Skip to main content

International Law: Home

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Ask a Librarian
     International Law Research Guides

Secondary Sources
     Guides to International Legal Research
     Finding Law Articles
     Finding Articles in Other Disciplines
     International Law Reference Sources
     Other Secondary Sources

Treaties
     Finding Aids for U.S. Treaties
     Full-Text U.S. Treaty Sources
     Other Full-Text Sources
     Locating Background Information                     about U.S. Treaties

Foreign Law
     Finding Background Information
     Laws by Country
     Laws by Subject
     Foreign Constitutions
     Foreign Cases
     Subscription Resources

European Union
     Guides to the European Union
     European Union Websites
     Subscription Resources

United Nations
     United Nations Websites
     CALI Lessons - UN and ICJ
     HeinOnline United Nations Collection

U.S. Foreign Affairs
     Treatises and Reference Materials
     Databases and Indexes
     U.S. Government Publications
     Web Resources

Human Rights
     United Nations 
     Regional Bodies
     Web Resources

Commercial Arbitration
     General Resources
     Treaties
     Arbitral Rules and Awards
     National Legislation and Cases
     Secondary Sources
     Current Awareness and News

Trade
     Commercial Databases
     U.S. Government Resources
     World Trade Organization
     United Nations 
     Regional Organizations
     Other Online Resources

Environmental Law
     Treaties
     International Organizations 
     United States
     Europe
     National Laws

Global Health
     Web Resources

Armed Conflict
     Web Resources

SCOPE

This International Law Research Guide provides information on a variety of international and foreign law topics. It offers guidance on researching international organizations such as the United Nations and the European Union, as well as on researching specific topics in international law including commercial arbitration, trade, environmental law, global health, and armed conflict.  In addition, it guides researchers to sources for information and materials on U.S. foreign affairs. The International Law Research Guide focuses on resources available to the students, faculty, and staff of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law and links to both free and subscription-based online resources, as well as highlights print resources available in the Ross-Blakley Law Library. 

INTERNATIONAL LAW RESEARCH GUIDES

Guide to International Legal Research (current; Lexis Advance password required)
The Guide to International Legal Research is a comprehensive reference tool for law students and practitioners authored annually by The George Washington International Law Review. The Guide has two parts; in Part I chapters are divided by regions with each chapter providing an overview of the geopolitical climate of the region and a listing of government resources, legal resources, media resources, and resources by topic. Part II of the the Guide covers substantive areas of international law, including general international law, public health law, space law, human rights law, intellectual property, international trade, international business, environmental law, labor law, and international security law. 

International Legal Research in a Nutshell (Marci Hoffman and Robert Berring, 2017)
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It provides background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions. There are extensive links to online resources as well as descriptions of the important print research tools for the field.  The title is also available electronically to ASU Law affiliates via the Law Library's West Academic study aids subscription.

International and Foreign Legal Research: A Coursebook (Marci Hoffman and Mary Rumsey, 2012)
This title, available as an ASU e-book, offers a comprehensive approach to international and foreign legal research. Coverage includes chapters on researching foreign and comparative law as well as major international organizations, including the UN and the EU. 

International Law Legal Research (Anthony S. Winer, Mary Ann E. Archer, & Lyonette Louis-Jacques, 2013)
International Law Legal Research is a print title that provides both background knowledge about public international law and practical advice about how to do research in the subject. Specific topics covered include treaties and conventions, judicial and arbitral decisions, United Nations materials, and customary international law.

Electronic Resources Guide 
The Electronic Resources Guide is published online by the American Society of International Law.  It is continuously updated and expanded, and is designed to be used by students, teachers, practitioners, and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law.

GlobaLex
‚Äč
GlobaLex is a resource from the NYU School of Law that is dedicated to international, comparative, and foreign law research.  The GlobaLex platform provides research guides on international law topics including human rights, nuclear rights, and space law. It is also provides guides to the laws and legal systems of over 160 countries, as well as guides on a number of comparative law topics.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form