, ed., 2013)
This book addresses the extent to which forum shopping is relevant in international commercial arbitration.

Guerrilla Tactics in International Arbitration (Gunther J. Horvath and Stephan Wilske, eds., 2013)
Guerrilla tactics in arbitration are deliberate efforts to obstruct, delay, derail, or sabotage the arbitration. This book describes actual experiences. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The Guide to Challenging and Enforcing Arbitration Awards (J. William Rowley, et al, eds., 2019)
This work provides practical advice on challenging and enforcing awards.

The Guide to Damages in International Arbitration, 4th ed. (John A. Trenor, ed., 2020)  
This work covers the nuts-and-bolts of damages in international arbitration.

Interim Measures in International Arbitration (Lawrence W. Newman and Colin Ong, eds., 2014)
This book covers elements of the different interim measures available as part of the arbitral process in different national jurisdictions.

International Arbitration: Law and Practice, 2nd ed. (Gary Born, 2015)
This work provides comprehensive coverage of international commercial arbitration and investment and state-to-state arbitration. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Arbitration and Mediation: A Practical Guide (Michael McIlwrath and John Savage, 2010)
This is a step-by-step guide to influencing the outcome of the dispute at its various stages. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The International Arbitration Rulebook: A Guide to Arbitral Regimes (Arif Hyder Ali, et al, 2019)
This is a comprehensive roadmap to international commercial and investment arbitration rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Commercial Arbitration and the Arbitrator’s Contract (Emilia Onyema, 2010)
This book discusses the formation, nature, and effect of an arbitrator’s contract.

International Commercial Arbitration Practice: 21st Century Perspectives (Paul E. Mason and Horacio A. Grigera Naon, eds., 2013)
This book discusses how arbitrations are conducted in common law, civil law, and Islamic law jurisdictions and how practices vary by region. It also discusses particular industries, recent trends, and the impact of technological change. Available on Lexis.

Introduction to International Arbitration Practice (Pierre Karrer, 2014)
This presents an overview of international arbitration practice, covering each step of the process. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Jurisdiction, Admissibility and Choice of Law in International Arbitration: Liber Amicorum Michael Pryles (Neil Kaplan and Michael J. Moser, eds. 2018)
This is a collection of essays on issues relating to jurisdiction, admissibility, and choice of law. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The Legal, Real and Converged Interest in Declaratory Relief (Beata Gessel-Kalinowska vel Kalisz, 2019)
This work focuses on declaratory relief to international commercial arbitration and litigation disputes. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Limits to Party Autonomy in International Commercial Arbitration (Franco Ferrari, ed., 2016) 
This book discusses the limits to party autonomy as arbitration proceedings commence.

Party-Appointed Arbitrators in International Commercial Arbitration (Alfonso Gomez-Acebo, Kluwer, 2016).
This work examines the system of party-appointed arbitrators. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Performance as a Remedy: Non-Monetary Relief in International Arbitration (Michael E. Schneider and Joachim Knoll, eds., 2011)
The authors of the chapters of this book question whether arbitrators can order a party’s performance or nonperformance.

The Powers and Duties of an Arbitrator: Liber Amicorum Pierre A. Karrer (Patricia Shaughnessy et al, eds., 2017)
This work focuses on the powers and duties of arbitrators. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Precedent in International Arbitration (Emmanuel Gaillard and Yas Banifatemi, 2008)
This work discusses the extent to which arbitral bodies should take prior awards into consideration.

The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration. 3rd ed. (Margaret Moses, 2017)
Short, but comprehensive overview of international commercial arbitration.

Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration, 6th ed. (Nigel Blackaby, 2015)
A leading text on international arbitration since it was first published in 1986. ​​​​​​​Available on Kluwer Arbitration and on Westlaw

Soft Law in International Arbitration (Lawrence W. Newman and Michael J. Radine, eds., 2014)
This work is a guide to soft law in drafting arbitration clauses, the organization and conduct of proceedings, disclosure of documents and evidence, and drafting awards.

Third-Party Effects of Arbitral Awards: Res Judicata against Privies, Non-Mutual Preclusion and Factual Effects (Maximilian Pika, 2019)
This work examines follow-up disputes against third parties to the prior arbitration. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Third-Party Funding in International Arbitration and its Impact on Procedure (Jonas von Goeler, 2015)
This work discusses third-party funding in seven jurisdictions, including the United States. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Secondary Sources - Commentary

Arbitrating under the 2012 ICC Rules (Jacob Grierson and Annet van Hooft, 2012)
This book, covering the 2012 ICC rules, is organized by the sequence of events that take place during an arbitration, from Preliminary Matters to the Award. It includes model forms. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Arbitrating under the 2014 LCIA Rules: A User’s Guide (Maxi Scherer, et al., 2015)
This practical guide explains the basic principles of arbitration before the London Court of International Arbitration under the 2014 LCIA Rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration .

