You can search for online and print treatises ASU Library catalog by using subject headings such as antitrust and unfair competition. You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.
Fundamentals of Antitrust Law (Phillip E. Areeda & Herbert Hovenkamp, 2022) (available on campus or through ASURITE)
This single volume treatise offers coverage of the topics most addressed in the antitrust field. Supplements keep readers informed of the latest developments in the law, and it includes a discussion of antitrust law’s scope and remedies, the economic realities that create a need for antitrust efforts, and specific legal maneuvers that give rise to antitrust questions, such as monopolization, corporate mergers, and conspiracies to fix prices.
State Antitrust Practice and Statutes (Rocky C. Tsai & Kathleen W. Bradish, eds., 5th ed. 2014)
This three-volume treatise, published by the American Bar Association, summarizes the substantive civil and criminal case law, procedure, practice, and statutes for each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics (Donald Rutherford, 3d ed. 2013)
This dictionary provides definitions of financial and economic terms relevant to antitrust law. The full text is available online through ProQuest Ebook Central (ASURITE required).
Restatement (Third) of Unfair Competition (American Law Institute 1995)
The Restatement (Third) of Unfair Competition covers both common law principles and statutory rules governing unfair competition. The publication provides general rules and limitations, comments illustrating the rules, and references to the West Key Number System and ALR Annotations. It is available on Westlaw (Westlaw password required) and Lexis (Lexis password required).
Relevant Corporate Practice Portfolios (Bloomberg Law)
Bloomberg Law provides a number of Corporate Practice Portfolios related to antitrust law (Bloomberg password required). A description of each follows:
Concise Hornbook: Principles of Antitrust (Herbert Hovenkamp, 2021)
Provides the economic background necessary to grasp antitrust law and details issues such as collusion, monopoly, mergers of competitors, and public and private enforcement of unfair business practices. Also available on West Academic (password required).
Examples & Explanations: Antitrust (Christopher L. Sagers, 2021)
Explains the key economic principles of competitiveness and efficiency before delving into the law behind unfair competition, including price discrimination, conspiracies, and monopolies. Also available on Aspen Learning Library (password requried).
Federal Antitrust Policy: The Law of Competition and Its Practice (Herbert Hovenkamp, 2020)
This hornbook provides an overview of black-letter federal antitrust law, including recent federal court decisions. It also highlights various antitrust policy considerations. It is available in the West Academic Study Aids Collection (ASU registration and password required).
Journal of Antitrust Enforcement
This journal is a publication of Oxford Academic and provides scholarship on domestic and international antitrust enforcement.
Antitrust Law Journal
This journal is run by the American Bar Association and publishes articles, comments, and essays on current antitrust issues. (Westlaw password required.)
Antitrust Magazine Online
This bimonthly ABA magazine provides information on antitrust and consumer protection law. It is sent to all members of the ABA Antitrust Section. Note: This magazine was previously called Antitrust Source. (Westlaw password required.)
Legislative history refers to the process that a piece of proposed legislation goes through before it becomes law and consists of the documents created during that process. Legislative history research is often conducted to investigate why Congress passed a particular law or to assist scholars, lawyers, and judges in interpreting a law. Legislative history documents are not law but can be helpful in determining the purpose of statutes. The resources detailed in this guide are focused specifically on tax law.
For detailed instructions on conducting legislative-history research generally, see the following legislative history research guides:
HeinOnline (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
Legislative histories detailing various antitrust enforcement actions can be found on HeinOnline.
ProQuest Congressional (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This online database provides access to federal legislative materials. It also offers finding aids and a bill tracking service.
ProQuest Legislative Insight (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This online federal legislative history database provides compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the lawmaking process. Documents available include the full text of public laws, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. The database also includes presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and congressional publications that provide background information.