Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Employment Research

Texts

In the ASU Library Catalog, you can find more advice on landing jobs and performing legal work by searching for keywords such as Law -- Vocaltional guidance -- United States and Practice of Law -- United States.

100 Days to Your Next Job for Law Students & New JDs (Pamela Davidson, 2019) (West Academic login required)
A solid framework to keep you engaged in the job hunt, with advice on preparing for the job search, researching employers, interviewing, and professional development.

In-House: A Lawyer’s Guide to Getting a Corporate Legal Position (David J. Parnell, 2012)
Detailing the pitfalls and promises of in-house counsel work, and how you can identify qualities that would make you a good candidate. Get tips on finding your ideal position along with advice on networking, application materials, interviewing and salary negotiations.

Inside Counsel: Practices, Strategies, and Insights (Marc I. Steinberg & Stephen B. Yeager, 2020) (West Academic login required)
A primer on work in the corporate world, with insights into the day-to-day tasks and particular challenges of in-house work, such as internal investigations.

Landing a Federal Legal Job (Richard L. Hermann, 2011)
This book from the American Bar Association details the good and bad of federal work, identifies places to go to find jobs, outlines the hiring process, and offers advice on your application materials.

A Short & Happy Guide to Being Hired (Desiree Jaeger-Fine, 2018) (West Academic login required)
Expert advice for seeking legal employment opportunities, tailoring your application materials, interviewing for jobs, and joining a team of legal professionals.

Web Resources

Searching Westlaw or Lexis for the names of attorneys and especially interviewers can be key for landing a law firm job. You can find further information on firms through local courts.

Bloomberg (Bloomberg password required)
This database provides some insight into law firms' appearances and typical subject matter of cases. You can also search by attorney, court, company, or judge. It also provides docketing information on ongoing matters.

Lexis Litigation Profile Suite (Lexis password required)
This database provides some insight into attorneys' specialties, educational background, and professional development.

Lexis Courtlink (Lexis password required)
This resource compiles docket information and court document searchable by judge, attorney, or law firm to provide insight into potential employers’ history and ongoing efforts.

Lexis Litigation Analytics (Lexis password required)
This resource can help job seekers find information about law firms, courts, judges, and attorneys.

Westlaw Litigation Analytics (Westlaw password required)
This application can help job seekers gain insights into law firms’ primary practice areas and attorneys' careers .

Chambers and Partners
Find rankings and other information on law firms and lawyers in Phoenix and throughout the country, including practice areas, application criteria, and salaries. For students hoping to travel, the database also includes firms in Canada, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Students can access a detailed report on Arizona law firms. The Chambers student edition includes information on how to plan for your dream career, skills that law firms are seeking in a changing economy, and how to maximize your earning potential.

Martindale
Searchable database of attorneys, practice areas, and firms to help attorneys connect with clients and law students connect with employers. Also includes a searchable library of legal news and notes from attorneys, along with white papers, court forms, and other documents. The site ranks attorneys on abilities as well as ethical standards. Finally, it provides an outlet for lawyers to connect with prospects and promote their practices.

NALP Directory of Legal Employers
Database of law firms, agencies, private companies, and other employers with information about practice areas, demographics, recruitment policies, pay, and workplace culture, including pro bono opportunities and diversity. You can search by employer name or find a variety of employers in geographic areas, size ranges, or practice areas.

Super Lawyers—Profiles
Biographies of lawyers searchable by practice area, city, state, or region, including Phoenix. Also includes rankings of the top lawyers by region and laws schools, articles on legal issues and practice, and commentary about lawyers.

ABA for Law Schools: Law Student Internships, Fellowships, and Clerkships
The ABA provides links to job opportunities it sponsors, along with video tips on applying.

Above the Law: Career Center
Tips for law students to get in the door and lawyers to get up the ladder, with commentary and data on employers.

Law School Toolbox: Law School Career Tips
A collection of resources for job-hunting students includes interviewing tips, rebounding if OCIs are unsuccessful, judicial clerkships, and preparing for working life as a lawyer.

LegalJob
Tips for law students on getting in the door, and for associates on making partner.