Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tax Research

Books

There are a number of treatises in the Law Library collection related to state and local tax law. You can search for relevant books in the ASU Library catalog by using the subject headings “State Taxation” and “Local Taxation.”

State Taxation (Jerome R. Hellerstein and Walter Hellerstein, Thomson-Reuters)
This treatise provides comprehensive coverage of state taxation and is a leading treatise in the field.

As Certain as Death: A Fifty-State Survey of State and Local Tax Laws (Susan Pace Hamill, Carolina Academic)
As Certain as Death surveys tax laws for the 50 states and provides a picture of each state’s revenue sources.

Journals and Law Reviews

Tax Law Review
The Tax Law Review, published four times annually by the New York University School of Law, is a faculty-edited journal that focuses on tax policy scholarship.  It is the premier tax law journal and publishes articles and essays by legal academics and practitioners, as well as economists.  The Tax Law Review content is available through HeinOnline (available on campus ore remotely with ASURITE), Westlaw (Westlaw password required), and Lexis (Lexis password required).

Virginia Tax Review
The Virginia Tax Review, published four times annually since 1981 by the University of Virginia School of Law, focuses primarily on issues of federal and international taxation from an academic viewpoint. The journal is available through HeinOnline (available on campus ore remotely with ASURITE), Westlaw (Westlaw password required), and Lexis (Lexis password required).

The Tax Lawyer 
The American Bar Association Section of Taxation publishes the Tax Lawyer.  The journal provides scholarly articles by tax attorneys and professors, key reports by Section of Taxation committees and task forces, and student notes and comments on timely topics. The journal is available on the American Bar Association’s Tax Lawyer webpage, on HeinOnline (available on campus ore remotely with ASURITE), and through both Westlaw (Westlaw password required) and Lexis (Lexis password required).

Tax Journals on Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
​Westlaw provides access to a number of tax-specific law reviews and journals (Westlaw password required).

Tax Journals on Lexis (Lexis password required)
Lexis also provides access to a number of tax-specific law reviews and journals (Lexis password required).

Current Awareness and Web Resources

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: State Budget and Tax Research
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan research and policy institute that provides research on and analysis of budgets, taxes, low-income programs, and social insurance programs.

Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
The Lincoln Institute of Land Policy is a nonprofit foundation that researches and recommends creative approaches to land use. It is an excellent resource on property taxation.

Tax Foundation Center for State Tax Policy
The Tax Foundation is a non-partisan educational organization that aims to educate taxpayers about sound tax policy. The Foundation’s Center for State Tax Policy produces data, research, and analysis on state fiscal issues.

Tax Policy Center
The Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center provides independent analyses of federal and state/local tax issues.

TaxProf Blog
The TaxProf Blog is edited by a tax law professor and offers resources, news, and information on tax law.  The blog contains both continuously updated permanent resources and daily information.