The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-2pm on Friday.
Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now!
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (COL) Students
Bloomberg Law In Focus: Artificial Intelligence (AI) (Bloomberg Law password required)
Artificial intelligence (AI) has existed for decades, but its more recently developed capabilities have begun to spur laws and guidance aimed at curbing potential harms. Affected practice areas include privacy, employment, health, IP, finance, securities, and the legal profession itself.
Lexis+ Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) Resource Kit (Lexis+ password required)
This resource kit provides an overview of current practical guidance on generative artificial intelligence (AI), ChatGPT, and similar tools. It is organized by practice area and will be updated with new developments regularly.
Westlaw Artificial Intelligence Toolkit (Westlaw password required)
This toolkit provides resources designed to help organizations and their counsel identify issues concerning AI.
AI Litigation Database
This database, from the George Washington University Law School, presents information about ongoing and completed litigation involving artificial intelligence, including machine learning. It covers cases from complaint forward, whether or not they generate published decisions.
ABI/INFORM (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
ABI/INFORM has articles and reports from thousands of English-language publications covering business and management.
Academic Search Ultimate (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
A multidisciplinary periodical index that provides access to popular press magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals from nearly every academic discipline.
Google Scholar
Allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web. Many results are open source.
PAIS Index (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
​PAIS Index is a searchable database of articles dealing with public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
ScienceDirect (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.
Scopus (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
Artificial Intelligence and Law
A scholarly journal published 4 times a year addressing scientific advancement of AI as well as its legal, ethical, and social considerations.
Artificial Intelligence: Law, Policy & Ethics eJournal
This eJournal, sponsored by Vanderbilt Law School's Program on Law & Innovation, contains review articles and original papers that examine legal issues related to application of AI technologies as well as issues that will arise as AI is increasingly deployed throughout society.
Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research
An open-access journal with refereed research articles and survey articles on scientific and technical aspects of AI development.
Law360: Technology (available on campus or remotely with Lexis+ password)
The latest technology news brought to you from the editors of Law360.
Recommended
Stanford University HAI Project
The Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (HAI) project at Stanford University is an effort to bridge the "explainability gap" with artificial intelligence by monitoring global trends and summarizing information. It produces the AI Index Report, which measures trends in artificial intelligence. It also contains News, which features blog posts and other announcements.
Sharon D. Nelson & John W. Simek, The ABA Tackles Artificial Intelligence and Ethics, 46 Law Prac. 26 (2020)
The American Bar Association's Resolution 112 urges courts and lawyers to address the ethical and legal issues related to AI. This article from the ABA's Law Practice Magazine explains how lawyers can interpret this rule and put the resolution into action.
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics
A list, curated by the American Bar Association, of articles featuring artificial intelligence and robotics in the ABA Journal.
Artificial Intelligence Law Advisor
AI Law Advisor is a blog curated by Davis, Wright, Tremaine, LLP that covers news and current issues with AI law.
Artificial Intelligence Technology and the Law Blog
A blog by attorney Brian Higgins that examines the regulation of AI in the U.S. and internationally, and tracks advances in the technology.
Inside Tech Law: Artificial Intelligence
A blog by Norton Rose Fulbright that focuses on the more granular ethical and related legal risks that need to be managed by a business developing or using AI in whatever industry sector it occupies.
LawSites
A long-running blog by Robert Ambrogi covering legal technology and innovation.
Law Technology Now
Law Technology Now explores the latest in legal technology and innovation. Key players in the legal technology community join the hosts to highlight the top trends and developments in the legal world. Tune in to hear conversations about innovative ways to improve the practice of law, providing greater access to justice, and making legal services more affordable.
ASU Library One Search
To see a complete list of materials available in the library related to artificial intelligence, search the catalog for SUBJECT: Artificial Intelligence or SUBJECT: Engineering & Applied Sciences.
Artificial Intelligence: A Very Short Introduction (Margaret A. Boden, 2018)
This book explains the history, theory, potential, application, and limitations of artificial intelligence.
Human Compatible: Artificial Intelligence and the Problem of Control (Stuart Russell, 2019)
Distinguished AI researcher Stuart Russell begins by exploring the idea of intelligence in humans and in machines. He describes the near-term benefits we can expect, from intelligent personal assistants to vastly accelerated scientific research, and outlines the AI breakthroughs that still have to happen before we reach superhuman AI. He also spells out the ways humans are already finding to misuse AI, from lethal autonomous weapons to viral sabotage.
Recommended
The Law of Artificial Intelligence and Smart Machines (Theodore F. Claypoole ed., 2019)
This ABA publication provides an in-depth examination of how artificial intelligence has evolved, how it will affect the legal profession, and how the law will be reformed to meet the new realities created by AI.
Robot Rules: Regulating Artificial Intelligence (Jacob Turner, 2019)
This book explains why AI is unique, what legal and ethical problems it could cause, and how we can address them. It argues that AI is unlike any other previous technology, owing to its ability to take decisions independently and unpredictably. This gives rise to three issues: responsibility--who is liable if AI causes harm; rights--the disputed moral and pragmatic grounds for granting AI legal personality; and, the ethics surrounding the decision-making of AI.
Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies (Nick Bostrom, 2014)
A highly influential book exploring how superintelligence could be created and what its features and motivations might be. It argues that superintelligence, if created, would be difficult to control, and that it could take over the world in order to accomplish its goals. It also presents strategies to help make superintelligences whose goals benefit humanity.
Tomorrow's Lawyers, Third Edition (Richard Suskind, 2023)
This book predicts fundamental and irreversible changes in the legal world and offers essential practical advice for those who intend to build careers and businesses in law. A definitive guide to the future for aspiring lawyers, and all who want to modernize today's legal and justice systems.
When Machines Can Be Judge, Jury, and Executioner: Justice in the Age of Artificial Intelligence (Katherine B. Forrest, 2021)
Written by a former federal judge who lectures widely and frequently on AI and the justice system, this book is the first comprehensive presentation of the theoretical framework of AI tools in the criminal justice system and lethal autonomous weapons utilized in decision-making. The book then provides a comprehensive explanation as to why, tracing the evolution of the debate regarding racial and other biases embedded in such tools.