Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bankruptcy Law: Secondary Sources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope 
     Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
     Statutes
     Bankruptcy Court Rules
     Bankruptcy Court Decisions

Secondary Sources
     Treatises and Reference Works
     Journals
     Legislative History
     Other Resources

Online Resources
     Government Websites 
     Other Online Resources
     Subscription Databases

News and Current Awareness
     News Sources
     Blogs

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

For comprehensive information on how to conduct federal legislative history and where federal legislative history content can be accessed, please see the Law Library's Federal Legislature: Legislative History LibGuide.

OTHER RESOURCES

Debt’s Dominion: A History of Bankruptcy Law in America (David A. Skeel, Jr., 2001)
This book details the political and legal history of the American bankruptcy code.

Hooray for Gibberish—A glossary of Bankruptcy Slang for the Occasional Practitioner or Bewildered Judge (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
A light-hearted law review article available via HeinOnline that explains many terms that are heavily used in the case law, but yet have no official definitions, such as "absolute priority," "cramdown," and "lien-stripping."

TREATISES AND REFERENCE WORKS

Collier on Bankruptcy (edited by Lawrence P. King, current)
This is the preeminent treatise in the bankruptcy field. It is highly useful for practitioners and may be useful for law students or others looking for one resource that provides extensive information on the field. 

Consumer Bankruptcy Law: Chapters 7 & 13 (Judge William Houston Brown, 2014)
This monograph describes the common types of fact and legal issues that arise in the bankruptcy and appellate courts, highlighting the relevant and principal Supreme Court, appellate, and trial court authority. Written as a reference for federal judges, it provides an overview of the bankruptcy litigation process and types of relief.

Bankruptcy and Related Law in a Nutshell (David G. Epstein, 2017)
This resource is very useful for law students, in particular, as it breaks down important information about bankruptcy law in an easy-to-understand format. This title is also available on West Academic (ASU Law students only).

Bankruptcy and Debtor/Creditor: Examples and Explanations (Brian A. Blum, 2014)
This book is designed for law students. It gives a wealth of information about bankruptcy along with helpful questions to test the student’s knowledge.  This title is also available thorough the WK Online Study Aids Platform (ASU Law students only).

Bankruptcy Law Manual (Nancy C. Dreher and Joan N. Feeney, 2012)
This resource provides timely information regarding statutory changes and judicial decisions affecting bankruptcy issues, including consumer and business liquidation cases under Chapter 7 of the Bankruptcy Code, business reorganization under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code, Chapter 13 debt adjustments for individuals with regular income, alternative insolvency proceedings under state law, Bankruptcy Court jurisdiction and the right to a jury trial, the trustee's power to avoid fraudulent transfers and preferences, and assumption and rejection of executory contracts and leases. It also provides thousands of case citations for easy location of primary authority. This resource would be extremely useful for the bankruptcy practitioner.

Bankruptcy Practice for the General Practitioner (W.H. Drake, Jr., 2013)
This practical guide covers all aspects of bankruptcy practice that a practitioner is likely to encounter in bankruptcy court. It also includes down-to-earth discussions, analysis, and summaries of every provision of the Bankruptcy Code to help the practitioner unravel one of the most intricate, lengthy statutes today, the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1994. Additionally, it includes coverage of noteworthy cases, court rules and more than 125 forms. Written in an easy-to-read format that reviews the Code by topic, not by section—to give the practitioner a working familiarity with the Code.

Consumer Bankruptcy Law and Practice (Henry J. Sommer, 2016)
This resource is a part of the “Debtor Rights Library” series and is useful for the practitioner who is representing consumers. Volume One contains a detailed and incisive analysis of consumer bankruptcy topics. Volume Two is packed with practice aids in the text and on the website: a client questionnaire, completed and annotated official forms, software to complete the forms, 170 pleadings, a date calculator, IRS forms, means test data, client handouts, and more. It provides all of the necessary information for filing a chapter 7, 12, or 13 bankruptcy.

Bankruptcy Deskbook (William C. Hillman &  Margaret M. Crouch, 2013) 
This resource is designed to assist in both filing of bankruptcy actions and the defending of actions filed by trustees.  It is kept current through looseleaf updates.

Norton Bankruptcy Law & Practice 3d (William Norton, current, Westlaw password required) 
This treatise covers the history and structure of American bankruptcy law, analysis of the bankruptcy code, and analysis of laws and issues related to bankruptcy. It also contains official bankruptcy forms and a dictionary of bankruptcy terms.

Bloomberg Law: Bankruptcy Treatise (Samir D. Parikh et al. eds., current, Bloomberg Law password required)
This treatise is a comprehensive resource on bankruptcy law.

JOURNALS

American Bankruptcy Institute Journal
The American Bankruptcy Institute Journal is published by the American Bankruptcy Institute, a professional organization of bankruptcy professionals from law, accounting, finance, and academia. The Journal publishes articles on matters related to insolvency. It is available on Westlaw (Westlaw password required) and Lexis (Lexis password required).

American Bankruptcy Institute Law Review
Published by the American Bankruptcy Institute and Thomson Reuters, the American Bankruptcy Law Review publishes scholarly articles on bankruptcy topics.  It is available on HeinOnline (on campus or remote access with ASURITE), Westlaw (Westlaw password required), and Lexis (Lexis password required).

American Bankruptcy Law Journal
The American Bankruptcy Law Journal is a peer reviewed journal published by the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges. It publishes articles focusing on bankruptcy law and related subjects. The Journal is available on HeinOnline (on campus or remote access with ASURITE) Westlaw (Westlaw password required), and Lexis (Lexis password required).

Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal
The Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal is a student-edited journal published semi-annually. It provides a forum for research, debate, and information for practitioners, scholars and the public.  The Journal is available on HeinOnline (on campus or remote access with ASURITE)Westlaw (Westlaw password required), and Lexis (Lexis password required).

Norton Annual Survey of Bankruptcy Law
The Norton Annual Survey of Bankruptcy Law is published annually by Thomson Reuters. It includes commentary on substantive and procedural issues in bankruptcy law practice and the constitutionality of the Bankruptcy Court, along with developments in bankruptcy case law. It is available in print in the Law Library K15 .O7351 and online through Westlaw (Westlaw password required).