Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intellectual Property

Copyright, Patent, Trademark, and Trade Secrets

Online Resources

Bloomberg Law Trademarks and Copyrights Practice Center (Bloomberg password required)
Bloomberg Law provides a suite of resources for trademark practitioners with: news, opinions, practice tools, professional guidance, and legal analysis.

Lexis Trademark Practice Center (Lexis password required)
Lexis provides a suite of resources for trademark practitioners with: cases, statutes, administrative decisions, trademark registrations, and legal news.

Westlaw Intellectual Property, Trademark Resources (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw provides a suite of resources for trademark practitioners with: cases, administrative decisions & guidance, administrative filings, statutes & court rules, regulations, secondary sources, forms, trial court orders, and practical law.

United States Resources

The United States Patent and Trademark Office
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. In doing this, the USPTO fulfills the mandate of Article I, Section 8, Clause 8, of the Constitution that the legislative branch "promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries."

The USPTO has a summary handout about the Basic Facts About Trademarks.
The USPTO also has a helpful guide to trademark laws in each of the 50 states.

Arizona State Resources

Arizona Secretary of State
Arizona Secretary of State's Informational Page on Arizona Trademark Law.  This includes a link to the Arizona Online Trade Name / Trademark Program.  

Trademarks: ASU Libraries
ASU Libraries has a guide to finding information on trademarks such as fees, forms, terms and searching techniques for both U.S. and International trademarks.

Secondary Sources

Below is a short list of treatises in the ASU Library collection related to trademark law.  You can search for other resources in the ASU Library catalog by using subject headings such as: Trademark -- United States and Intellectual property - United States.

Intellectual Property Law Collection (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
The HeinOnline Intellectual Property Law Collection offers a number of resources focusing on copyrights, patents, and trademarks in the United States. The Collection includes over 100 legislative histories, Code of Federal Regulations Title 37, U.S. Code Titles 17 and 35, the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, the Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure, over 400 books, and more than 50 periodicals that focus on intellectual property.

McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition (J. Thomas McCarthy, 1996+)
Available in Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition provides a seven-volume analysis of what is needed to successfully represent clients in formulating, registering, licensing, protecting, and litigating trademarks and related rights.

The Law of Unfair Competition Trademarks and Monopolies (Rudolf Callmann, 1981+)
Callmann on Unfair Competition, Trademarks, and Monopolies is a ten-volume treatise that provides an analysis of the law of unfair competition as it relates to: trademarks (registrability and infringement), passing-off, trade secrets, misappropriations, price discrimination, predatory pricing, and monopolies.

Examples and Explanations: Intellectual Property (McJohn, Stephen M., 2019)
Available in print in the library and digitally on Wolters Kluwer study aids (password required).
Using Examples & Explanations pedagogy, this study guide covers the core concepts of intellectual property law: copyright, patent, trademark, and trade secrets.

Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell (Miller, Arthur R., 2018)
Available in print in the library and digitally on West Academic Study Aids (password required).
This text, by famed Harvard professor Arthur Miller, includes patents, trademarks, and copyrights. Further, it addresses torts and property; antitrust and government regulation; concepts of federalism and state and federal conflicts.

Mastering Trademark and Unfair Competition Law (Smith, Lars S., 2013)
Mastering Trademark and Unfair Competition Law provides a clear and concise presentation of the basic principles underlying and the challenges facing a student or practitioner of trademark law in a digital age.

Trademark and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell (Janis, Mark D., 2017)
Available in print in the library and digitally on West Academic study aids (password required).
This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity.

Understanding Trademark Law (LaFrance, Mary, 2016)
This book provides an introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress.

Prosecuting Trademark Applications

Bloomberg Law - Trademark Litigation (Bloomberg password required)
Bloomberg Law has created a suite of information specifically for attorneys litigating trademark issues.  It provides a curated page including: practice tools, opinions & decisions, news, legal analysis, and information related to international trademark disputes.

Lexis+ Trademark Litigation (Lexis password required)
Lexis+ has a trademark litigation practical law section that provides practice notes, templates, and checklists for the trademark litigator.

Westlaw Treatises (Westlaw password required)

Trademark Law Guide (CCH, current)
Monthly updates include new legislation and regulations, judicial and agency developments, and an informative newsletter. With trademark dilution developing under state and federal law, and Internet trademark and domain name issues gaining importance.

Trademark Law Practice Forms (Barry Kramer, Allen D. Brufsky, current)
Provides the rules, forms and guiding commentary needed, from procedures to establish a trademark through the process to protect it. Features complete coverage of all forms required for trademark application, allowing an attorney to read the procedural rule, see an example of its application and determine what to expect from the trademark Office in response to the filing.

Trademark Practice and Forms (Current)
Provides forms for Trademark prosecution and includes forms for many foreign countries. 

Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure
The TMEP provides trademark examining attorneys in the USPTO, trademark applicants, and attorneys and representatives for trademark applicants with a reference work on the current law, practices, and procedures relative to prosecution of applications.

Trademarkia
Trademarkia is a free world-wide search engine for finding trademarks.

News and Current Awareness

Bloomberg Law - IP Law News (Bloomberg password required)
Bloomberg's news service has a section for intellectual property law news section can be filtered to provide the user with the latest in trademark litigation.

Law360 IP News (Lexis password required)
Intellectual property news articles from Law360.com.

Westlaw Intellectual Property News (Westlaw password required)
Westlaw's news sections pulls from a wide range of sources to allow the user to search and filter for terms related to trademark law.

The Trademark Blog
Martin Schwimmer is a partner in Leason Ellis, an IP law boutique in White Plains, NY. His practice is concentrated in the area of U.S. and international trademark law and domain name counseling, prosecution, and litigation.

Trademark Lawyer Magazine
A blog produced by CTC Legal Media that covers modern issues in trademark.

Trademark Now
TrademarkNow, a Corsearch company, provides a blog that covers US and International Trademark issues.

The TTABlog
A longstanding trademark blog that focuses on decisions of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.

Talkin' Marks
An educational podcast that talks listeners through the contemporary issues in Trademark law including: non-traditional trademarks; genericness; trademark management and AI; immoral and scandalous mark; and much more.