Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free and Low-Cost Legal Research: Low-Cost Legal Databases

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Research Tips
     Ask a Librarian

Arizona Resources
     Statutes, Court Rules, and Constitution
     Cases
     Regulations
     Arizona Law Libraries

Resources for Other States
     Statutes
     Cases
     Regulations

Federal Resources
     Statutes and Constitution
     Cases
     Court Rules
     Regulations
     Congressional Documents

Low-Cost Legal Databases
     PACER
     Fastcase 
     Casemaker
     Casetext
     Ravel Law
     Versus Law

PACER



PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from Federal Appellate, District and Bankruptcy courts.  Creating an account in PACER is free, as is viewing judicial opinions, but accessing other court filings incurs a $0.10/page fee. However, users who incur less than $15 in charges in any quarterly cycle will not be charged a fee, making up to 150 pages a quarter free. Coverage varies by jurisdiction.

FASTCASE



Fastcase is an online legal research database that provides access to cases, statutes, regulations, and court rules for all 50 states and the federal jurisdictions. It is available for free through many bar associations, including through the State Bar of Arizona. Fastcase also offers two pricing options for individual subscribers.

CASEMAKER

Casemaker is legal research database that provides access to cases, statutes, and regulations for the states and federal jurisdictions, and is made available thorough a number of bar associations. Casemaker offers two pricing options for individual subscribers.

CASETEXT

Casetext is legal research platform that provides access to cases, statutes, and regulations annotated with analysis contributed by the members of the legal community.  The platform's CARA Research Suite uses artificial intelligence and machine learning technologies to automate key legal research tasks. There is an individual subscription available as well as a subscription option for law firms.

RAVEL LAW

Ravel Law is an online legal research tool that provides access to U.S.  Supreme Court and federal Circuit Court case law. It allows both keyword and Boolean searching and displays search results in interactive graphical maps that show trends in cases over time as well as how cases relate to each other. Four different subscription plans are offered. 

VERSUS LAW



VersusLaw is a legal research database that provides access to federal, state, tribal, and foreign court opinions, as well as statutes and regulations for select jurisdictions. Four pricing plans are offered.