Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Science

This guide brings together in one place many scientific and legal resources available to ASU students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals.

Ask a Law Librarian

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-2pm on Friday.

Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (COL) Students

  • Make an Appointment with a Law Librarian: COL students can make an individual appointment with a law librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form. Appointments are available in-person, by phone, or via Zoom.
  • Group Research Training with a Law Librarian: This is an opportunity for groups of three or more COL students to receive personalized research training on any legal research topic. The Law Library’s expert reference librarians will meet with your group and provide instruction and training to meet your research needs. Group trainings can be held in-person or via Zoom.
  • Chat with a Law Librarian: COL students can connect with a law librarian via LibChat during reference hours

Scope

The purpose of the Law and Science Research Guide is to provide a starting point to subject materials that support the curriculum of the ASU College of Law. This guide brings together in one place many scientific and legal resources available to ASU students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals. The guide also highlights authoritative websites devoted to the intersection of law and science.

Finding Science Articles

FREE RESOURCES
Google Scholar
Allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

Science.gov
Science.gov is a search engine for authoritative U.S. government science information. The website searches over 50 scientific databases and an index of over 2,100 federal agency websites, with content consisting of scientific or technical data, publications, databases, and documentation. The databases and websites searched have been selected by information managers and librarians from 17 government science organizations and 13 federal agencies.

SUBSCRIPTION RESOURCES
Access to these databases is available on campus and remotely with your ASURITE.

Agricola 
Journal articles and books in agricultural and related sciences.

Biological Sciences 
Articles, reports, books, and proceedings on topics such as bioengineering, biotechnology, human genome research, and neurosciences.

BioMed Central
Articles within over 250 open-access biomedical, medicine, health, and biotechnology related online journals.

BioOne
Articles from bioscience journals published by scholarly societies.

Environment Complete 
Articles on topics such as ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, pollution, environmental law, and urban planning.

Medline 
Articles on medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.

PsycINFO  
Journal articles and books in psychology and related disciplines.

ScienceDirect 
Articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.