Skip to main content

Arizona Law: Arizona Legislature

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Ask a Librarian

Arizona Courts
     Arizona State Court System
      Locating Court Opinions  
      Court Rules

State Legislature
     Slip Law and Session Laws
     Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.)
     Proposed Legislation
     Bill Tracking

State Agencies
     Regulations
     Executive Publications

Legislative History
     Legislative Documents
     Other Resources

Secondary Sources and Forms
     State Bar Materials
     CLE Materials
     Legal Forms
     Practice Guides and Treatises
     CALI Lessons

Public Records
      Arizona Laws Governing Public                      Records
      Obtaining Public Records
      Frequently Requested Records                      Available Online

Subject-Specific Guides
     Family Law
     Property: Foreclosure, Homeowners           Associations, and Landlord/Tenant Law
     Traffic/DUI Law 

SLIP LAWS AND SESSION LAWS

Slip Laws
The first issuance of an enacted law passed by the Arizona Legislature is a slip law. Current slip laws are available on the website of the
Arizona Legislature

Sessions Laws
At the end of each legislative session, slip laws are consolidated and arranged chronologically into a permanent set of bound volumes called session lawsSession laws are an official publication of the Secretary of State’s office and are issued annually at the end of a legislative session. 

Each session law is assigned a chapter number.  At the beginning of each chapter is the title of the bill and the Senate or House bill number. Additions to the law are usually indicated by an underline, while repeals or removal of language are indicated by a strike through. Session laws lack subject arrangement and are not cumulative, making it difficult to locate laws on a particular subject.
The session laws from 1989 (39th Legislature) to date are on the Arizona State Legislature website. The site default is to the current legislative session. For another session, click on “change session” in the navigation bar at the top. Arizona Session Laws 1912-1996 are available on the Arizona Memory Project website.  Arizona Session Laws are also available on HeinOnline (1864-present, on campus or ASURITE), on the University of Arizona Daniel F. Craccchiolo Law Library website (1864-1909), and in print at KFA 2425 .A212 (1912-present).

ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES (A.R.S.)

The Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated, published by West/Thomson Reuters, is the official statutory code for the State of Arizona. When issued in 1956, an enacting clause designated this set as the positive law (binding authoritative text of law) for Arizona.  

The annotated code contains both the full-text of every statute as well as annotations, which include statutory notes, historical notes, and citations to law reviews, legal forms, legal encyclopedias, treatises, and West Digest key numbers. Attorney General opinions and cross-references to the Arizona Administrative Code, the United States Code or, Uniform Laws may also be listed.  In addition, notes of decisions are provided in the annotated code, which provide brief synopses of cases decided on that point of law.

The current version of the Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated in print is located in the main reading room of the Law Library. Superseded annotated codes and historical Arizona territorial codes are also available in the Law Library. In addition, the Arizona Revised Statutes are available through a number of electronic resources:

Free Resources
Arizona State Legislature

Westlaw Patron Access: To access this resource, you must use the computers provided in the library for the general public.  To search for Arizona statutes, type in “AZ-ST-ANN” in the search box and choose the "Arizona Statutes & Court Rules" database.  You can browse the statutes or use the search box at the top of the page to locate applicable statutes.

Subscription Resources
Lexis Advance
 (Lexis Advance password required)

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

PROPOSED LEGISLATION

Types of Proposed Legislation
Bills – proposed legislation introduced by either house of the legislature. A bill creates new laws or amends or repeals existing law.
Memorials – a legislative measure containing a request or proposal to a named recipient. They petition a recipient to act on an issue that the Arizona Legislature does not have jurisdiction to act upon itself. Memorials are merely requests and have no official standing or effect. Memorials may be presented for consideration in either one house (simple) or both houses (concurrent).
Resolutions – a declaration of legislative opinion, will, intent, or resolve in matters within the legislature's legal purview. There are three types of resolutions:

  • Simple Resolutions are considered only by one house and may express an opinion, appoint a committee, commemorate the death of a prominent public figure, or request the return of a bill from the other house in the legislature. Simple resolutions are not signed by the Governor.
  • Concurrent Resolutions are processed through both houses of the legislature, but are not signed by the governor. They may provide for the submittal of a referendum to voters, initiate legislative action to amend either the U.S. or Arizona Constitution, or express regret for the death of a prominent public figure.
  • Joint Resolutions are used for temporary measures having the effect of law. They cannot be used to amend the U.S. or Arizona Constitutions. They are passed through both houses and signed by the Governor.

