Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Student Resource Guide: Class and Exam Prep

GUIDE OUTLINE

Library Essentials
     Hours and Access
     Finding Library Books, Articles, & More
     Ask a Librarian

Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law, and CALI Access
         

Tour and Orientation Videos

Research Help
     Ask a Librarian
     Meet with a Librarian    

Study Materials
     Online Study Aids
     Print Study Skills Collection
    

Class and Exam Prep
     Past Exams
     Exam Preparation Guides
     Class Preparation Materials

First Year Legal Writing
     Legal Writing Guides
     Legal Writing Web Resources
     Oral Argument Guides
     Oral Argument Recordings
     Law Reviews and Journals
     News and Blogs
     Citation

Stay in the Know
     Law Library Blog
     Facebook
     Twitter
     YouTube

MINDFULNESS IN LAW SCHOOL

Mindfulness and Mental Wellness in Law School
This Ross-Blakley Law Library guide provides information on mindfulness, meditation, and mental wellness in law school and in the legal profession. It is primarily focused on resources available to Arizona State University and Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students. The guide includes instructions for meditation practice, contact information for mental wellness resources, and scholarly research resources.

PAST EXAMS

You may access Law School Past Exams from the Law Library's web site. Some faculty members make their past exams available to students as a teaching aid. In an effort to provide students with the broadest possible access to past exams, the Law Library has placed them online. Some exams contain answers.

EXAM PREPARATION GUIDES

Below is a short list of law school/exam success guides available in the Law Library.  Other titles can be found in the library catalog under the subject headings Law ExaminationsLaw-Study and Teaching, and Law Students.

Law School Exams: Preparing and Writing to Win (Charles Calleros, 2013)
This guide from a longtime Arizona State law professor walks readers through effective course outlining, and it instructs readers on effective methods for tackling issue spotters and multiple choice questions on exam day.

Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades (Alex Schimel, 2018)
This slim volume includes advice for preparing for exams, with a view toward students cramming in the final days as well as students planning months ahead. It guides readers through study methods and exam answer writing and also provides advice on keeping up with class discussions.

Open Book: Succeeding on Exams from the First Day of Law School (Barry Friedman, 2011)
This book explains not only how to maximize success on law school exams, but how law school exams connect to good practices for lawyers. It delves into what professors look for when they're grading exam answers.

Writing Essay Exams to Succeed in Law School (Not Just to Survive) (John C. Dernbach, 2010)
This short volume includes practical advice and visual aids to help students reach further toward the front of the curve with their essay answers, with an emphasis on writing toward what the instructor is testing and working under tight time constraints.

The Zen of Law School Success (Chad Noreuil, 2011)
This guide from an ASU law professor helps law students look within, addressing personal growth and building a mind equipped to handle the pressures and stresses of law school in addition to advice on outlining, exam prep, and exam writing. 

EXAM PRACTICE QUESTIONS

The following resources include practice questions to prepare for essay or multiple choice questions:

Emanuel Crunchtime (Wolters Kluwer)
Includes multiple choice, short answer, and essay practice questions and answers, as well as flowcharts for major legal questions in a variety of subjects.

Exam Pro (West Academic)
Includes volumes offering objective, multiple choice practice questions and volumes offering essay practice questions for major legal subjects.

Friedman's Practice Series (Wolters Kluwer)
Includes practice essay and multiple choice questions about individual legal subjects with commentary from professors and students.

A Weekly Guide to Being a Model Law Student (West Academic)
Provides open ended questions of various lengths testing knowledge of the following first year courses: civil procedure, constitutional law, contracts, criminal law, property, and torts.

CLASS PREPARATION MATERIALS

Cracking the Case Method by Paul B. Bergman et al. (West Academic)
This book guides law students through all aspects of a semester's study. It includes the basics of why judges write legal opinions and why students read them to "think like a lawyer." It also provides advice on briefing cases, engaging in classroom discussions, outlining, and exam prep.

Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond by Jane Bloom Grise (West Academic)
This book helps you break the spell of passively highlighting during your class prep, explaining the role of court opinions in the legal process and the purpose of reading cases to help you identify what is important, and it provides strategies for identifying key facts, rules, and reasoning. It also provides templates and advice for efficiently crafting case briefs.

How to Brief a Case - CALI Lesson
This CALI lesson is designed to introduce first-year law students to the basic elements of a case "brief" and to teach the general methodology for writing a brief.  It contains two sample case briefs.

How to Read a Legal Opinion: A Guide for New Law Students by Orin S. Kerr
This essay is designed to help new law students prepare for the first few weeks of class. It explains what judicial opinions are, how they are structured, and what law students should look for when reading them.

How to Succeed in Law School by John S. Dzienkowski (audio on West Academic)
The perfect crash course on setting yourself up for law school success is accessible during your commute in the car or light rail. This audio resource provides sound advice on topics such as preparing for class, effective class  participation, and study groups, as well as insights into professors' grading processes.

Learning to Read and Brief a Law School Case by Ruta K. Stropus and Charlotte D. Taylor
Chapter 3 in Bridging the Gap Between College and Law School: Strategies for Success (Carolina Academic Press 2014).