The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-2pm on Friday.
Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now!
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (COL) Students
To find additional sources through the ASU Library catalog, try using a subject heading such as: World Health; Public Health – International Cooperation; or Public Health Laws - International.
Global Health Law (2014)
This essential resource is available in print in the law library and online. Its author is public health law expert Lawrence O. Gostin.
Disease Diplomacy: International Norms and Global Health Security (2015)
Written before the Coronavirus pandemic, this online treatise discusses global health security in the midst of the Ebola, SARS, MERS, and H1N1 epidemics.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health (2017)
This online resource is a comprehensive resource for global public health.
WHO Publications
This web page provides access to numerous publications by the World Health Organization.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (access restricted to Law affiliates)
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is an Oxford Public International Law publication. It has detailed descriptions of hundreds of public international law topics.
Bioethics - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
This website, maintained by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), provides bioethics news, publications, and intergovernmental bioethics committee developments
Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
UNAIDS, the joint United Nations program on HIV/AIDS, involves ten United Nations system organizations to focus on the problems, resources and solutions to the HIV/AIDS pandemic.
United Nations Population Fund
The United Nations Population Fund is an international development agency focused in three major areas: migration, women’s empowerment, and population trends. Their stated goal is to promote the right of every woman, man, and child to enjoy a life of health and equal opportunity.
United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Right to Physical and Mental Health
The content on this website includes thematic reports, country reports, international standards on the right to physican and mental health, and comments on legislation and policy.
CDC’s Global Health Page
The Center for Disease Control, an agency of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, works to promote public health in the U.S. and worldwide. Global health issues currently focused on include: AIDS, disease prevention, malaria, measles, polio and influenza.
Health and Human Services Office of International Affairs
This U.S. resource offers information on global health topics and programs, provides health resources organized by region of the world, and lists health-related worldwide news and events.
|
U.S. Global Health Legislation Tracker |
|
U.S. National Institutes of Health John E. Fogarty International Center |
|
U.S. President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief |
|
U.S. President’s Malaria Initiative USAID Global Health Web Site |
Council of Europe - Health Policy
The Council of Europe views basic health protection of people as a basic human right. Major themes for COE include: blood transfusion, health policy development and promotion, transplantation, patients’ role, palliative care and vulnerable groups.
European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control
The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control is a European Union agency established in 2005 and based in Stockholm, Sweden. Their states mission is strengthening Europe's defenses against infectious diseases.
Summaries of European Union Public Health Laws
The EU does not define health policies or provide healthcare, but it works with EU member states to complement their national policies and support cooperation among member states.
|
|
|
|
International Health Regulations, World Health Organization (2005)
The World Health Organization provides a publication of international health regulations searchable by country and by subject.
World Health Organization (WHO)
This website maintained by the World Health Organization (WHO) coordinates authority for health in the United Nations. The WHO leads global health issues, shapes research, and sets health standards on a global scale. The WHO offers data and statistics, publications, and programs and policies.
World Health Organization’s Global Health Observatory Data
This WHO website has health-related statistics for its 194 Member States.
Council on Foreign Relations - Health
The Council on Foreign Relations identifies itself as an independent, non-partisan membership organization, think tank and publisher.
Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria
The Global Fund is an international financing institution that invests money in fighting what they characterize as three of the world’s most devastating diseases: AIDS, tuberculosis, and malaria.
World Intellectual Property Organization - Intellectual Property and Global Health
The World Intellectual Property Organization addresses the connection between intellectual property and the life sciences. Here they have resources on IP and public health. Under IP and life sciences, they connect IP and bioethics.
Pan American Health Organization
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It also serves as a regional office for the World Health Organization.
World Bank - Health, Nutrition and Population
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. The topical or resource areas include “Health, Nutrition & Population.”
World Trade Organization - TRIPS and Public Health
On this site, the World Trade Organization addresses trade-related aspects of intellectual property, including patents and pharmaceuticals and their interrelationship with public health.
WorldWideScience.org
WorldwideScience.org is a gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals. It was developed by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information, part of the U.S. Department of Energy. The search function in WorldWideScience.org allows searching of scientific sources from over 70 countries by translating the user’s search terms and sending the translation to individual databases and portals, with results returned in relevance order that can be translated to the user’s preferred language.
Global Health and Human Rights Database
This website has judgments, international and regional instruments, and national constitutions involving health and human rights. By Lawyers Collective and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University.
Health - Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an independent human rights organization that addresses the intersection between human rights and health in four major areas: disasters and displaced populations, health care access, HIV/TB, and sexual and reproductive health.
Henry J. Kaiser Foundation - Global Health Policy
The Kaiser Foundation’s website on global health policy contains relevant news, key data, reports, and more.
Physicians for Human Rights
Physicians for Human Rights was founded on the idea that health professionals with their specialized skills and ethical obligations are uniquely positioned to investigate the health consequences of human rights violations.