Election Law

Federal Election Commission (FEC) 
The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency of the United States whose purpose is to enforce campaign finance law in United States federal elections.

Federal Voting Assistance Program (FVAP)
This program, operated by the Department of Defense, works to ensure that Service members, their eligible family members, and overseas citizens are aware of their right to vote and have the tools and resources to successfully do so. The website provides general information about the federal laws governing absentee voting. And its Voting Assistance Guide provides information about absentee voting in all States and territories and the District of Columbia.

U.S. Census Bureau Voting and Registration Topic
This website publishes data about voting and registration as well as reports summarizing voter behaviors and voting trends.

U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Voting Section
One of 11 sections in the Civil Rights Division, the Voting Section enforces the civil provisions of the federal laws that protect the right to vote, including the Civil Rights Acts, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the Voting Accessibility for the Elderly and Handicapped Act of 1984, the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act of 1986 (UOCAVA), the National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (Motor Voter), and the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA).

U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC)
The EAC is an independent, bipartisan commission established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA) to help election officials improve election administration and to help Americans participate in the voting process. Its responsibilities include developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, adopting voluntary voting system guidelines, and serving as a national clearinghouse of information on election administration.

Federal Judicial Center (FJC)
The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the federal judicial system. They have assembled a collection of case studies on emergency election litigation in federal courts. Because of the time constraints in emergency cases, the case records are often not easily available from other sources.

Library of Congress Electoral College Guide 
This guide, created by the Law Library of Congress, is intended to provide researchers with an overview of the law pertaining to the Electoral College and resources for further research. 

The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
The NCSL tracks election and campaign issues in several major categories, including campaign finance, election policy and administration, elections results and analysis, and initiative and referendum. It also provides comprehensive 50-state research and analysis on a wide variety of topics related to these issues. 

National Archives Electoral College Guide
This guide, created by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), contains information about the Electoral College, which NARA administers through its Office of the Federal Register. The guide also contains links to voting and election resources from federal and state agencies. 

USA.Gov Voting and Elections 
USA.Gov is the official website of the United States government. Its voting and elections page--which is also available in Spanish--provides answers to common questions about voting in the United States.