Skip to Main Content

Legal Writing

Scholarship

Users who are logged in with their ASU credentials can save their searches, including filters, by clicking on the pushpin icon entitled "Save query" at the top of the search results. You can access your saved searches by clicking on the pushpin icon at the very top of the screen, then by clicking on the SAVED SEARCHES tab. In this tab, you can set an alert for the search by clicking on the bell icon to the right of the search. This will notify you of any changes to the search results. Alternatively, you can set an RSS for the search by clicking on the RSS feed icon to the left of the bell icon. Learn about RSS on the RSS Feeds page of this research guide.

Watch this video explaining how to set up alerts.

CILP (Current Index to Legal Periodicals)
This resource available on HeinOnline lists new articles in law journals each week, arranging the titles by subject matter, so researchers can find the very latest commentary in their fields. The SmartCILP feature enables users to subscribe to alerts to keep them informed of the newest articles in particular publications or subjects.

Electronic Table of Content Alerts
HeinOnline archives current and historical legal content, including nearly comprehensive access to law reviews and journals, historical primary law, current and historical regulatory provisions, classic treatises, and international materials. Most documents are presented in PDF format, retaining original graphic elements and pagination.

As part of its service, HeinOnline provides Electronic Table of Contents (eTOC) alerts that will notify you every time a journal you follow publishes a new issue. Go to HeinOnline > MyHein Profile and create a profile (if you haven't already). Go to the Law Journal Library, locate the journal you want to receive, and click "Create eTOC Alert." You are now subscribed.

Watch this video explaining how to set up eTOC alerts.

Author Alerts
Users can also set author alerts on HeinOnline in order to follow individual scholars. To set an alert, navigate to the author's profile and click on the bell icon. Click the checkbox for New Content Alert, enter your email address, and click "Set up email alerts." You will now receive an email every time new material appears. You can edit your notifications by going to MyHein Profile > Author Alerts.

Watch this video explaining how to set up author alerts.

EBSCO
Users can have search alerts sent to them from any EBSCO database. Click on the "Share" button at the top of the search results page, then click "E-Mail Alert." Alerts can be customized depending on frequency and format. Detailed instructions can be found here.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. To set an alert, click on the menu button (the three horizontal lines at the top left corner of the page), click on "Alerts," then click CREATE ALERT. Enter search terms, ensure that your email address is correct, then click CREATE ALERT again. You will now receive an email every time new material appears.

ProQuest
Users can have search alerts sent to them from any ProQuest database. Click on the "Save search/alert" button at the top of the search results page, then click "Create alert." Alerts can be customized depending on frequency and recipient. Detailed instructions can be found here.

ScienceDirect
Users can have search alerts sent to them from any ScienceDirect database. Click on the bell icon entitled "Set search alert" to the left of the search results, then follow the prompts. Alerts can be customized depending on frequency. Detailed instructions can be found here.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an open access collection of working papers, accepted papers, published papers, and conference papers. SSRN contains abstracts of these papers and, in many cases, permits downloading the full text as a PDF. While you cannot set search alerts on SSRN, you can set author alerts. Go to SSRN and navigate to the author's profile. Click on the RSS icon. You will be directed to a new page asking you which reader you want to use. Select your preferred reader and click "Follow." You are now subscribed.

Learn about RSS on the RSS Feeds page of this research guide.

Legal News

Lexis+ and Law360 are excellent sources of legal news, providing access to materials from many different publishers, media outlets, newspapers, and wire services.

Lexis+ (login required)
Users can search the News and Legal News databases according to publisher, jurisdiction, practice area, or keyword and can set alerts based on their results by clicking the bell icon at the top of the page.

Law360 (login required)
Law360 covers litigation, policy developments, corporate deals, and more across dozens of practice areas, industries, and jurisdictions. Users can subscribe to daily email alerts by clicking the "Newsletter" icon at the top of the page. Alternatively, users can visit the Newsletters page to see a list of all available alerts. Use your Lexis+ credentials to gain full access to this resource.