Proposed Legislation Numbering
Each type of proposed legislation receives its own numbering and is numbered consecutively in the order they are introduced. Proposed legislation originating in the Senate begins numbering at 1001, while legislation originating in the House of Representatives begins numbering at 2001. At the start of each Legislature (which is two years in length), the numbering begins again at 1001 (Senate) and 2001 (House of Representatives). Proposed legislation not passed by the time the legislative session ends must be reintroduced in the new Legislature to be considered. It will receive a new number. Therefore, it is useful to know either the year or the Legislature in which the proposed legislation was introduced.

Bill Versions
There may be several versions of proposed legislation. Either the House or Senate (or both) may pass amendments that change the text of the bill, resolution or memorial. When amended, it is either reprinted with the amending language incorporated into it or the amendment(s) may be printed separately.

Locating the Text of Proposed Legislation
Free Resources

Arizona State Legislature: This website contains the text of Arizona bills from the 39th Legislature (1989) to the present.

  • Bill Text Keyword searching can be used to locate proposed legislation. A search can also be done by bill, memorial, or resolution number.  This resource does not allow users to search more than one Legislature at a time.
  • Bill Summary and Status (Bill Tracking) Once the proposed legislation is located, click on “Bill Status Overview.” It will provide information about the progress that the legislation made.

The Law Library has copies of bills, memorials, and resolutions as they were introduced.
Senate Bills and Slip Laws

     35th Legislature (1982) - 48th Legislature (2007)
     29th Legislature (1969) – 34th Legislature (1979) 
House Bills and Slip Laws
     
35th Legislature (1982) - 48th Legislature (2007) 
     30th Legislature (1971) – 32nd Legislature (1975) 

Hayden Library has the following sources, which provide the introduced version of a bill, memorial or resolution.
Senate bills, memorials, and resolutions as introduced
     19th Legislature (1949) - 48th Legislature (2007)
     Hayden AZ documents LG 1.5: L18 A27S35
House bills, memorials, and resolutions as introduced
     11th Legislature (1933) - 48th Legislature (2007)
     Hayden AZ Documents LG 1.5: L18 A27H58

Senate Resource Center
The Senate Resource Center maintains bill, resolution, and memorial files from 1967. These bill files contain the introduced version of proposed legislation and all of it subsequent versions.
     1700 W. Washington Street
     1st floor, Senate Building
     Telephone: 602-542-3559

Clerk of the House
The Clerk of the House maintains a collection of bill, resolution and memorial files from 1971. Like the Senate Resource Center, these files contain the introduced version of proposed legislation and all of its subsequent versions.
     1700 W. Washington Street
     2nd Floor, House of Representatives Building
     Telephone: 602-542-4221

Subscription Resources
Lexis Advance (Lexis Advance password required)
     Arizona Full-text Bills – Full-text of bills currently pending in the Arizona Legislature.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
     Arizona Proposed Legislation (Bills) – Full text of all available bills (introduced, amended, and enacted versions) from the current session of the Arizona Legislature.

BILL TRACKING

Bill tracking is the process used to follow the path that proposed legislation has followed once introduced in the Legislature. It can be used to track current legislation to see if it is near passage or rejection. It can also be used retrospectively on older proposed legislation.

Free Resources
Arizona State Legislature website
The Arizona State Legislature website has a bill tracking tool that provides access bill status and summaries, floor calendars, committee agendas, committee reports, and hearing transcripts, as well as video of the House and Senate floor and hearing rooms. Legislative information from the 39th Legislature (1989) to the present is available.

National Conference of State Legislatures
The website of the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) offers 50-state bill tracking for a number of topics.  The list of NCSL 50-State Searchable Bill Databases gives information on each topic and what information the database tracks.

Subscription Resources
Lexis Advance (Lexis Advance password required)
Lexis Advance allows users to receive updated bill information through its Alerts service.
     
Arizona Bill Tracking Reports for the Current Legislative Session: Summary and chronology of all current pending Arizona legislation.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw allows users to save searches and use the WestClip service to have new documents which match a search delivered to the user.    
     Arizona Bill Tracking: Summaries and status information on current Arizona legislation.  
     
Arizona Bill Tracking Historical: Summaries and status information for Arizona bills, 2005-present)