Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free and Low-Cost Legal Research: Arizona Resources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Research Tips
     Ask a Librarian

Arizona Resources
     Statutes, Court Rules, and Constitution
     Cases
     Regulations
     Arizona Law Libraries

Resources for Other States
     Statutes
     Cases
     Regulations

Federal Resources
     Statutes and Constitution
     Cases
     Court Rules
     Regulations
     Congressional Documents

Low-Cost Legal Databases
     PACER
     Fastcase 
     Casemaker
     Casetext
     Ravel Law
     Versus Law

STATUTES, COURT RULES, AND CONSTITUTION

Ross-Blakley Law Library: Arizona Legislature Research Guide
This research guide provides information on accessing Arizona statutes, as well as information on state sessions laws, proposed legislation, and how to track Arizona bills.  The guide details both free and subscription resources.

Arizona Statutes
The website of the Arizona State Legislature provides free access to the current unannotated version of the Arizona Revised Statutes. The statutes are searchable and browsable by title and section.

Arizona Court Rules Forum
The Arizona Court Rules Forum of the Arizona Supreme Court links users to a list of current Arizona court rules.  Also included are lists of pending rule changes.

Arizona Court Rules
This free Westlaw resource provides access to the Arizona Court Rules.  The sections contain some historical notes but no case annotations.

Arizona Constitution
The online Arizona Constitution is provided by the Arizona Legislature.  The Constitution is searchable by entering phrases in the search box provided. It is also browsable by article and section.

CASES

Arizona Supreme Court
The Arizona Judicial Branch website provides free access to Arizona Supreme Court opinions and memorandum decisions (1998-present).  The website also offers an electronic notification system for newly released opinions.

Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One 
The website of the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One, provides free access to its opinions from 2003-present.  They are available at: Opinions 2003-2007; and Opinions 2007-present.

Arizona Court of Appeals, Division Two 
The website of the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division Two, provides free access to its opinions from 2002-present. They are available at: Opinions 2002-present

Public Access to Arizona Court Case Information
You can access detailed case information for a number of Arizona courts on the Arizona Supreme Court's free 
Public Access to Court Case Information website. Click on the “Courts Included” link to view coverage.

Justia 
The Justia website provides free access to select Arizona Supreme Court opinions (1950-present) and Arizona Court of Appeals opinions (2000-present).

FindLaw
The FindLaw website allows free searching of select Arizona Supreme Court opinions (1997-present) and Arizona Court of Appeals opinions (1997-present).

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides free access to Arizona Supreme Court and Arizona Court of Appeals opinions.

REGULATIONS

Arizona Administrative Code
Current Arizona regulations are published in the Arizona Administrative Code (the “AAC”).
The AAC is published by the Arizona Secretary of State and is available on the Secretary's web site.  A word of caution: this version of the AAC may be as much as a year out-of-date, and currency information is difficult to locate. 

Arizona Administrative Register
The AAC is updated by the Arizona Administrative Register (the “Register”), which is a weekly publication. The Register is available on the Arizona Secretary of State’s web site

Arizona Secretary of State
The website of the Arizona Secretary of State provides free access to the current Arizona Administrative Code, the Arizona Administrative Register, and Uniform Commercial Code Filings.

Ross-Blakley Law Library: Arizona Agencies Research Guide
This research guide provides more information on the Arizona Administrative Code and the Arizona Administrative Register, as well as information on accessing executive orders from the governor of Arizona, Arizona Attorney General opinions, and Arizona Corporation Commission materials.

ARIZONA LAW LIBRARIES

The Arizona law libraries listed below provide access to free legal research in print and through electronic sources.  For more information click on their respective links.

Ross Blakley Law Library, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Daniel F. Cracchiolo Law Library, James E. Rogers College of Law, University of Arizona

Arizona State Law Library

Maricopa County Superior Court Law Library

Pima County Law Library