Law Employment Research

In the ASU Library Catalog, you can find more advice on landing jobs and performing legal work by searching for keywords such as Law -- Vocaltional guidance -- United States and Practice of Law -- United States.

Becoming a Lawyer: Discovering and Defining Your Professional Persona (Toni Jaeger-Fine, 2019) (West Academic login required) 
Self-development tips to maximize your professional success include time management skills, learning the business of law, developing an understanding of the professional legal persona, and effectively communicating with others.

Excellence in the Workplace: Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell (Kay Kavanaugh & Paula Nailon, 2018) 
This holistic guide to professional development addresses the art of networking, workplace social graces, research, writing, giving presentations, conduct during meetings, time and stress management, ethics, job seeking strategies, and salary negotiations. Also available on West Academic (login required).

Flying Solo: A Survival Guide for the Solo and Small Firm Lawyer (William Gibson, ed., 2014)
This guide provides a variety of perspectives on who should be considering branching off into solo practice, the financial issues involved, promoting the business, and the logistics of setting up an efficient office with systems for research and filing work product.

The Opportunity Maker: Strategies for Inspiring Your Legal Career (Ari L. Kaplan, 2016) (West Academic login required)
A guide to gracefully attracting a mentor, self-promoting, networking, publishing your research, raising your profile, and giving back to others who need your guidance in the legal community.

Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks (Grover E. Cleveland, 2016) (West Academic login required)
Do: Set yourself up to get and do legal work early on to make yourself indispensable. Do: Understand the business of law. Do: Manage your life along with your clients' needs. Do: Manage pressures to keep solid working relationships with opposing counsel. Don't: React poorly to critical evaluations.

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

• Lawyer Development
  This resource for new and experienced attorneys includes toolkits on mastering legal representation, from due diligence to litigation. It provides new attorneys and students with guidance on acing an externship or summer associate position, and offers tips on skill development, including legal research and writing.

• Litigation Intelligence Center 
  Gathering judicial opinions, court dockets, and court filings such as pleadings and motions, along with litigation analytics tools. The Practical Guidance Library includes resources on how to perform at stages of litigation, with sample documents and practice guides on related topics such as setting fees, transferring venue, and conducting investigations.
• Transactional Intelligence Center
  Providing resources to analyze industries, companies, and deals, as well as guidance on drafting agreements. Also gathering information on regulations and news updates that may inform ongoing transactions.
• Business Intelligence Center
  Customizable hub of information concerning businesses, including breaking news, financial and legal data, and analysis of company mergers and equity offerings.
• Practitioner Tools
  Practice Centers include areas such as antitrust, banking & finance, e-discovery, environmental & safety, patents, tax, tech and trademarks. Chart builders display differences in law between jurisdictions, and trackers provide updates on developing issues within legal practice areas.
• EDGAR
  Searchable database of companies’ files such as prospectuses and inventories of securities holdings along with documents such as articles of incorporation and contracts.

Lexis Courtlink (Lexis password required)
This resource compiles docket information and court document searchable by judge, attorney, or law firm to provide insight into potential employers’ history and ongoing efforts.

Lexis Practical Guidance (Lexis password required)

Includes guidelines about practice in particular areas of law, forms, clauses for agreements, checklists and more. In Lexis, you will find an icon for “Practical Guidance” on the left side of the page. Look on the right side of the page to view the tools and resources that are available.

Practical Law (Westlaw password required)
In Westlaw, click on “Practical Law” under “Content Types” on the homepage. Here, you will find three main tabs:

1. Practice Areas: Gathers resources for various legal practice areas, such as antitrust or international arbitration. Each link leads to key information specific to each area, such as market data, news, and common topics.
2. Resource types: Enables users to browse compilations of resources, including customizable Standard Documents, resource compilations known as Toolkits, and State Q&As that enable users to compare and contrast the laws of different jurisdictions.
3. Jurisdictions: Includes all states, the District of Columbia, and national/federal entries.

Westlaw Profiler (Westlaw password required)
Search for biographical information on attorneys, judges, and other legal professionals throughout the U.S.

Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice
Dedicated to protecting the legal rights of individuals within the criminal justice system, and supporting cooperation and connections among attorneys.

Arizona Black Bar
Promoting public recognition of the contributions of African American lawyers in Arizona, and offering social and charitable events.

Arizona Women Lawyers Association
AWLA promotes the success of women in the legal profession and provides opportunities to connect with members and establish professional connections.

Los Abogados Hispanic Bar Association, Phoenix
Promoting the success of legal professionals in the local Latino community.

Maricopa County Bar Association
A voluntary group for lawyers in the Phoenix area providing opportunities for networking, social events, and charitable giving.

Meetup: Lawyers in Arizona
Lists specialized groups for attorneys to mingle, network, and mentor others.

Eventbrite: Networking in Arizona
A searchable list of upcoming networking events for professionals including attorneys.

Student Organizations at Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
A list of specialized groups for law students at Arizona State University, with opportunities to meet legal professionals working in relevant fields.