Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Science

This guide brings together in one place many scientific and legal resources available to ASU students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals.

Databases

Law-Specific

LawSeq – Mapping & Shaping the Law of Genomics
Based cooperatively at the University of Minnesota and Vanderbilt University Medical Center, the LawSeqSM project has convened a national Working Group of top legal and scientific experts to compile, collect, and analyze current US federal and state law and regulation on translational genomics. This website includes searchable databases of relevant federal and state law and secondary sources to provide an initial portal into the state of genomics law.

Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences 
Articles, reports, books, and proceedings on topics such as bioengineering, biotechnology, human genome research, and neurosciences.

BioMed Central
Articles from over 250 open-access biomedical, medicine, health, and biotechnology-related online journals.

‚ÄčEncyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)
A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

PudMed Central
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. It provides a full-text collection of biomedical, medicine, health, biotechnology-related online journals.

ScienceDirect  
ScienceDirect provides access to articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.

Web Resources & Current Awareness

Lexis (Lexis password required)
Law360: Life Sciences - life science news articles from Law360.com.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
Forensic DNA Evidence: Science and the Law (The Rutter Group, Criminal Practice Series, California)
This easy-to-use deskbook helps law enforcement, prosecutors, defense attorneys, legal educators, and the judiciary keep pace and maintain an appropriate level of scientific literacy in an era of rapidly evolving forensic science technology.

GenomeWeb
GenomeWeb is an independent online news organization based in New York. Since 1997, GenomeWeb has served the global community of scientists, technology professionals, and executives who use and develop the latest advanced tools in molecular biology research and molecular diagnostics.

Medical News Today – Genetics News
Medical News Today is a subsidiary of Healthline Media UK that compiles in-depth health content and the latest news in medical research from a myriad of sources – frequently summarizing content so that it is accessible to the average reader.

Genetics Home Reference by the US National Library of Medicine
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health and summary-form information about genetics for someone with little training in the field.

Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News
Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News (GEN) publishes articles and editorial pieces on five key topics: drug discovery, bioprocessing, the study of genes and their function (OMICS), translational medicine, and gene editing.

DNA Today
DNA Today is a bi-weekly podcast for educating the public on genetic and public health topics through event coverage, news stories, book/movie reviews, and interviews.  You can stream it directly from the website or find it in most podcast apps.

Books

Below is a short list of print and online treatises related to genetics. You can search for other resources in the ASU Library catalog using subject headings such as Genetics and Genome.  Note that on the right side of the screen, you can limit to “full text online” or “law library.”

Big Data Analytics in Genomics (Ka-Chun Wong, 2016)
This ProQuest ebook explores the emerging intersection between big data analytics and genomics. Recent sequencing technologies have enabled high-throughput sequencing data generation for genomics resulting in several international projects which have led to massive genomic data accumulation at an unprecedented pace.

Bioethics and the Law in a Nutshell (Johnson, Schwartz, Gatter, and Pendo, 2016)
Available in eBook form through West Academic.  This book provides a concise analysis of areas in which the law has addressed issues in bioethics. Topics include assisted reproductive techniques and family-making, limitations on reproduction (including abortion, contraception and sterilization), the role of ethical and religious beliefs of health care professionals, the definition of death, end-of-life decision-making (including physician-assisted death), genetics, research involving human subjects (including issues related to conflicts of interest), stem cell research, organ transplantation, and other emerging topics.

Principles of Genetics 7th Edition (Eldon J. Gardner, 2015)
Principles of Genetics is one of the most popular textbooks in use for introductory genetics courses. It opens a window on the rapidly advancing science of genetics by showing exactly how genetics is done. This text offers clear, comprehensive, and unique coverage of genetics, with an emphasis on applications, written primarily for students.