ASU Library One Search
To see a complete list of materials available in the library related to water law, search the catalog for SUBJECT: Water -- Law and Legislation, SUBJECT: Water Rights, or SUBJECT: Water-Supply.
Concepts and Insights: Water Law (Robin Kundis Craig, Robert W. Adler, and Noah D. Hall, 2017)
This study aid provides a general overview of basic water-law doctrines and an exploration of how water law and policies governing the allocation of water fit into broader ecological and environmental law issues. Also available as an eBook on West Academic (available on campus or with an ASU West Academic account).
Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law: Water Law (Joseph W. Dellapenna and Joyeeta Gupta, eds., 2021)
This collection is a volume in a landmark collaboration of distinguished scholars from a range of academic institutions. It discusses legal and policy matters pertaining to water management, including water politics, water security, property boundaries, international water law, and Indigenous water rights. It expands beyond traditional environmental law topics to include discussions of water's role in energy production and water's role in natural disasters.
Law of Water Rights and Resources (Anthony Dan Tarlock and Jason Anthony Robinson, 2023, Westlaw password required)
This annually updated treatise published by Westlaw provides an overview of important water-law concepts and discusses recent cases and ongoing developments in the field.
Water Law in a Nutshell (Sandra B. Zellmer and Adell L. Amos, 2021)
This study aide introduces the central legal doctrines involved in distributing water resources, including the Western prior appropriation system of "first in time, first in right," groundwater management systems, and legal issues involving Indian reservations and interstate resources. Also available as an eBook (available on campus or with a West Academic account).
Waters and Water Rights (Amy K. Kelley and Jesse J. Richardson, Jr., eds., 2024, Lexis password required)
This treatise published by LexisNexis/Matthew Bender covers riparian rights, prior appropriation, groundwater law, the public right to use water in place, Federal and Indian rights, interstate water allocation, international waters and environmental controls.
Harvard Environmental Law Review
The Harvard Environmental Law Review seeks to publish scholarship that significantly advances the field of environmental law. Its publications include articles about water law and policy. Some content is available through the journal's website. The journal is also available through HeinOnline's Law Journal Library Database and through EBSCOhost (both available on campus or with ASURITE).
Journal of Environmental Law
This journal, published by Oxford University Press, publishes articles on environmental law in many jurisdictions, including laws related to water and water rights. It is available online though Oxford Academic Journals, EBSCOhost, and HeinOnline's Law Journal Library Database (all available on campus or with ASURITE).
University of Denver Water Law Review
The University of Denver Water Law Review is an internationally circulated, semi-annual journal that publishes up-to-date articles on developing water law issues as well as biographies of water practitioners, book notes, conference reports, and coverage of water cases from all U.S. federal and state courts. Some content is available through the journal's website. Issues are also available through HeinOnline's Law Journal Library Database and EBSCOhost (both available on campus or with ASURITE).
Water International
Water International is the official journal of the International Water Resources Association, and articles focus on sustainability and management of water resources around the world. It is available through Taylor & Francis Online (available on campus or with ASURITE).
Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Water
This journal comprehensively covers water-related issues. Search within the topics Water Governance and Rights to Water to find scholarly articles and reference works about water law. Available through EBSCOhost and Wiley Online (both available on campus or with ASURITE).
ASU Library One Search
To see a complete list of materials available in the library related to water law, search the catalog for SUBJECT: Water -- Law and Legislation, SUBJECT: Water Rights, or SUBJECT: Water-Supply.
All the Water the Law Allows: Las Vegas and Colorado River Politics (Christian S. Harrison, 2021)
In this political and legal history of the Las Vegas water supply, Harrison focuses on the creation and actions of the Southern Nevada Water Authority to tell a story with profound implications and important lessons for water politics and natural resource policy in the twenty-first century.
Cornerstone at the Confluence: Navigating the Colorado River Compact’s Next Century (Jason A. Robinson, ed., 2022)
This book explores the Colorado River Compact's 100-year history and examines its future amid a twenty-two-year megadrought and ongoing negotiations over new water management rules that must be completed by 2026. Available through ProjectMUSE (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Diverting the Gila: The Pima Indians and the Florence-Casa Grande Project, 1916-1928 (David H. DeJong, 2021)
This book explores how the water from Arizona's Gila River was divided and diverted among residents of Florence, Casa Grande, and the Pima Indians in the early part of the twentieth century. Also available through ProjectMUSE and ProQuest EBook Central (both available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Indian Water in the New West (Thomas R. McGuire et al., 2019)
Brings together the views of engineers, lawyers, ecologists, economists, professional mediators, federal officials, an anthropologist, and a Native American tribal leader to discuss how the legitimate claims of both Indians and non-Indians to scarce water in the West are being settled. Also available through ProjectMUSE (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
The Law of the Colorado River: A Legal Research Guide (Tobe Liebert, 2022)
Presents an in-depth analysis of the interstate compacts, treaties, federal acts, court decisions, and administrative directives that collectively determine how the water of the Colorado River is used and allocated. Also available through HeinOnline (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Water and Agriculture in Colorado and the American West: First in Line for the Rio Grande (David Stiller, 2021)
This book chronicles drought and water shortages throughout the rapidly growing American West, where long-established agricultural water rights play an increasingly critical role in attempts to satisfy agricultural and urban needs in the region. Available on ProjectMUSE (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Water Rights in the United States: A Guide through the Maze (Charles Porter, 2023)
Provides a state-by-state analysis of water ownership, regulatory agencies, and water polices. Explains the complicated relationships between state water policies and provides an analysis of federal water polices.
