Skip to main content

Immigration Law: Secondary Sources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Ask A Librarian

Primary Sources
     Statutes
     Regulations
     Cases
     Legislative History
     Westlaw and Lexis

Secondary Sources
     Treatises and Reference Works
     Journals

Federal Agencies
    Agency Materials
    Administrative Rulings
    Immigration Statistics
    Other Federal Government Resources

News and Current Awareness
     News Sources
     Immigration Law Blogs 

Immigration Organizations

TREATISES AND REFERENCE WORKS

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Immigration Outline 
The Immigration Outline has been prepared by Staff Attorneys of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and provides guidance to attorneys.  It includes the following parts:  Jurisdiction, Standards of Review, Relief from Removal (e.g. Asylum, Cancellation of Removal, Adjustment Status), Motions to Reopen or Reconsider, Criminal Issues, Due Process, and Attorney Fees.

Bender's Immigration and Nationality Act Service
This treatise provides comprehensive coverage of the Immigration and Nationality Act, the main statute governing U.S. immigration law. It covers all aspects of the act, including definitions, the immigration selection system, qualifications for admission of aliens, issuance of entry documents, penalty provisions, loss of nationality, refugee assistance, and alien terrorist removal procedures. This title is also available on Lexis (Lexis password required).

Immigration Law and Procedure
A comprehensive 21-volume publication that is often referred to as the authoritative treatise on immigration law. It covers all aspects of immigration law and provides essential primary source materials, plus a detailed index, table of cases, and table of statutes, rules, and regulations. This title is also available on Lexis (Lexis password required).

Essentials of Immigration Law
This title offers a broad survey of immigration law, covering the passage of the first immigration-related statute to the current state of affairs. Topics addressed include citizenship and naturalization, deportation and removal, waivers, asylum, criminal violations, family-based immigration, employment-based immigration, and administrative/judicial review. 

Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell
This nutshell is a compact explanation of immigration law. It begins with an overview of the history of U.S. immigration law and policy and covers the source and scope of the federal power to regulate immigration, the administrative structure of immigration law, and the Congressional role in the immigration process. It also addresses immigrants, nonimmigrant visitors and temporary workers, nonimmigrant students, and grounds for inadmissibility and removal. This title is also available on West Academic (on campus access).

Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool
Kurzban’s Sourcebook is an excellent quick-reference publication written for practitioners and students, with multiple tables of authorities that direct the reader to federal and administrative cases, regulations and statues, and INS, DOS, and DOL rulings on significant issues related to immigration law. It is designed to provide a condensed reference source to all major areas of immigration and nationality law.

Fragomen on Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice
Fragomen's provides in-depth coverage of bedrock immigration legislation, current USCIS rules and programs, and foundational court decisions.

U.S. Immigration Made Easy
This NOLO Press book is written for individuals seeking to answer legal questions related to immigration themselves. The title offers detailed descriptions of the various immigration application options and provides guidance on the application process for a visa, green card, or other immigration status.

What Every Lawyer Needs to Know about Immigration Law
This American Bar Association publication provides guidance for legal practitioners on issues they may encounter when representing clients with immigration-related issues. 

To find other treatises in the ASU libraries’ collection related to immigration law, you can search for resources in the ASU catalog.

JOURNALS

Georgetown Immigration Law Journal
The Georgetown Immigration Law Journal, published quarterly since 1985, is a specialized law review that focuses exclusively on issues relating to immigration law. Each issue includes articles by scholars and legal practitioners, student notes and comments, and a section reviewing current legislative, executive, and judicial developments in immigration. Full-text access to the journal is available on Westlaw (Westlaw password required), Lexis (Lexis password required), and HeinOnline (available on campus and remotely with ASURITE).

International Journal of Refugee Law
The International Journal of Refugee Law publishes original articles on the protection of refugees and other displaced persons in international law. It also includes case law, book reviews, and annotated bibliographies of reports and other publications.  Full-text access to the journal is available on Lexis (Lexis password required) and HeinOnline (available on campus and remotely with ASURITE).

Immigration and Nationality Law Review
The Immigration and Nationality Law Review, published by hte University of Cincinnati College of Law, publishes scholarship on issues of immigration and nationality including original articles, student casenotes, comments, and book reviews. Full-text access to the journal is available on HeinOnline (available on campus and remotely with ASURITE).