Skip to main content

Law and Science: Biotechnology

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Guide Outline
   Scope
   Finding Science Articles
   Ask a Librarian

Health
   Medical Information
   State Legislation
   Subscription Resources
   Data and Statistics
   Books and Reference Resources

Patents
   Free Sources
   Subscription Resources
   Foreign Patents
   News
   Books and Reference Resources

Biotechnology
   Journal Articles
   News
   Books and Reference Resources

Sustainability
   Research Guides
   Research Databases
   Treatises
   Websites   
   News

Blockchain
    Research Databases
    Treatises
    News and Analysis
    Federal and National Resources 
    International Resources

BOOKS AND REFERENCE RESOURCES

Below is a short list of treatises in the ASU libraries’ collection related to biotechnology.  You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: BiotechnologyBioethics – United StatesGenetically modified foods - laws and legislation; and Transgenic plants.

Intellectual Property and Genetically Modified Organisms: A Convergence in Laws (2015)
This work addresses global issues arising from debates over intellectual property and genetically modified organisms.

Genomics and Environmental Regulation: Science, Ethics, and Law (2008)
Genomics and Environmental Regulation explores how discoveries within the field of genomics and toxicology are affecting regulatory agendas across the globe.  The book addresses the legal framework for these discoveries, as well policy applications, and bioethical and philosophical concerns.

Intellectual Property Management in Health and Agricultural Innovation: A Handbook of Best Practices (2007)
This resource provides guidance on best practices for utilizing intellectual property law and public domain principles in regard to technological innovations in the fields of health and agriculture. Some of the Handbook’s content is available online at http://www.iphandbook.org/.

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Biological Sciences  
Articles, reports, books, and proceedings on topics such as bioengineering, biotechnology, human genome research, and neurosciences.

BioMed Central
Articles from over 250 open-access biomedical, medicine, health, and biotechnology related online journals.

ScienceDirect  
ScienceDirect provides access to articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.

Web of Science
Articles in arts and humanities, scientific and technical, and social science journals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

NEWS

FREE RESOURCES

BIOtechNOW Blog 
The BIOtechNOW Blog is a resource of the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO). BIO is a world-wide trade association representing biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and related organizations. The blog publishes articles and opinion pieces on a variety of topics related to biotechnology.

Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News
Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News (GEN) publishes articles and editorial pieces on five key topics: drug discovery, bioprocessing, the study of genes and their function (OMICS), translational medicine, and gene editing.

SUBSCRIPTIONS RESOURCES

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

  • ABA’s Biotechnology and the Law - this title, written for practicing lawyers, is designed to help identify the legal issues and processes that must be faced in building, marketing, and protecting a biotech business. 
  • Pharmaceutical Patent Law - this book provides the legal, scientific, and technical information needed to help obtain, defend, and challenge patents in the pharmaceutical and biotech industries. 

Lexis (Lexis password required)

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

  • Biotech Business - Biotech Business provides detailed information on biotechnology products and companies. It reports which universities offer licensing of biotechnology research, which companies have entered licensing agreements, as well as the financial health of biotechnology companies and their expected growth or decline.
  • Biotech News Daily - Biotech News Daily offers the latest news from the biotech & pharmaceutical industries, including financial & legal issues, FDA applications & approvals, new product releases, appointments, mergers & acquisitions, partnerships, collaborations & industry news.
  • Biotechnology and the Law - this e-book provides comprehensive information to help legal practitioners understand the use issues involved in patenting biotechnological inventions.