Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Science

This guide brings together in one place many scientific and legal resources available to ASU students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals.

Treatises and Reference Works

Below is a short list of books available in the ASU Library collection related to neuroscience and law. You can search for other books in the library catalog by using these subject headings: Neurosciences and Law--Psychological Aspects.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists in the United States. This resource is available as an ASU e-book.

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (edited by Marc D Binder; Nobutaka Hirokawa; and Uwe Windhorst, 2009)
This online resource offers detailed information on a wide variety of topics in neuroscience, including physiology, diseases, and function.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law (Brian L. Cutler, 2009)
The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law, available as an ASU e-book, is a two-volume set that contains entries which address the interface of psychology and law.

Forensic Psychiatry: A Lawyer’s Guide (Vivian Shnaidman, 2016)
This ebook provides legal professionals the tools to identify mentally ill clients and help them navigate through the psychiatric information and language in reports and testimony. Topics include why a forensic psychiatrist is necessary, applications of psychiatry to law, various psychiatric disorders, and utilizing the expert witness.

Neuroscience (Firenze Univeristy Press, 2017)
This open-access textbook began in 1972 and had continued to receive periodic updates. Covering a wide range of neuroscience topics, this resource is an excellent starting point for learning about neuroscience topics.  In addition to the book, there is a searchable website created by Firenze Press.

Regulating Neuroscience: Translational Legal Challenges (Martin Hevia, 2021 - Science Direct eBook)
This Elsevier Science eBook focuses on the new and fascinating ethical and legal challenges posed by neurotechnology and its global regulation.

Responsible Brains: Neuroscience, Law, and Human Culpability (William Herstein et al., 2018)
This book examines the heart of the important criminal law doctrine of mens rea, or guilty mind, charting the connections between human neurology and responsibility, and how mental states legally considered to be insanity may lessen or excuse culpability.

Databases

The databases listed below are available on campus or remotely with ASURITE credentials.

Biological Sciences
Biological Sciences provides access to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books covering the biological sciences.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

Medline (Proquest)
Medline is the premier bibliography in biomedicine and the life sciences, compiled by The National Library of Medicine.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine and law.

Science Direct
Science Direct is a database of scientific journal articles and book chapters.

News and Current Awareness

Law and Neuroscience eJournal
The Law and Neuroscience eJournal is jointly published by the Indiana University Maurer School of Law and the UCLA School of Law. This journal contains review articles and original papers that examine legal issues related to neuroscience research.

Neuroethics: News and Analysis on the Implications of Brain Science
The Neuroethics website is funded by the Dana Foundation and aggregates neuroscience-related articles from a wide variety of periodical sources. This website primarily focuses on articles that describe current ethical issues as brain research progresses.

Neuroethics and Law Blog
The Neuroethics and Law Blog contains a legal analysis of current events that present ethical issues in neuroscience. The majority of the content is presented by law professors, although guest authors are invited to post within their area of expertise as well.

Trends in Neurosciences 
For over four decades, Trends in Neurosciences (TINS) has been a source of reviews and commentaries across all disciplines of neuroscience. TINS is a monthly, peer-reviewed journal, and its articles are curated by the Editor and authored by leading researchers in their respective fields.  Also available for searching in Westlaw (Westlaw password required).