Health Law

This research guide is for people seeking information on federal and Arizona health law, including public health law, healthcare practice, health insurance, Medicare/Medicaid, and current health law news.

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

• Health Practice Center - the Health Practice Center provides access to health-specific news, regulatory agency guidance and tracking, expert analysis, practical guidance, and other primary and secondary sources. 
• Health Law and Business News - this Bloomberg news page provides access to articles and pieces specific to law and health issues.

Lexis (Lexis password required)

• Healthcare Law Practice Center - the Healthcare Law Practice Center provides access to Lexis' best-regarded and most-accessed legal sources, including primary law, secondary sources, news, and analysis.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

• Health Law Daily Briefing - original expert analysis on health topics from Thomson Reuters.
• Health Law Practice Guide - the Health Law Practice Guide offers experienced practitioners and those new to this area of practice a comprehensive reference work on all of the significant topics that comprise this body of law. 
• Practitioner Insights for Health - this Westlaw resource provides access to news, cases, statutes, regulations, proposed legislation, and more, all specific to medical and health issues.
• Health Law Daily - Health Law Daily provides news and expert analysis on health law and compliance developments.

Below is a short list of treatises in the ASU libraries’ collection related to the legal issues of health law.  You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Public health law; Medical technology -- Government policy -- United States; and Medical policy -- United States.

Public Health Law in a Nutshell (James G. Hodge, 2022)
Public Health Law in a Nutshell provides an informative and concise assessment of the critical role of law in American society to protect the community’s health. The book covers the constitutional sources and limits of public health law, as well as historic and modern attempts to regulate in the interests of public health and safety. It is also available as a West Academic ebook (on-campus or with ASU login).

Essentials of Health Policy and Law (Sara E. Wilensky and Joel B. Teitelbaum, 2022)
Provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with an introduction to a broad range of seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, analytic frameworks for studying these complex issues, and an understanding of the ways in which health policies and laws are formulated, implemented, and applied.

Public Health Law Research: Theory and Methods (Alexander C. Wagenaar and Scott C. Burris eds., 2013) 
Public Health Law Research, available as both an e-book and print title, explores the mechanisms, theories, and models central to public health law research.

FREE RESOURCES

CDC State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation (STATE) System
This CDC resource provides current and historical data on state-level efforts to prevent and control tobacco use. Information can be browsed by topic and detailed reports can be generated for individual states.

LawAtlas
LawAtlas collects information on state-level laws related to health care. It offers Interactive Law Maps which enable users to access the law as it exists today and see how it has changed over time, provides access to Policy Surveillance Reports prepared by the Public Health Law Research program, and makes the underlying legal data, codebooks, and protocols of the Reports available.

National Association of County & City Health Officials
The NACCHO web site provides information on community heath, environmental health, infrastructure and systems, and preparedness. NACCHO also provides model rules pertaining to public health.

National Conference of State Legislatures – Health
NCSL is an organization serving legislators and staff of all 50 states. It provides research, technical assistance, and the ability for policymakers to exchange ideas. NCSL tracks important health issues in the state legislatures and provides information on programs sponsored by NCSL.

SUBSCRIPTION RESOURCES

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

• Health Law Chart Builders - the Health Law Chart Builders allow you to find, compare, and contrast state and federal laws and regulations on trending healthcare topics. They provide concise summaries of each state's legal and regulatory regime for the topic selected, and can be customized to bring up only those jurisdictions and topics of interest to you.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

• Legislation to Watch - Health Policy Tracking Service - contains information on the latest state legislation relating to health care, with coverage beginning in 2005.
• 50-state statutory surveys and 50-state regulatory surveys > health care - these 50 state surveys list the laws on a specific topic related to health in each of the 50 states.