The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-2pm on Friday.
Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now!
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (COL) Students
To find additional sources through the ASU Library catalog, try using subject headings such as: International Law and International Law and Human Rights.
Law Among Nations : An Introduction to Public International Law (James Larry Taulbee & Gerhard von Glahn eds., 2022)
This book explains issues of international law by tracing the field's development and stressing key principles, processes, and landmark cases.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (access restricted to Law affiliates)
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is an Oxford Public International Law publication. It has detailed descriptions of hundreds of public international law topics.
Encyclopedia of Private International Law (Basedow et al. eds., 2017)
This is a four-volume encyclopedia containing 247 entries on private international law topics, 80 national reports on the private international law regimes of selected countries, and selected private international law legal instruments, which include national statutes and international conventions.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law (Smits et al. eds., 2023)
This is a three-volume encyclopedia containing over 225 substantive entries on topical aspects of comparative law and country reports on selected jurisdictions.
HeinOnline: Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE) This is an index to resources that compare the laws of multiple countries, organized by subject.
HeinOnline: Foreign and International Law Resources (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This database includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.
HeinOnline: History of International Law (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This collection has content dating back to 1690 on international law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, and Hague Conferences and Conventions.
HeinOnline: World Trials Library (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This collection includes thousands of trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and other trial-related resources.
Kluwer Arbitration (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Kluwer Arbitration provides access to practical tools and a wide variety of content resources, including books and journals, related to international arbitration.
Westlaw Legal Resource Index (Westlaw password required)
This is not a full text database. It is an index of articles in journals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand, and Australia from 1980 to the present. There will be a link to the full text of the article if the article is on Westlaw.
HeinOnline: Law Journal Library (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
The coverage of HeinOnline’s law journal library goes back further than LexisNexis or Westlaw, so it is a good source if you are looking for older articles.
Westlaw International Journals (Westlaw password required)
Coverage varies by resource.
Westlaw - Legal Journals Index (Westlaw password required)
This is not a full-text database. It is an index of articles published in European law journals and articles covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Union and its Member States from 1986 to the present. There will be a link to the full text of the article if the article is on Westlaw.
HeinOnline: International & Non-U.S. Law Journals Library (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This full-text database includes international law journals published in the United States and journals published in other countries.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This is an online index of articles relating to public and private international law and comparative law of countries except the U.S., United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia. It includes articles published from 1985 to the present.
When you are researching an international law issue, you will frequently need to find articles in disciplines other than law. These disciplines include international relations, economics, criminal law, philosophy, etc. The subscription databases described below are available on campus as well as remotely to ASU students, faculty, and staff with ASURITE credentials.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
This is an online index of articles in the fields of international relations, law, government, and other social science disciplines. Users can find articles by searching article titles, authors, descriptors, and abstracts. It includes articles published from 1972 to the present. Although it is not full-text, access to the full text of articles is available by using the “Get it at ASU” buttons.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
This is a searchable database of the full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs. Its coverage is 1991 to the present.
EconLit
This is an online index of journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers on topics such as economic development and international economics. Users can find articles by searching article titles, authors, descriptors, abstracts, and the full text of the article when available. It includes articles published from 1969 to the present. Although it is not full-text, access to the full text of articles is available by using the “Get it at ASU” buttons.
ATLA Religion Database (American Theological Association)
This is an online index of articles on topics such as world religions and the religious perspectives on social issues. Users can find articles by searching article titles, authors, descriptors, and abstracts. It includes articles published from 1949 to the present. Although it is not full-text, access to the full text of articles is available by using the “Get it at ASU” buttons.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This is an online index of articles, books, and reports of government and nongovernmental agencies. Users can find articles by searching article titles, authors, descriptors, and abstracts. It includes articles published from 1968 to the present. Although it is not full-text, access to the full text of articles is available by using the “Get it at ASU” buttons.
JSTOR
This is a full-text database of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Cambridge Journals Online
This is a full-text database of numerous scholarly journals published by Cambridge University Press.
Oxford Journals
This is a full-text database of numerous scholarly journals published by Oxford University Press.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches books and articles in all disciplines. Full text of articles may be accessed using the Get it at ASU links.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Cardiff University publishes this index to abbreviations for legal publications covering international and comparative law. It covers English language and foreign language publications.
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations: A Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students.
This resource assists the legal profession in citing legal authorities according to the rules given in The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (access restricted to Law affiliates)
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is an Oxford Public International Law publication. It has detailed descriptions of hundreds of public international law topics.
International Organizations: A Dictionary (Giuseppe Schiavone, 1997; available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This dictionary presents information about numerous international organizations, arranged alphabetically.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (2009; available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History provides historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems from ancient to modern times.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
In-depth, print treatment of international law terms, including treaties.
Dictionary of International and Comparative Law (James R. Fox, 2003)
Short entries for international law terms, treaties, cases by popular name, NGOs and IGOs, etc.
Historical Dictionary of International Tribunals (Boleslaw Adam Boczek, 1994)
Entries describe present and past judicial bodies, significant judicial and arbitral decisions, notable jurists, and concepts relating to the structure and procedure of international tribunals.
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (Clive Parry & John P. Grant, 2009)
Brief entry terms not found in standard dictionaries and international agreements known by popular name.
World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations (Igor I. Kavass & Mary Miles Prince, current)
This four volume dictionary provides the definitions of common and civil law terms, with translations. Arranged by language group, by country, and by subject. U.N. section in vol. 4.
The Sources of International Law (H. W. A. Thirlway, 2019)
This book looks at the sources of international law, from traditional sources like treaties to soft law norms and the notion of 'general principles of international law'.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations (2009)
This resource, created by by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University School of Law, includes information on the citation system of 45 countries, as well as citation rules for international organizations, tribunals, and treaties.
International Citator and Research Guide: The Greenbook (Nova Southeastern University, 2018)
In six volumes, this reference work explains governmental systems and legal instruments in jurisdictions around the world, with citation rules to particular documents with examples.
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (current)
The Bluebook is the main citation manual for legal materials. Tables 2-5 have information on citing international and foreign sources. Table 2 (Foreign Jurisdictions) of the Bluebook is available online for free.
UCIA: Universal Citation in International Arbitration (Stephen Amway ed., 2018)
This effort to standardize citation for international arbitration includes information on citing to arbitral proceedings as well as related documents, including contracts, court decisions, and foreign domestic legal citations.