Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free and Low-Cost Legal Research: Resources for Other States

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Research Tips
     Ask a Librarian

Arizona Resources
     Statutes, Court Rules, and Constitution
     Cases
     Regulations
     Arizona Law Libraries

Resources for Other States
     Statutes
     Cases
     Regulations

Federal Resources
     Statutes and Constitution
     Cases
     Court Rules
     Regulations
     Congressional Documents

Low-Cost Legal Databases
     PACER
     Fastcase 
     Casemaker
     Casetext
     Ravel Law
     Versus Law

STATUTES

Cornell University Law School LII: State Law Listing by Jurisdiction
The Legal Information Institution (LII) of Cornell Law School provides a listing of state law resources, organized alphabetically by state. This resource offers hyperlinks to free resources for state constitutions, statutes, bills, court opinions, court rules, regulations, and other collections of state legal resources.

Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C.: State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations
The Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C. has compiled links to state legislature websites, state statutes online, and state regulations online for every state, as well as listed phone numbers for contacting the leaders and law libraries of every state.

FindLaw: State Laws
This FindLaw webpage provides information on state laws for all 50 states, organized first by state, and then broken down by subject.

CASES

National Conference of State Courts: Public Access to Court Records State Links
The National Conference of State Courts (NCSC) is an independent, nonprofit organization that provides research information and comparative data to support improvement in judicial administration in state courts. This NCSC webpage provides links to websites for all 50 states where court records, including dockets and cases, can be accessed.

National Conference of State Courts: State Court Websites
This NCSC webpage provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search and read published opinions from state appellate and supreme court cases from 1950 - present.  It also provides access to U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. For guidance in utilizing Google Scholar to research case law, the MyCase platform offers a free downloadable Unlocking the Mysteries of Google Scholar document.

REGULATIONS

Cornell University Law School LII: State Law Listing by Jurisdiction
The Legal Information Institution (LII) of Cornell Law School provides a listing of state law resources, organized alphabetically by state. This resource offers hyperlinks to free resources for state constitutions, statutes, bills, court opinions, court rules, regulations, and other collections of state legal resources.

Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C.: State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations
The Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C. has compiled links to state legislature websites, state statutes online, and state regulations online for every state, as well as listed phone numbers for contacting the leaders and law libraries of every state.