Skip to main content

Law and Science: Sustainability

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Guide Outline
   Scope
   Finding Science Articles
   Ask a Librarian

Health
   Medical Information
   State Legislation
   Subscription Resources
   Data and Statistics
   Books and Reference Resources

Patents
   Free Sources
   Subscription Resources
   Foreign Patents
   News
   Books and Reference Resources

Biotechnology
   Journal Articles
   News
   Books and Reference Resources

Sustainability
   Research Guides
   Research Databases
   Treatises
   Websites   
   News

Blockchain
    Research Databases
    Treatises
    News and Analysis
    Federal and National Resources 
    International Resources

NEWS

Bloomberg Law - Environment & Energy News (Bloomberg password required)
Bloomberg Law News combines news, case law, legal analysis, primary sources, and practice tools in a specific area of law in one site.  Bloomberg also has an Environment & Energy Outlook Report.

Environmental Law Prof Blog
Part of the Law Professor Blogs Network and edited by four law professors, the Environmental Law Prof Blog presents news and analysis on environmental law topics.

Law360 (Lexis password required)
Law360 is the legal news subdivision of LexisNexis and offers news on topics related to sustainability:

RESEARCH GUIDES

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Environmental Law and Sustainability Research Guide
Focused resources for specific fields within sustainability law and policy, such as energy, water law, and land use.

Environmental Information: Research, Access, and Environmental Decisionmaking (Sarah Lamdan, 2017)
This print book, available at the Law Library, is published by the Environmental Law Institute. The title is designed to help legal practitioners and researchers identify and locate environmental records, documents, and data. It provides information on best practices for conducting environmental research and tips on how to obtain information from nontraditional sources like government offices and open meetings.

Environmental Law: A Legal Research Guide (Christopher C. Dykes & Daniel G. Donohue, 2018)
This book available in PDF from HeinOnline on campus or through ASURITE provides a comprehensive overview of locating environmental law resources, from federal state and federal statutes and case law to books and treatises to databases and websites.

RESEARCH DATABASES

Legal research databases (password required for access):

ASU also subscribes to many interdisciplinary databases that contain content related to environmental sustainability.  Below is a select list of databases. You can search for additional resources through the following database subject lists: Sustainability & Environment and Sciences.

ABI/INFORM
Periodicals, dissertations, reports, and data focusing on business include topics related to the environment and energy.

Agricola
Agricola provides access to journal articles and books in the agricultural literature.

Bloomberg Law Environment & Energy Report (Bloomberg Law password required)
Bloomberg gathers opinions, predictions and advice on hot environmental topics.

Environment Complete
Environment Complete contains scholarly content in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

GeoRef
Searchable database features includes uncommon documents including books, dissertations, conference documents, and maps.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a full-text database that provides access to scholarly, government and general-interest titles about sustainability and human impact on the environment. 

Index to Current Urban Documents
Links to municipal documents and web-based materials from throughout the United States include reports on local and regional topics including the environment, energy, and natural resources.

Lexis Energy & Utilities Practice Center
Lexis collects case law, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, news, and legal forms on legal topics concerning and related to energy and the environment.

OECD Library
The OECD Library offers access to studies, periodicals, and statistical annuals produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology
Oxford Bibliographies features scholarship on ecological science and related topics such as environmental justice.

PAIS Index
The PAIS Index collects conventional documents such as books and articles along with uncommon materials such as poems, recipes, fiction, and images in English and other languages.

Science Direct
Collects research publications on life sciences including biology, agricultural science, and environmental science.

Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that contains articles from over eight thousand journals in the sciences and humanities.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database features articles and other media concerning politics internationally, including non-English publications.

TREATISES

Below is a short list of online treatises related to environmental sustainability. You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Sustainable development – Law and Legislation; Sustainable design; and Environmental Law.

Energy, Cities and Sustainability: An Historical Approach (Harry Margalit, 2016)
Studying the historical development of energy strategies in cities in response to the needs of their populations and economies to inform predictions of cities' adjustments to modern sustainability demands.

Fundamentals of Materials for Energy and Environmental Sustainability (David S. Ginley & David Cahen, 2012)
Introducing the issues inherent in the global energy landscape and examining the role of nonrenewable and renewable energy sources in meeting demands. Examining the problems and potential of transportation methods, energy efficiency, and energy storage.

Social Sustainability: Past and Future (Sander van der Leeuw, 2019)
A comprehensive examination of the development of society and the consequences for the environment, and a look ahead at the looming risks of social and environmental crises.

Sustainable Construction Processes: A Resource Text (Steve Goodhew, 2016)
An exploration of how to improve sustainability of building projects, from procurement of materials to building design to the construction activities. Also hints at the future of technology and sustainable building norms.

Untangling Smart Cities (Luca Mora & Mark Deakin, 2019)
This ebook available through the library traces  the history and modern trends of city sustainability in the United States and Europe, with perspectives on social shaping of urban sustainability.

WEBSITES

Congress.gov
Congress.gov has bills, committee reports, and debates, including easy access to energy bills from the current Congress, and those on environmental protection and public lands and natural resources.

International Code Council Model Construction Codes (Westlaw login required)
Westlaw gathers model code provisions on aspects of development such as energy conservation and wildland-urban interface.

International Green Construction Code
The IGCC offers standards for the design and construction industries to foster environmental improvements in development projects.

King County, Washington: Green Building and Land Use Policies and Regulations
A collection of policies; publications; municipal and regional rules; and other resources concerning sustainable development.

National Conference of State Legislatures
NCSL’s web site has databases of energy and environment state legislation, as well as reports on topics such as plastic bag recycling.

National League of Cities: Environment & Sustainability
The NLC provides research and advises cities on topics including air and water quality; buildings and land use; and investments in financially distressed areas.

U.S. Energy Information Administration
The EIA presents energy data and analysis including international and domestic energy forecasts, environmental concerns, and financial matters.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: Energy Resources for State, Local, and Tribal Governments
The EPA provides environmental monitoring resources, data, and educational materials on efficiency, emissions, and renewable energy.

U.S. Government Open Data
U.S. Government Open Data gathers numerical information and reports on environment-related topics such as agriculture, climate, ecosystems, and the oceans.