Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Student Resource Guide

Study Aids Overview

Legal study aids are books, flashcards, flowcharts, and other materials from commercial publishers designed to help you make sense of the material you cover in class and successfully brief cases, outline for a course, and prepare for exams. Study aids, also referred to as study skills materials, vary in format and content and come from many publishers. Some popular series titles include the Nutshell series, Examples & Explanations series, Gilbert Law Summaries, Glannon Guides, and Law in a Flash flashcards.

The Ross-Blakley Law Library offers access to these popular titles, and more, to College of Law students through its online subscriptions to Wolters Kluwer Study Aids and West Academic, as well as via a robust print Study Skills Collection. More information about each of these platforms and our print collection are available in the boxes below.

Need help determining which study aid is best for you? Meet with a Law Librarian for individual guidance!

West Academic Study Aids

West Academic Study Aids offers you easy online access to hundreds of study aids, treatises, and audio lectures to help you succeed in law school. To access the collection, go to the West Academic webpage

You must use your ASU email address to create an account. West Academic will recognize you as a member of the ASU community and allow you to create an account when you use your email address as your username. Once you create an account, your West Academic login will ensure off-campus access to the study aids and will also enable you to print, download, highlight, and take notes. You can download the RedShelf App and study anywhere (available in iTunes and Google Play for Android).  Note: You must follow the directions provided by West Academic precisely in order to use Redshelf.

Wolters Kluwer Study Aids

Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids provides unlimited online access to hundreds of titles. Some series that are available include Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, and Glannon Guides. Click here to access WK Online Study Aids

Use this link to create an account: https://ebooks-aspenlaw-com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/bookshelf. Click register to create an account. Once you create an account, your WK login will ensure off-campus access to the study aids. You will also be able to print, download, highlight, and take notes. You can download the iPublishCentral Reader App and study anywhere

Print Study Skills Collection

The Study Skills Collection is located on the third floor of the Law Library across from the Circulation Desk. The collection brings together an array of study aids, legal research and writing texts, exam and Bar exam materials. All the materials in the Study Skills Collection may be checked out for two weeks and are renewable twice.

Select Study Skills Titles

CALI Lessons

 

The Law Library subscribes to the CALI Library of Lessons tutorials. CALI tutorials, written by law faculty and librarians from American law schools, are reviewed and revised on a regular basis. The lessons are designed to help you become accustomed to taking multiple-choice examinations and provide feedback to your answers. CALI offers more than 1,000 interactive tutorials on legal education topics, from 1L subjects such as Torts and Contracts, to upper-level classes including Administrative Law and Commercial Transactions. It also has legal research tutorials for most state jurisdictions and federal cases, statutes, and regulations. To access the law school's subscription to CALI, please click here: Access to CALI. You may also contact Electronic Services Librarian, Sean Harrington