Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bankruptcy Law: Online Resources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope 
     Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
     Statutes
     Bankruptcy Court Rules
     Bankruptcy Court Decisions

Secondary Sources
     Treatises and Reference Works
     Journals
     Legislative History
     Other Resources

Online Resources
     Government Websites 
     Other Online Resources
     Subscription Databases

News and Current Awareness
     News Sources
     Blogs

OTHER ONLINE RESOURCES

American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI)
The American Bankruptcy Institute website provides useful information for the bankruptcy practitioner. Some information is only available to members of the institute. It also includes statistics and the latest news about bankruptcy. There are links to the latest bankruptcy legislation as well as to bankruptcy rules and the bankruptcy code.

Nolo's Bankruptcy Information
Nolo is a legal publisher known for providing legal information to consumers and small business.  It includes free information about the basics of bankruptcy and articles about bankruptcy.  It provides helpful information about what to file and which chapter to file under.

Pro Bono Bankruptcy Training Program
The National Consumer Law Center has made available its five-part training program designed to help volunteer attorneys represent consumers in bankruptcy cases.

Filing for Bankruptcy Without an Attorney
This resource from the U.S. Courts provides information for those seeking to file for bankruptcy without an attorney.

HG.org Bankruptcy Guide
This resource contains basic information about bankruptcy, including different types of bankruptcy, bankruptcy rights, how to prepare for filing bankruptcy, and what to do after.

GOVERNMENT WEBSITES WITH BANKRUPTCY INFORMATION

United States Bankruptcy Courts 
This is the website for the United States Bankruptcy Courts. The site has a "Bankruptcy Basics" section which explains the differences amongst the most common types of bankruptcy filings. There are online forms and links to pending changes to the bankruptcy forms and rules. Also includes videos on types of bankruptcy, limits of bankruptcy, filing for bankruptcy, creditors meeting, court hearings, discharge and legal assistance.

United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Arizona 
This is the website for the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Arizona. The site includes online help, resources and filing instructions. Includes local rules, filing fees, orders, a link to PACER and forms and publications.  It includes Judge's information, transcript order procedure, and court calendars.  Replete with information and a useful source for any patron or researcher looking for information about the statutes, rules and filing procedures in the District of Arizona.

The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts 
The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts keeps quarterly bankruptcy statistics. Online resources include comparisons between years, types of bankruptcies filed, and within various time periods. 

United States Securities and Exchange Commission
This is the website for the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It provides information on what happens when public companies file for bankruptcy. Explanation of why a company would choose chapter 11 and how it works.

United States Department of Justice, United States Trustee Program
This is the webpage for the United States Trustee Program of the United States Department of Justice. It provides links to trustee locations, bankruptcy reform information, and statistics. It includes general information about the US bankruptcy system and current developments in the area, and also provides information about credit counseling and debtor education.

United States Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration
This is a webpage provided by the US Department of Labor.  It contains information about the effect on the benefits of an employee when their employer files for bankruptcy.

U.S. Courts 
The US Courts provides downloadable forms and the Bankruptcy Forms Manual, and links to related material including the bankruptcy courts and basic information about bankruptcy. Also included are links to procedural forms.

Bankruptcy Basics Videos by the Federal Judiciary
The Federal Judiciary Channel on YouTube has nine short (between two and five minutes) videos from 2014 offering information on bankruptcy laws. The videos give basic information on the bankruptcy process, the relief it offers, and how to find legal assistance.

Bankruptcy Basics Glossary
A resource from uscourts.gov that is likely to cover most of the terms you will see in the U.S. Bankruptcy Code and the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure.

IRS Bankruptcy Tax Guide
This resource provides a wealth of information from the IRS regarding compliance with the Bankruptcy Code tax requirements. It has information on the tax implications of Chapter 7, 11, 12 and 13 bankruptcy filings.

SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

Bloomberg Law Bankruptcy Practice Center (Bloomberg Law password required)
The Bankruptcy Practice Center includes links for practical guidance; laws, rules, and court opinions; dockets; books and journals; and current events and analysis.

Westlaw Bankruptcy Resources (Westlaw password required)
Contains links including bankruptcy resources, practitioner insights, news, and publications.

Lexis Bankruptcy Practice Advisor (Lexis password required)
Contains links including bankruptcy resources, practice notes, checklists, and news developments.