Bloomberg Law provides a wide variety of current-awareness materials, primarily focusing on business-related areas like antitrust, banking and finance, bankruptcy, labor and employment, securities, and tax, among others.

Bloomberg Law News (login required)
Users can subscribe to newsletters by clicking the "Subscribe to Newsletter" button at the top right corner of the page. Alternatively, users can visit the Subscription & Alert Management page to see a list of all available newsletters.

Bloomberg Law Trackers (login required)
Trackers provide summaries and commentary on developments affecting a select number of practice areas like corporate and securities, banking and finance, and intellectual property, among others.

Westlaw Today
From the Westlaw homepage, use the pull-down menu (the down arrow) at the top of the page to go to https://today.westlaw.com/. From there, you can browse the homepage or click on the link for "Practice areas" to view various topics.

Westlaw Daily Briefings
From the Westlaw homepage, go to Content types > Secondary Sources > Legal Newspapers & Newsletters. Click on the "Publications Series" filter on the left side of the screen and select "Westlaw Daily Briefings."

CQ Legislative Tracking provides nonpartisan legislative news, analysis, tracking services and advocacy solutions. It indexes a wide range of information from all 50 states, Congress, the Federal Register, and Regulations.gov.

RSS Feeds

RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication. RSS feeds are provided by many websites as an alternative to sending email alerts about new content. The RSS feed icon (pictured below) is the universal symbol indicating that a feed is available. To access a feed, you will need a reader. ASU recommends Feedly, but you can find many others online. Subscribing to feeds is easy. Whenever you see a page you want to follow, look for the RSS feed icon and click on it. You will be directed to a new page asking you which reader you want to use. Select your preferred reader and click "Follow." You are now subscribed.

To receive notifications about new resources added to the ASU Library in your area(s) of interest (including books, journal articles, films, dissertations, sound recordings, maps, etc.), set up a topic alert feed.

  1. Go to ASU Library One Search
  2. Search by keyword, title, or author
  3. At the top right of the results, click on the RSS feed icon
  4. Add the feed to your reader

You can also set up database feeds, which can be a convenient way of getting updates for journals and books. Click on the links below for instructions on the following databases:  

To see if a specific journal has an RSS feed:  

  • Go to ASU Library's Journal Title Lookup
  • Search by title or browse by category
  • Follow the link to where recent issues of the journal are available
  • Look for the RSS feed icon and/or links to "alerts"

Legal Podcasts

Podcasts are a popular form of entertainment, but they're also an effective way to learn. Put on your headphones and immerse yourself in discussions with some of the country's most insightful legal commentators. We have curated a list of fun and educational podcasts on diverse subjects like law school and professional development, current events, the Constitution, the Supreme Court, and social justice. Subscribe to a few that interest you and make them a part of your daily routine.

These podcasts can be useful for developing ideas for journal articles or seminar papers.

Bloomberg Law
Host June Grasso speaks with prominent attorneys and legal scholars, analyzing major legal issues and cases in the news.

Opening Arguments
Every episode, legal expert Andrew and comic relief Thomas will tackle a popular legal topic and give you all the tools you need to understand the issue and win every argument you have on Facebook, with your Uncle Frank, or wherever someone is wrong on the Internet. It's law. It's politics. It's fun. We don't tell you what to think, we just set up the Opening Arguments.

Pro Say
Pro Say is a weekly podcast from Law360, bringing you a quick recap of both the biggest stories and the hidden gems from the world of law. In each episode, hosts Amber McKinney, Alex Lawson and and Hailey Konnath are joined by expert guests to bring you inside the newsroom and break down the stories that had us talking.

Stay Tuned with Preet
Join former U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara as he breaks down legal topics in the news and engages thought leaders in a podcast about power, policy, and justice.

Learn about the latest legal scholarship and get inspiration for your own scholarly writing.

Ipse Dixit
Ipse Dixit is a podcast on legal scholarship. Each episode of Ipse Dixit features a different guest discussing their scholarship. The podcast also features several special series.