The CAM-CCBC Arbitration Rules 2012: A Commentary (Frederico Straube, ed., 2016)
This is a road map of international arbitration through the rules of Brazil’s arbitral institution, Center for Arbitration and Mediation of the Chamber of Commerce Brazil-Canada.

Commentary on the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules 2010: A Practitioner's Guide (Sophie Nappert, 2012)
This is an article-by-article commentary on the 2010 UNCITRAL arbitration rules.

Commercial Mediation and Arbitration in the NAFTA Countries (Luis Miguel Diaz & Nancy A. Oretskin, 1999)
With commentary and analysis on commercial mediation and arbitration provided by some of the leading Judges, Lawyers and Academics in the field, Commercial Mediation and Arbitration in the NAFTA Countries is the definitive source on dispute resolution under NAFTA and also on arbitration and mediation in Canada, Mexico and the United States - on both the National and International level.

The DIS Arbitration Rules: An Article-by-Article Commentary (Gustav Flecke-Giammarco, ed., 2020)
This is a practical commentary on the 2018 German Arbitration Institute (DIS) Arbitration Rules. It includes article-by-article commentary written by the drafters of the 2018 rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

A Guide to the HKIAC Arbitration Rules (Michael Moser and Chiann Bao, 2017)
This is a practitioner’s guide to conducting arbitrations before the Hong Kong International Arbitration Center using the HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules. It is organized by article. Available on Course Reserve in the Law Library and on Kluwer Arbitration.

A Guide to the IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration (Roman Khodykin, et al., 2019)
This work is a rule-by-rule commentary on the 2010 IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.  

A Guide to the ICDR International Arbitration Rules, 2nd ed. (Martin F. Gusy and James M. Hosking, 2019)
This is an article-by-article commentary on the International Centre for Dispute Resolution rules and the International Expedited Rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

A Guide to the SCC Arbitration Rules (Jakob Ragnwaldh, et al., 2019)
This is a commentary on the 2017 Arbitration Rules of the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce organized by rule number. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

A Guide to the SIAC Arbitration Rules, 2nd ed. (John Choong et al., 2018)
This is a rule-by-rule commentary on the Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) arbitration rules issued in 2016. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

A Guide to the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules (C.E. Croft, et al, 2013) 
This work contains commentary on the 2010 arbitration rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL). It includes a side-by-side comparison of the 2010 and 1976 rules.

Handbook of ICC Arbitration: Commentary, Precedents, Materials, 4th ed. (Thomas H. Webster and Michael Buhler, 2018)
This work has commentary on the International Chamber of Commerce arbitration rules. Available on Westlaw.

Handbook VIAC Rules of Arbitration and Mediation: A Practitioner’s Guide, 2nd ed. (Vienna International Arbitral Centre of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, 2019)
This is a rule-by-rule commentary on the 2018 Vienna Arbitration Rules and Vienna Mediation Rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

IBA Rules of Evidence: Commentary on the IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration (Tobias Zuberbuhler, et al., 2012)
This is a rule-by-rule commentary on the IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration that were adopted by the International Bar Association in 2010. Available in print in the Law Library and on Kluwer Arbitration.

The IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration: A Guide (Peter Ashford,  2013)
This is a rule-by-rule commentary on the IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration were adopted by the International Bar Association in 2010

ICC Arbitration in Practice (Herman Verbist, et al, 2015)
This is an article-by-article commentary on the 2012 Rules of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce. It includes helpful flow diagrams of the arbitration process. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Swiss Rules of International Arbitration: Commentary, 2nd ed. (Tobias Zuberbuhler, et al., eds., 2013)
This commentary on the 2012 Swiss Rules of International Arbitration highlights the main differences between the Swiss rules and the 2010 UNCITRAL rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

UNCITRAL Arbitration (Jan Paulsson and Georgios Petrochilos, 2017)
This work includes a guide to the Travaux Preparatoires and a table of correspondence between the 1976 and 2010 rules. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