Western Legal History: Water (Hon. Michael Daly Hawkins, Editor-in-Chief, 2023)
This volume of Western Legal History--a publication of the Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society--contains essays written by legal experts about all things related to Western water, including the historical development of water doctrines and the vocabulary used to describe water rights. Also available on HeinOnline (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Western Water Rights and the U.S. Supreme Court (James H. Davenport, 2020)
This book traces the development of water law in the Western United States, providing the historical context for the development of legal principles such as prior appropriation. It explores decisions, especially cases involving disputes between states over waterways that cross jurisdictional boundaries.
Economical, Political, and Social Issues in Water Resources (Omid Bozorg-Haddad, 2021)
This collection introduces key concepts in water resource management, including domestic and international governance, water economics, and health. Available on Elsevier ScienceDirect (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Fresh Water in International Law (Laurence Boisson de Chazournes, 2021)
Water disputes are greatly magnified in a global perspective, as waterways may be shared by as many as seventeen countries. In addition to the challenge of disputed uses, the book identifies threats such as climate change and overexploitation by modern society as threats to water security in areas around the globe. Also available on Oxford Academic (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Just Add Water: Solving the World's Problems Using Its Most Precious Resource (Rhett Larson, 2020)
This book demonstrates the nexus between water security and a host of legal and sustainability challenges, including climate change, inequality, war, public health, and human migration. Also available on Oxford Academic (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Nature-Based Solutions and Water Security: An Action Agenda for the 21st Century (Jan Cassin et al., 2021)
This book examines the state of the law and science behind a new approach to water insecurity -- rethinking infrastructure to accommodate natural ecosystems. While the new paradigm carries promise, the costs and extended time to realize benefits present obstacles for politicians interested in implementing changes. Available on Elsevier ScienceDirect (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
New Perspectives on Transboundary Water Governance (Luis Paulo Batista da Silva et al., eds., 2024)
This book presents a novel examination of transboundary water governance, drawing on global case studies and applying new theoretical approaches. Available on Taylor & Francis eBooks (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Reflections: Understanding Our Use and Abuse of Water (Mark Zeitoun, 2023)
This book draws on the author's experience teaching about complex water issues, and attempts to replace widely held myths with new concepts from around the globe. He brings attention to the dissonance between how we view and feel about water and what we do with it, calling upon readers to develop an informed ethos of water that reflects its restorative nature. Available on Oxford Academic (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
A Research Agenda for Water Law (Vanessa Casado Perez and Rhett Larson, eds., 2023)
This timely Research Agenda provides imaginative solutions to existing and emerging challenges for the study, application, and development of water law. It argues for a dynamic approach to water law, anticipating how water and its relationship to humanity will shift due to climate change, modern societal norms and values, and technological innovation.
The Role of Law in Transboundary River Basin Disputes: Cooperation and Peaceful Settlement (Chukwuebuka Edum, 2024)
Building on the interactional theory of law, this book formulates three analytical frameworks--the effect of norm-generating processes, the effects of water-related agreements and/or arrangements in the basins, and the effect of international water--and uses these frameworks to assess the role of law in the settlement of disputes on transboundary river basins. Available on Taylor & Francis eBooks (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE).
Transboundary Water Disputes: State Conflict and the Assessment of Their Adjudication (Itzchak E. Kornfield, 2019)
This study analyzes the history and adjudication of transboundary water disputes in international courts and tribunals as well as boundary water disputes between the United States and its neighbors. Explaining the circumstances and outcomes of these cases, the author examines whether the courts and tribunals have adjudicated them effectively.
Water: A Biography (Giulio Boccaletti, 2021)
Water: A Biography shows how irrigation's structure informed social structure (inventions such as the calendar sprung from agricultural necessity); how in ancient Greece, the communal ownership of wells laid the groundwork for democracy; how the Greek and Roman experiences with water security resulted in systems of taxation; and how the modern world as we know it began with a legal framework for the development of water infrastructure.