“Hello Landlord” Online Tenant-Landlord Communication Tool
This free online tool helps tenants communicate with their landlords about issues that can lead to eviction. It is a collaborative project from the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law, BYU Law, and SixFifty, a subsidiary of the law firm Wilson Sonsini.
Arizona Tenants' Rights and Responsibilities Handbook
This guidebook from the Volunteer Lawyers Program of Community Legal Services provides information on each step of the rental relationship including moving in, responsibilities, rights, resolving problems, taking legal action, ending the lease, evictions, and moving out early.
Phoenix Landlord/Tenant Program
Housing Counseling provides help to residents who are tenants by counseling them on their rights and responsibilities. All services of the program are free.
Landlord and Tenant Research Guide
This research guide from the Maricopa County Superior Court Law Library provides information on Arizona laws and agencies related to landlord and tenant issues, as well as recommends books and helpful websites on the topic.
Tenants Rights, Laws and Protections: Arizona
The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development provides links to information on Arizona tenant laws.
Arizona Law Help offers information on housing topics including eviction, landlord and tenant rights and responsibilities, and landlord and tenant issues specific to mobile home parks.
Arizona Revised Statutes
The (A.R.S.) is the official statutory code for the State of Arizona. Within the A.R.S., the can be found in the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. §§ 33-301 to 33-1381). This act describes many of the rights and responsibilities of both the landlord and the tenant and remedies.
Arizona State Legislature: Contains full-text session laws from the 43rd Legislature (1997) to the present
Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
Arizona Statutes and Court Rules: current version of the Arizona statutes, constitution, and court rules
Arizona Statutes Annotated Historical: 1988–last year
Arizona Statutes Index
Depending on your situation, there are federal, state and local laws that may apply. Below are a few of the major laws that could affect your housing situation. Other laws can be found by searching the appropriate codes or statutes.
Federal Fair Housing Act (42 U.S.C. §§ 3602 et seq.)
Americans With Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 et seq.)
Search the U.S. Code (See guide on Federal Legislation)
Online: Cornell's Legal Information Institute
In print: KF62 1994 .A2 at Main Reading Room
Arizona Fair Housing (A.R.S. §§ 41-1491 et seq.)
Search the Arizona Revised Statutes (See guide on Arizona Legislation)
Arizona State Legislature's Web Site
In print Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated — KFA 2430 1956 .A2
Tempe City Code
(Rental Housing Code §§ 21-21 to 21-40 and Fair Housing §§ 22-91 to 22-99)
Current code only available online.
Phoenix City Code
(Neighborhood Preservation Ordinance §§ 39-1 et seq., Fair Housing §§ 18-11 et seq., Building §§ 9-1 et seq.) Available in print: KFX2141.P55 A35 2001 Law Reserve
Scottsdale Revised Code
(Fair Housing §§ 15-16 et seq. and Buildings and Building Regulations §§ 31-1 et seq.)
Available in print: KFX 2375 S2A35 1987 Law Reserve
Arizona Rental Rights: A Guide Book for Tenants, Landlords and Mobile Home Users
(David A. Peterson and Andrew M. Hull, 2009)
This book provides information on Arizona laws for tenants and landlords of apartments, houses and mobile home settings.
Arizona Landlord's Deskbook (Carlton C. Casler, 2012)
The Arizona Landlord's Deskbook provides legal information for landlords, property managers, and real estate professionals. It includes forms, the text of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act and other state statutes, procedural instructions, and more.