A Guide to the 2006 Amendments to the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration: Legislative History and Commentary (Howard M. Holtzmann, et al., 2015)
This work contains separate sections for each of the 36 articles of the model law, including a complete legislative history of each article. In addition to commentary, it contains drafts, reports, summary records of debates, government comments, and conference papers. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions (Peter Binder, 2019)
This analysis of the UNCITRAL model laws discusses its adoption in multiple jurisdictions. It includes summaries of national case law. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The Interpretation and Uniformity of the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration: Australia, Hong Kong and Singapore (Dean Lewis, 2016)
This work examines legislation and case law of Australia, Hong Kong, and Singapore to consider whether a uniform approach to implementation of the model law is being achieved. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The UNCITRAL Model Law after Twenty-five Years: Global Perspectives on International Commercial Arbitration (Frederic Bachand and Fabien Gelinas, eds., 2013) 
This work evaluates the model law’s impact on the development of a universal arbitration law.

The 1958 New York Convention in Action (Marike Paulsson, 2016)
This work analyzes each article of the 1958 New York Convention, taking into account the drafters’ intent, rules of interpretation of the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, and judicial decisions. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

60 Years of the New York Convention: Key Issues and Future Challenges (Katia Fach Gomez and Ana Mercedes Lopez Rodriguez, eds., 2019)
This book discusses various legal issues regarding the application of the New York Convention in international commercial and investment arbitration. This book was published to mark the 60th anniversary of the Convention. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Autonomous Versus Domestic Concepts under the New York Convention (Franco Ferrari and Friedrich Jakob Rosenfeld, eds., 2020)
This book discusses whether the New York Convention should be construed autonomously or in light of domestic law. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

ICCA’s Guide to the Interpretation of the 1958 New York Convention: A Handbook for Judges (International Council for Commercial Arbitration, 2011)
This work gives guidance to judges in interpreting and applying the Convention. It begins with a checklist for judges to use when applying the Convention. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The Public Policy Exception Under the New York Convention: History, Interpretation and Application (Anton G. Maurer, 2012)
This work describes the drafting history of the public policy exception of Art. V(2)(b) of the New York Convention.

Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards: A Global Commentary on the New York Convention (Herbert Kronke, et al., Kluwer, 2011)
This work delves into the history and application of the Convention in national courts, and each article of the Convention has its own chapter. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

The ABCs of the CISG (Jack M. Graves, 2013)
This is an introductory guide to the CISG published by the American Bar Association.

Commentary on the UN Sales Law (CISG) (Christoph Brunner and Benjamin Gottlieb, eds., 2019)
This is an article-by-article commentary on the CISG aimed at practitioners dealing with international sales contracts. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Contracts for the International Sale of Goods Applicability and Applications of the 1980 United Nations Sales Convention (Franco Ferrari, 2012)
This work examines the CISG’s sphere of application, issues relating to the non-conformity of delivered goods, and the determination of interest rates on sums in arrears. 

Damages under the Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods, 2nd ed. (Bruno Zeller, 2005)
This book analyzes the methods used to determine and calculate damages under the CISG.

International Sales Contracts: The UN Convention and Related Transnational Law (Eldon H. Reiley, 2008)
This work provides an overview of the CISG, its history, and its predecessors.

International Sales Law: Contract, Principles & Practice (Larry DiMatteo et al., eds., C.H. Beck, 2016) 
This is a practical analysis of the rules, subject-matter, and terminology of international sales law.

Interpretation of Contracts in Comparative and Uniform Law (Ahmet Cemil Yildirim, Kluwer, 2019)
This work examines the major legal systems and uniform laws for interpreting contracts. It includes a discussion of the CISG. Available on Kluwer Arbitration

The Law of Damages in International Sales: The CISG and other International Instruments (Djakhongir Saidov, 2021)
This in-depth study explores the remedy of damages in international sales transactions. Its focus is on the international contract law instruments such as the Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG), the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, and the Principles of European Contract Law.

Uniform Law for International Sales Under the 1980 United Nations Convention, 4th ed. (John Honnold, 2009)
This is an article-by-article commentary of the CISG.

Uniformity in the Application of the CISG: Analysis of the Problem and Recommendations for the Future (Boris Prastalo, 2020)
This work examines the principle of uniformity under Article 7(1) of the CISG. Available on Kluwer Arbitration.

Current Awareness and News

Mealey’s International Arbitration Report (Lexis password required)
Mealey's, available on Lexis, is a monthly bulletin covering arbitration litigation in international and national courts.

Kluwer Arbitration Blog
The Kluwer Arbitration blog reports news dealing with international arbitration.

Law360 International Arbitration News (available on campus)
Law360 has news and analysis on international arbitration law.