Wisconsin Law in Action
Wisconsin Law in Action is a monthly podcast featuring new or forthcoming scholarship from the University of Wisconsin Law School. The podcast explores a variety of legal topics and examines new developments in the legal academic field by discussing these topics with UW Law School Faculty.

The Yale Law Journal Podcast
The Yale Law Journal Podcast makes legal scholarship accessible to a broad audience. Each episode, we interview an author of a forthcoming or recently published piece in the Yale Law Journal about their work.

These podcasts will keep you up-to-date on cases before the Court, as well as providing insights into past Courts.

AMICUS
A show about the law and the nine Supreme Court justices who interpret it for the rest of America.

Dissed
In Dissed, attorneys Anastasia Boden and Elizabeth Slattery dig deep into important dissents, both past and present, and reveal the stories behind them.

Divided Argument
An unscheduled, unpredictable Supreme Court podcast. Hosted by Will Baude and Dan Epps.

More Perfect
A series about how the Supreme Court got so supreme.

SCOTUS 101
A Heritage Foundation podcast breaking down what's happening at the Supreme Court, what the justices are up to, and more.

Strict Scrutiny
A podcast about the United States Supreme Court and the legal culture that surrounds it.

Supreme Myths
A podcast featuring the Supreme Court and Supreme Court cases. Hosted by Georgia State College of Law professor Eric Segall.

U.S. Supreme Court Oral Arguments
Oral arguments before the Supreme Court of the United States, presented by Oyez, a multimedia judicial archive at the IllinoisTech Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Podcasts covering a broad range of topics.

Advisory Opinions
Advisory Opinions is a new podcast from The Dispatch. Hosts David French and Sarah Isgur have a weekly conversation about the law, culture, and why it matters.

Boom! Lawyered
On everything from abortion rights to trans discrimination to racial justice, Boom! Lawyered will help you get smart, stay mad, have fun, and fight back. Every week, Jessica Mason Pieklo and Imani Gandy take you on a wild ride through the latest legal battles in the fight for reproductive justice.

Common Law
Though much divides us these days, there are still some things we all share in common. One of them is law. In "Common Law," a podcast sponsored by the University of Virginia School of Law, Dean Risa Goluboff and UVA Law professors Danielle K. Citron, John C. Harrison, Cathy Hwang and Gregory Mitchell explore how law shapes society, how we shape law and why we should all care.

Fast-Tracked: Emergent Issues in the Legal Profession
Fast-Tracked, hosted by Jen Leonard and produced by the Practising Law Institute, focuses on cutting-edge issues that are transforming the business and practice of law, including generative AI, attorney well-being, ESG, intergenerational teams, and more.

International Law Behind the Headlines
The Society's podcast International Law Behind the Headlines, hosted by Catherine Amirfar and Kal Raustiala, enlists today's top legal experts in tackling the international legal issues dominating today's headlines.

The Lawfare Podcast
The Lawfare Podcast is the daily audio production of the Lawfare staff in cooperation with the Brookings Institution. Podcast episodes include interviews with policymakers, scholars, journalists, and analysts who discuss anything and everything relating to national security law, policy, and current events.

LawNext
LawNext is a weekly podcast hosted by Bob Ambrogi, who is internationally known for his writing and speaking on legal technology and innovation.

LGBT Bar NY Podcast
LGBTQ lawyers, policy experts, and activists discuss the latest legal and political news affecting the LGBTQ+ community here and abroad. Hosted by Shain Filcher, Executive Director of the LGBT Bar of NY, with regularly featured guest Prof. Arthur S. Leonard of New York Law School.

Talking Legal Ed
We are a group of legal educators who enjoy learning about new and innovative teaching approaches. Join us as we discuss cutting edge topics in the law and explore how to incorporate them in to our classrooms.

Technically Legal
Technically Legal is a podcast about legal technology, legal innovation and the impact of tech on the law and legal industry. During each podcast episode we interview a legal "mover and shaker"–innovators in the legal industry and the legal tech field who are on the forefront of changes in the delivery and consumption of legal services. Guests discuss how they are implementing legal technology and innovation in their legal departments and law firms and how listeners can too.